Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been supporters of Camp Horizon for many years now. My support is limited however Diana’s is immense. I am proud of being a supporter for her and all the volunteers that give their time for a great cause. Throughout the years I have attended some events and have always been impressed by the passion and commitment that is shown for the children. On top of this the children are impressive, and it is fun to watch them mature into fine adults. Camp Horizon is a top notch organization and I would encourage anyone to lend their support to this passionate, dedicated, and loving group of people who in the end do it all for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

When you hear the campers talk about Camp Horizon as part of their family, you begin to see the impact that the Camp Horizon organization has had on the lives of so many wonderful children. Since 1996, I have volunteered with Camp Horizon as a counselor, a life skills instructor, a part of the camp staff and as a volunteer for the programs and events throughout the year. The love, commitment and support of the volunteers and donors provides consistent year round programs and events to provide that sense of family for all the children who come through the summer camp program. It is very humbling to see kids who were once campers when i first volunteered many years ago, now as mature adults on their own path to success due in part from the life skills they learned and the unconditional love they received as part of the Camp Horizon Family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

It is so hard to put the beauty, hope and community that is Camp Horizon into words. It is a blessing to be part of a group that is giving these amazing children a place to call home and people to call family.

I have witnessed many miracles that have happened for these children as a
result of coming to Camp. As a psychologist who has respect for the time that any personal change takes, it is particularly impressive to see children make changes so quickly at camp. I had a camper whose adoption was about to be disrupted by her adoptive parents due to her aggressive behavior, however her behavior changed so dramatically for the better after camp they were able to keep her in their family. I could write pages and pages about the amazing things I have seen happen for children. However, I think the words of former campers who have stayed in contact with us are even more meaningful.

"Often I couldn't bring anything with me from foster home to foster home, but I always carried my plaque my counselor wrote to me in my hands so I could always read it when things got too hard."

"It really does a lot for someone who feels alone and like they have no one. It gave me something to look forward to, which in foster care is a rare thing."

"You were caring and sensitive to me. It was a very different experience for someone in their life who never had that."

"I had never been around anyone who went to college before I met you. After knowing you were in school I thought I could do that too! You inspired me to do something better with my life."

"I come from a long line of people who thought I was a waste of human existence. Hearing these things makes you wonder if it is true. At camp they thought I was extraordinary and wonderful. At camp, I was really something. Just knowing that makes me try even harder to be a better person today."



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Camp Horizon for the past 13 years. I have served as a summer camp counselor, self esteem and arts and crafts instructor, program director and volunteer. It has been beyond powerful to watch the summer campers (aged 8-11) grow into responsible and resilient young leaders.

As a past program director for the Camp Horizon Leadership Development Program, it was always very powerful to see, hear and watch these young men and women show what they have learned through their camp experiences. They work together as a team, support each other during challenges, articulate their own strengths and weaknesses, and are willing to put energy into changing their own lives.

As a Special Education teacher, I am dedicated to helping change be brought to our world. Camp Horizon brings positive change and unconditional love to children who deserve it and need it to survive. While a small organization, the energy, love and family that has dedicated itself to helping foster children in Atlanta is contagious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was introduced to the camp horizon organization last year. I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to serve as a volunteer summer camp counselor, and even luckier to be invited back this summer. I cannot put into words how amazing my week at summer camp was and how much it made a difference in my life. As a camp counselor, I was able to bear witness to the positive impact camp horizon made on so many kids in the Atlanta metro foster care system. The camp horizon organization and the people who serve this organization are so special and inspiring. The most amazing thing about this organization to me is that it provides a family and stability for kids that so desperately need it. Once a child goes to camp horizon, they are invited back every year from 8-11 years old. Every child is paired with one counselor (1 to 1) so that for one whole week they have constant access to attention, affirmations, encouragement, and unconditional love. And when possible, they are paired up with the same counselor each year so that a friendship/mentorship can grow and each child can have an adult in their life that loves them and supports them. Camp Horizon also has regular reunions, events, and outings throughout the year. I have been lucky enough to attend a Christmas party, a circus outing, and I look forward to the upcoming spring reunion. At each of those events, I have been able to reunite with my camper and see how she is doing. They also have programs for teens and many campers that are now adults, come back to events and stay in touch with the staff. The teen program has a weekend camp retreat and events throughout the year as well. Camp Horizon teaches every child that they are a promise, they are a possibility, a great big bundle of potentiality. It teaches these kids to love themselves, believe in themselves, to never give up, and know above all things that they are loved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is an intentional program designed to promote the self worth and self efficacy of every child who attends. I have had professional experiences in both working for DFCS as a case manager and currently as a psychotherapist providing mental health counseling to children and families. In both roles, I have been impressed by the impact that Camp Horizon has on every child who attends. This impact has spread into the families of these children as they come home after an event and share their experience and lessons learned. Foster mothers have provided feedback that their foster children have come home "a different child" after attending summer camp with Camp Horizon.

