Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
March 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Camp Horizon for many years and just can't get enough. Once you've been bitten by the Camp Horizon bug you're part of an amazingly loving family and always want more.
Being a camp counselor is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. Having one camper
that you dedicate your full attention, love and time to for a whole week is fun, exhausting, exciting and so special. The camp family is tight and special and it extends beyond the summer into the year-round events that reunite campers with their counselors and their camp family.
Camp Horizon is so special. I get overwhelmed with emotions just thinking back about how special Camp Horizon really is. Camp Horizon is magical.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

There are no adequate words to fully express the experience of Camp Horizon which is best described as a transformation. Young lives are given unconditional love and support to shape and mold them to believe in themselves-to trust that they are a person of worth.The course of life becomes not "I cannot"but rather "I can!" We all have lessons to learn and the children of Camp Horizon inspire me to believe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I started going to Camp Horizon when I was 8 years old. I am now 22. If I could describe Camp Horizon in one word, the word blessing comes to mind. Camp Horizon has given me the strength and the support system to follow my dreams and get my life together. This organization is my family. They have helped me grow and learn and change. They have given me the extra push I needed to make it. They know LOVE and best of all they know how to share it. I can honestly say that when I had no one to turn to I could always count on this amazing organization to be my backbone. I have gotten the opportunity to grow up with an amazing group of youth that share the same struggles that I have endured but just to know that I am not alone was enough to keep me pushing forward. Camp Horizon was my escape, my vacation from the situation I was in back at home. I could be that carefree little girl that I was supposed to be but couldn't be at home. I could cry and love and feel and it was ok because this organization would cry and love and feel with me. It breaks my heart because I wish that everyone could have the experience that ive had. Even as anadult I still can call on my Camp Family and they are there and that's a blessing within itself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon as a volunteer and now as a board member for the past 3 years. While I have worked with numerous non-profit organizations over the years, Camp Horizon is without a doubt the best organization that I've had the privelege of being associated with. Camp Horizon's unique one-to-one counselor-camper relationship for their annual summer camp, their keystone event, has an amazingly positive impact on the lives of these children. Nobody deserves to be put through what these children have had to endure, whether it be physical, sexual, or emotional abuse or neglect. Camp Horizon instills a sense of self-confidence in these children that most of them have never felt before. They are shown tremendous amounts of love and caring, and are made to feel just as important and worthy of a fair chance as the rest of us. Camp Horizon is more than just a non-profit charity organization. It is a family. Children enter the Camp Horizon family at the age of 8 and are supported by the Camp Horizon family, in an official capacity, until the time they reach age 23. This includes the summer camp program for 8-11 year olds, a leadership develop program for 12-18 year olds, and a CHAMPS program for 19-23 year olds, which helps to prepare these wonderful children for whatever challenges life may throw at them. They receive direction around resume creation, job applications, college applications, etc. These programs are all in addition to numerous other annual outings which help to keep the children engaged with the organization throughout the year, and which helps to reinstill their sense of self-worth. The difference that this organization makes in the lives of these children is tangible. Nationally, 46% of foster youth who age out of the system have not completed high school. Only 20% of foster youth enroll in college, and only 3% of foster care alumni complete a 4-year degree. Conversely, 82% of Camp Horizon youth graduate from high school and 64% enroll in college. I am proud to be an active member of this 30 year old organization, and will continue to be involved in a major capacity for years to come. However, to enable us to continue to make such a positive, tangible impact, it is critical that we receive the financial support from our community needed to administer such programs. It is my hope that as we continue to spread the word about this wonderful organization, the financial support will continue to grow as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Put simply, Camp Horizon changes lives. It seems to be the nature of Camp Horizon--all who get close to it are profoundly impacted in a positive way; campers, volunteers, staff, donors, sponsors, allies, etc. I have been a part of the Camp family for five years now, and it was after the very first event that I knew (and said outloud to my dear friend, Tara) that I would be in for life. It's just one of those kinds of organizations. And it's this lasting impact that plays such a remarkable role in the lives of the children and families it serves. People who involve themselve with Camp Horizon get sucked into the swirling vortex of love and compassion and are indelibly moved by it. And, if you'd like, that can be a challenge to you, reader, to see what your experience of supporting Camp Horizon would be like. I am blessed and privileged to know such a pure place in a world that can sometimes be so muddled, and it's an honor to spread it's good name. Thank you Camp!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Imagine giving one person your undivided attention for an entire week. No work, school, computers, phones, dishes, laundry - no distractions whatsoever. Now imagine what a week like that could mean for a child in foster care and the healing that could take place. Camp Horizon's volunteer counselors give this incredible gift to our campers. I have been involved with Camp Horizon since 1994 and I feel honored to part of this group of people who give to a cause higher than themselves. Our loyal volunteers help create a non-traditional family for amazing children who have lost their roots.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is a reminder to me that there is so much more that can be done to protect our most precious gifts from God. I support Camp Horizon with both my time and finances because I know that it makes a positive impact in the lives of young people. Every child deserves a loving, supportive and stable family, however life has been unfair to numerous children. Camp Horizon is working to bridge this gap. They do this by setting good examples, encouraging good decision-making, and by letting the children know that they and not their circumstances determine their destiny.
I work for a non-profit that provides life saving organs and tissues to those in need of a transplant. All too many times while visiting the intensive care units I have witnessed the saddest outcome of children that are abused and neglected. These children were not only failed by their parents but by their community. Camp Horizon is one of the few community organizations that have been courageous enough to answer this beacon call to action year after year, by fortifying youth with self worth and pride, in short, they are building a better community.
In this world, it is my belief that we are all connected to one another, if one of us suffers then all of us suffers in some indirect way. Having said that, there is no way that I could have learned about Camp Horizon and its mission and not join it, in answering the call to action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Camp Horizon since 2008. This organization means more to me than what I can put into words. The work that Camp Horizon does is incredible. My experience with working with these amazing children has taught me many things. Camp Horizon is very well run and organized. The director and all of the other members that run the organization work tirelessly to make Camp Horizon awesome. The first year I came to Camp as a counselor I was so nervous and really had no idea what I was getting myself into, however I had so much support and encouragement from the staff that it made the week go by smoothly. I look forward to be able to come back to Camp Horizon for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for Camp Horizon for the past 30 years. I am now a volunteer, Board Member and financial donor. I am a complete convert. I was the camp nurse at the first Camp Horizon event in 1982 and have been involved in a variety of ways since. As we serve the needs of children in state custody, unconditional acceptance and respect for all persons are our guiding forces.

By the time children are in DFCS custody, there has been extreme chaos in their homes of origin. Foster children are shuffled from placement to placement, often without prior knowledge of changes forthcoming, and almost exclusively without any input regarding their preference. Despite the best efforts of case managers and foster parents, these children often feel unwanted, unloveable, and disenfranchised.

Camp Horizon offers these wounded children a safe place to begin to understanding their intrinsic value as human beings. Every activity of our Summer Camp program is carefully designed to help increase the self-esteem of these kids. The most effective way that happens, and the most unique aspect of Camp Horizon is that each child is provided with his/her own personal mentor. The people who volunteer to be counselors know that they will be assigned to be a buddy to one kid for the following week. These one to one pairings become relationships of acceptance and friendship and absolutely transform these children. They often arrive withdrawn and full of doubt and fear. During the week, throughout the classes, fun and challenges and successes, these same children absolutely blossom. They are given the affirming attention all children deserve.

While we accept the children as they come to us, they learn that we do not accept all behaviors. Our values are "the 3 R's--Respect, Responsibility and Resilience." These concepts are infused into all activities and reinforced by both counselors and administrative staff. The result of this healthy environment is that children learn to believe in their own value as they learn to make positive decisions regarding their lives. Very quickly they learn the connection between actions and consequences, both positive and negative. Once they make that discovery, they begin to appreciate and own the power they do have to change their lives. They learn they CAN control their decisions and find themselves empowered in unexpected ways.

These values continue through our Leadership Development Program for teens and young adults. We concentrate on building character and learning critical life skills. By the time these teens become adults they have had meaningful, impactful relationships with responsible and safe adults for a number of years. It is from these kids that we learned that they regard Camp Horizon as the consistent, dependable family that they needed and lacked in their lives. We grow to care deeply for these children, to be very invested in their choices and successes and in doing so, they experience the joy and importance of a healthy family.

Camp Horizon began from the efforts of well-intentioned people who wanted to contribute to the community. "Well-intentioned" remains a fit descriptor for the people involved with Camp, but it is hardly sufficient. Camp Horizon is comprised of an extraordinary group of community members who believe wholly in the vision of providing a new and better day for children in foster care. Our roster of staff and volunteers includes people from a wide variety of professions with extraordinary skill and expertise. There are people who work with children professionally--teachers, psychotherapists, social workers, child advocates, members of the health care community, and moms and dads. However, there are many others who bring personal and professional talents and skills to Camp Horizon born simply from their personal passion to provide positive intervention into the lives of children in foster care. We believe that is DOES "take a village" and Camp Horizon's village is unparalleled.

Over the years, my role has become that of "Camp Mom." It is a privilege and honor to be regarded as a mother figure to these kids. My role involves a lot of structuring and hugging. Having been involved for so many years, I have been able to develop relationships with kids that have endured from childhood to adulthood. Without exception, each of these young adults speak of the extraordinary impact that being a part of the Camp Horizon family has had on their lives. They remark that their years of involvement have changed the trajectory of their lives. They learn the power of hope and effort. They experience the exhilaration of challenges met and problems resolved. They learn personal responsibility and personal forgiveness. They learn that some people are worthy of their trust as they are genuinely invested in the progression of their lives.

Other than parenting my own children, being involved with Camp Horizon has been the most challenging and most rewarding experience of my life. My heart has been broken and mended time and time again. To be able to consistently contribute to and observe the transformation and transcendence of these children's lives is nothing short of miraculous. These kids are funny, brave and full of heart. They are endlessly curious and surprisingly insightful. They are brave beyond words and have hearts that are both fragile and strong. Once they learn to trust, their lives just open up in ways that we have grown to expect, but in ways that continue to surprise, delight and inspire us. We learn, we laugh and we love. Camp Horizon provides for these kids the opportunity for a new day, a better day on the horizon. We take that responsibility very seriously. Every person involved is better for it. We are rewarded far beyond what we give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Camp Horizon since 2001. I learned about the organization through my then boyfriend, now husband and became a counselor. I had no idea what would happen as a counselor, but the experiences that I have had there have truly changed my life. The organization's mission is to serve the needs of a desperately underserved population, metro Atlanta children who are in or have been in the foster care system, due to abuse or neglect. The unfathomable strength and effect of this organization goes so much further than I ever realized. We become family to these children. As a counselor I got the privilege of getting to know a child, spending time with her, introducing her to new activities and showering her with encouragement and affection. However, as the years went by, I watched my 9 year old camper turn into a 19 year old young woman. The year round programming allows the volunteers the privilege of regular contact with these children....and these children, who sometimes have NO consistency in their lives, consistency, stability. They know that when they come to a Camp Horizon event there will be so many familiar faces with HUGE open arms. It has truly been an honor to watch our campers come to camp as bright eyed 8 or 9 year olds...moving into fun, sassy, smart teenagers...and then developing into young adults, exploring their adult lives, attending college and pursuing their dreams...and assisting them every step of the way. Camp Horizon is truly a FAMILY in the dream sense of the world. Many real life families are dysfunctional and our children often are the ultimate victims of that in their own families. But Camp Horizon is the ideal family...love, support, and understanding abound. All you need to do is come and we are there for you. I think that organizations such as Camp Horizon are extremely rare and I am honored to be a part of this family year after year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers