Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have heard stories, from those directly involved with Camp Horizon, about countless tender, poignant moments during camp week or other camp activities throughout the year, when a child's heart has been opened, a loving hand is extended to another camper, or hope is instilled in a dejected soul. Thanks for all that you do to elevate humanity!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon changes lives. Period. Summer camp is a week long, and in each of those seven days the 8-11 year old campers gain confidence, try new activities, learn new skills, and make new friends. Counselors are 110% dedicated to making their camper's experience the best it can be, and through those efforts, each counselor/camper pair develops an inexplicable, special bond. Camp Horizon is more than an organization, it's a family, and it's the authentic love, passion, and commitment of the staff and volunteers that has kept me involved in the organization for years. Words do not do this organization justice - volunteer for yourself and you'll see first-hand the important, positive impact Camp Horizon makes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been involved in Camp Horizon since I was a little girl, now I'm 21 years old. Camp Horizon is the BEST thing that has ever happened to me in my life. Camp has made me the woman I am today. I've always felt alone, has had low self esteem, and felt like I'd never be notice by anyone, and always been shy. Camp Horizon has changed everything for me. I no longer feel alone with such great people in my life, I don't have low self esteem anymore. You know, Camp Horizon enlightens things for you that you'd never think were possible. When you're involved with such a great Organization, your life gets better. You're surrounded by people who actually cares, makes you want to strive harder for things, is there for you when you're facing a tough challenge. and helps you get through it. As I write this, it's so hard for me not to tear up. These people are my family, has helped me become more comfortable in my skin, made me realize my worth, is the reason I love to smile. The only thing that really brings a smile to my face is Camp Horizon, it's a place where you leave all of your problems at home, heck, even forget what they are, show's you what FUN/LOVE is , EVERYONE shines at Camp, you'll never be forgotten, or feel left out. Camp will give you the best unforgettable memories, and at the end of the day, you'll realize you have another FAMILY!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As we enter our 31st year of serving children in Foster care, I am blessed to have participated for 25 years as a Counselor, Instructor, Staff Member and Board President. My memories and heart are FULL of life-changing experiences for me and scores of children. I have stayed in close contact with two of my former Campers, seeing them both graduate high school and college (GSU and Emory), becoming solid citizens and impressive young men. Without a father-figure for these young men, I'm proud to be "Dad". For dozens more, through Camp Horizon, I know I have helped shape their lives and am a better person for their imprint on mine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon for 3 years. I am truly amazed at how wonderful this organization is with their dedication to the children. I first heard of this group from a teacher friend. It was something I wanted to get involved in. What I saw my first visit was a tight knit group. It was not a fly by night operation. It was a group of caring adults putting everything they had into giving back to the children who attend. But I was more amazed to see the leadership of the "older" children. These individuals also put all they have into events to make sure the "younger" feel loved, accepted, and cherished. Camp Horizon has events all throughout the year. They don't just touch base with the kids at summer camp. They continue to touch their lives on a regular basis. I am forever changed by these kids. I am forever changed by the volunteers. If I had to give one word that describes this organization it would be FAMILY!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

“I went to camp and had the best time. It really does a lot for someone who feels alone and like they have no one. It also gave me something to look forward to, which in foster care is a rare thing.” This powerful statement from a former camper sums up the impact Camp Horizon has on the children who attend.

Camp Horizon is so much more than a weeklong camp. Once children attend the summer camp, we strive to keep them involved in our year-round programs. The campers become a member of the Camp Horizon family. The feelings and magic of camp resurface during the reunions and help lead to long-term growth.

Camp Horizon’s programs provide a fun-filled break from the life the children encounter at home. The experiences expose them to a wonderful world outside their daily lives; a world filled with love, guidance, and support. Through constant positive attention and unconditional acceptance, the children begin to see themselves in a whole new light.

Since 1994, I’ve seen countless lives changed through Camp Horizon. The transformation that takes place is an amazing sight to behold and is difficult, if not impossible, to put into words. For that reason, I encourage people to get involved to experience it first-hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about Camp Horizon about a year ago when I was exploring volunteer opportunities. My goal was to find a local, volunteer opportunity that aligned with my interest in working with children whose lives had been impacted by abuse or neglect. I initially spoke with one of the Camp Horizon Board members to learn about the organization and was struck by the passion and commitment I heard as they described Camp Horizon to me. I connected strongly with the Camp's Mission due to experiences I had as an intern therapist. In that role I witnessed the negative effects of abuse and neglect on children, but I also witnessed children's positive response and ability to thrive when provided with acceptance, compassion, support, and positive role models. Since joining the Board of Camp Horizon, I had the opportunity to participate in the Leadership Development Weekend for alumni campers, ages 12 - 18. The maturity, compassion, and positive attitudes of the campers I met that weekend are strong testimony to the value of Camp Horizon's programs. I commend the Camp Horizon Board, Staff, and Volunteers for programs that are focused, well organized, well executed, and most importantly, so very important to the lives of the children they connect with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon for two years now as a volunteer, and one year as a member of the board of directors. In volunteering with Camp Horizon, I have realized just how much of an impact we can make on the lives of others by showing love, support, and accountability. The children and young adults we serve at camp are truly remarkable people, and they have the tremendous potential to break the cycle of abuse and neglect with the right opportunities and support. Camp Horizon offers that and so much more.

Camp Horizon is the family so many of these young children are missing. It is the support system that shows them how to love, how to grow, and how to become a person that can make their own impact in the world. The one-to-one camper-to-counselor ratio shows the children what it is like to have an adult in their lives that cares deeply and loves truly. They are able to realize that they are worthy of love, success, personal growth, and friendship in one short week.

In my work outside of camp, I also consult for nonprofits, and I can say without a doubt that Camp Horizon's focus on the end-customer, the children, is unwavering and truly incredible. This is an organization to support if you truly want to change the lives of children that have been dealt a hand of cards that would be difficult to handle for the best of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

In my 7 year involvement with Camp Horizon, I have met individuals that have shown endless amounts of courage, witnessed love without fear, made friends to last a lifetime, and seen generosity that knows no bounds... and that's just through the campers! My experience has truly been life changing; I constantly tell friends and family that my week as a Camp Horizon volunteer is the "best version of me" that exists. Whether teaching a child to ride a bike, catch a fish for the first time, or simply overcome everyday fears of trust or abandonment, this organization provides a safe and caring environment for children and teens that have previously suffered through abuse and neglect. As rewarding and valuable as it is for the campers that participate in Camp Horizon's summer camp and other events throughout the year, I firmly believe that volunteers benefit just as much by experiencing the bonds that form through true selflessness. Caring and loyal volunteers, led by the consistency and organization of tremendous leaders, and aided by the generous donations of loving individuals and organizations create an atmosphere that has helped hundreds of at-risk children and teens that have previously suffered through abuse and neglect.

Whether you donate $7 dollars out of your pocket or 7 days during your summer to this organization, a child's life will be forever changed. I do not hesitate in saying that your life will, as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I've been involved with Camp Horizon for over 6 years now and it has become something that runs deep within my soul. Every year I am lucky enough to see first hand how one week can mean so much to a child in need. The relationships formed between a counselor and a camper become relationships that last a lifetime. Camp Horizon would be a wonderful organization if they only held a one week camp every year but what sets this organization apart from many others is the loving people that plan and develop activities throughout the year. Not only that, but they continue to care about these kids after they outgrow Camp Horizon through the organization of camps and programs that follow these kids through their young adult lives. I am proud to call myself a volunteer for Camp Horizon and an organization that strives to make a difference to so many kids that deserve the love that they so long for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with administrative tasks, volunteer at one of our events, or solicit donations Volunteer