Working with troubled children daily allows me to see the long term effects of positive self image and unconditional support-Camp Horizon provides both of these to their campers. The curriculum is designed to build the self esteem of each child while the counselors serve as support systems for these children. For every child, regardless of their background, culture, socioeconomic status, they need to feel capable, lovable, and resilient. The magic of Camp Horizon revolves around providing these experiences to each child-teaching them skills so they learn their capabilities, providing appropriate and consistent love and support, and teaching them about their resiliency. These are just some of the many benefits to these children who attend camp.

Both professionally and personally, I feel that Camp Horizon truly makes a difference for each person who is a part of it. Summer Camp is a theraputic experience for these deserving children and young adults.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was introduced to Camp Horizon by a friend a few years ago, and I can't wait to join the camp again as a camp counselor. The camp provides a supportive atmosphere for the campers where they can come out of their shells, forget troubles, and just be a kid for a week. I think the same applies to the volunteers! Camp is a fun, growing experience for everyone involved. In addition to the summer activities, the organization provides ongoing support and events throughout the year and as the kids grow into adulthood. A truly inspiring non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 27, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

My twin and I have been apart of Camp Horiazon since the age of 10 and we are going on 21 soon. They have been such an amazing blessing to us. They have done so much and it hasnt stopped yet. They have been to our graduations, sent birthday cards EVERY year, being a mentor, but mostly a FAMILY. We are so blessed to have found such an amazing family who we can call on no matter what time or day it is. The progress we make is because of them and we arent afraid to tell ANYONE about them. Their motto is Dona Nobis Pacem which translate: Grant Us Peace and we live by that everyday. My twin brother is in the Army now and they are a main part of why he is there. My twin was thinking about giving up on school when he didnt graduate with me but Camp Horizon stuck with him and inspired him to keep going. He struggled but we were all there to help him and to keep him going, He finally graduated in 2012 and our Camp Family was there to see him walk. I cry to this day when I talk to him because I have seen his struggles and have seen him get back up countless times and every time Camp Horizon is there helping him get through it all. I cant thank them enough for what they have done for the both of us in the last 10 also 11 years. They have really touched countless numbers of hearts and souls and they arent done yet. They truly have hearts of gold and they try all day everyday to keep a smile on EACH and EVERY childs face. We are amazed at how they have helped transform so many lives and it never gets old. No matter what background we have Camp Horizon has been there to help make a better and brighter future. We just want to thank them so much for all of there hard work and let them know this isnt the end yet. Anyone would be blessed to be be at the camp and have all of the staff be apart of their lives so bring on the "puzzles" because I'm positive that Camp Horizon can piece then together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have served as a volunteer for Camp Horizon for many years. The Camp Horizon experience is "magical" for both the campers and volunteers. The camp provides a family like experience that fosters resilience in the most fragile youth. Children who have experienced abuse and/or neglect have the opportunity to escape their daily stressors and focus on the joys of being a child. Volunteers have an opportunity to make a meaningful impact in the lives of children who need it most! Each moment of camp is sprinkled with intentional acts of love!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been apart of Camp Horizon since of the age 9 now that I'm 23 going on 24 I am grateful for Camp Horizon. They do great work with the many different campers that come through the organization. They are hard workers and believe in the vision of changing youth lives. Opening up the youth mind to different aspects of life and culture. Helping each and every child to open up and be their true selves. My honest open opinion we need more organizations and dedicated people like them. CAMP HORIZON ROCKS!!! We have a purpose we have potentiality and they help the campers realize this.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers