Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
March 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I can’t say enough good things about what Camp Horizon does and means to the population of children they provide services to. I have been a volunteer for the past few years and as an organization we always say “the magic of Camp Horizon” and I could not describe it any better.

I have been
able to witness children come out of their shells and experience unconditional love, sometimes for the first time. Image never having the experiences of childhood like riding a bike or learning to swim, these are experiences campers would not have if it was not for summer camp.
In the past few years I have been able to see the growth of campers from the start of camp through the other programs Camp Horizon offers and it never seizes to amaze me. The structure and support they are given through the programs is truly life changing.

Financially, I have never seen a nonprofit stretch a dollar like the Camp Horizon staff does. They make a little go a long way. Many of the campers come to summer camp with very little and no matter what the camper needs, they make it happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Camp Horizon since I heard about it several years ago. The mission of this amazing program is realized each year at camp as well as throughout the year with ongoing programs. I have seen the passion and love that the volunteers have and it is contagious. Camp Horizon gives so many children the chance to build their confidence, self esteem and gives them the gift of a camp experience with their peers. Then these children have a chance all year long to reconnect with ongoing programs that add and reinforce the lasting positivity of summer camp. I am very particular about where I donate my money so that it can truly make a difference. I cannot think of a non-profit that is as impactful as Camp Horizon is for these children. I am a very proud supporter and am glad to be able to share my experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with Camp Horizon for many years and just can't get enough. Once you've been bitten by the Camp Horizon bug you're part of an amazingly loving family and always want more.
Being a camp counselor is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. Having one camper
that you dedicate your full attention, love and time to for a whole week is fun, exhausting, exciting and so special. The camp family is tight and special and it extends beyond the summer into the year-round events that reunite campers with their counselors and their camp family.
Camp Horizon is so special. I get overwhelmed with emotions just thinking back about how special Camp Horizon really is. Camp Horizon is magical.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

There are no adequate words to fully express the experience of Camp Horizon which is best described as a transformation. Young lives are given unconditional love and support to shape and mold them to believe in themselves-to trust that they are a person of worth.The course of life becomes not "I cannot"but rather "I can!" We all have lessons to learn and the children of Camp Horizon inspire me to believe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I started going to Camp Horizon when I was 8 years old. I am now 22. If I could describe Camp Horizon in one word, the word blessing comes to mind. Camp Horizon has given me the strength and the support system to follow my dreams and get my life together. This organization is my family. They have helped me grow and learn and change. They have given me the extra push I needed to make it. They know LOVE and best of all they know how to share it. I can honestly say that when I had no one to turn to I could always count on this amazing organization to be my backbone. I have gotten the opportunity to grow up with an amazing group of youth that share the same struggles that I have endured but just to know that I am not alone was enough to keep me pushing forward. Camp Horizon was my escape, my vacation from the situation I was in back at home. I could be that carefree little girl that I was supposed to be but couldn't be at home. I could cry and love and feel and it was ok because this organization would cry and love and feel with me. It breaks my heart because I wish that everyone could have the experience that ive had. Even as anadult I still can call on my Camp Family and they are there and that's a blessing within itself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon as a volunteer and now as a board member for the past 3 years. While I have worked with numerous non-profit organizations over the years, Camp Horizon is without a doubt the best organization that I've had the privelege of being associated with. Camp Horizon's unique one-to-one counselor-camper relationship for their annual summer camp, their keystone event, has an amazingly positive impact on the lives of these children. Nobody deserves to be put through what these children have had to endure, whether it be physical, sexual, or emotional abuse or neglect. Camp Horizon instills a sense of self-confidence in these children that most of them have never felt before. They are shown tremendous amounts of love and caring, and are made to feel just as important and worthy of a fair chance as the rest of us. Camp Horizon is more than just a non-profit charity organization. It is a family. Children enter the Camp Horizon family at the age of 8 and are supported by the Camp Horizon family, in an official capacity, until the time they reach age 23. This includes the summer camp program for 8-11 year olds, a leadership develop program for 12-18 year olds, and a CHAMPS program for 19-23 year olds, which helps to prepare these wonderful children for whatever challenges life may throw at them. They receive direction around resume creation, job applications, college applications, etc. These programs are all in addition to numerous other annual outings which help to keep the children engaged with the organization throughout the year, and which helps to reinstill their sense of self-worth. The difference that this organization makes in the lives of these children is tangible. Nationally, 46% of foster youth who age out of the system have not completed high school. Only 20% of foster youth enroll in college, and only 3% of foster care alumni complete a 4-year degree. Conversely, 82% of Camp Horizon youth graduate from high school and 64% enroll in college. I am proud to be an active member of this 30 year old organization, and will continue to be involved in a major capacity for years to come. However, to enable us to continue to make such a positive, tangible impact, it is critical that we receive the financial support from our community needed to administer such programs. It is my hope that as we continue to spread the word about this wonderful organization, the financial support will continue to grow as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Put simply, Camp Horizon changes lives. It seems to be the nature of Camp Horizon--all who get close to it are profoundly impacted in a positive way; campers, volunteers, staff, donors, sponsors, allies, etc. I have been a part of the Camp family for five years now, and it was after the very first event that I knew (and said outloud to my dear friend, Tara) that I would be in for life. It's just one of those kinds of organizations. And it's this lasting impact that plays such a remarkable role in the lives of the children and families it serves. People who involve themselve with Camp Horizon get sucked into the swirling vortex of love and compassion and are indelibly moved by it. And, if you'd like, that can be a challenge to you, reader, to see what your experience of supporting Camp Horizon would be like. I am blessed and privileged to know such a pure place in a world that can sometimes be so muddled, and it's an honor to spread it's good name. Thank you Camp!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Imagine giving one person your undivided attention for an entire week. No work, school, computers, phones, dishes, laundry - no distractions whatsoever. Now imagine what a week like that could mean for a child in foster care and the healing that could take place. Camp Horizon's volunteer counselors give this incredible gift to our campers. I have been involved with Camp Horizon since 1994 and I feel honored to part of this group of people who give to a cause higher than themselves. Our loyal volunteers help create a non-traditional family for amazing children who have lost their roots.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is a reminder to me that there is so much more that can be done to protect our most precious gifts from God. I support Camp Horizon with both my time and finances because I know that it makes a positive impact in the lives of young people. Every child deserves a loving, supportive and stable family, however life has been unfair to numerous children. Camp Horizon is working to bridge this gap. They do this by setting good examples, encouraging good decision-making, and by letting the children know that they and not their circumstances determine their destiny.
I work for a non-profit that provides life saving organs and tissues to those in need of a transplant. All too many times while visiting the intensive care units I have witnessed the saddest outcome of children that are abused and neglected. These children were not only failed by their parents but by their community. Camp Horizon is one of the few community organizations that have been courageous enough to answer this beacon call to action year after year, by fortifying youth with self worth and pride, in short, they are building a better community.
In this world, it is my belief that we are all connected to one another, if one of us suffers then all of us suffers in some indirect way. Having said that, there is no way that I could have learned about Camp Horizon and its mission and not join it, in answering the call to action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Camp Horizon since 2008. This organization means more to me than what I can put into words. The work that Camp Horizon does is incredible. My experience with working with these amazing children has taught me many things. Camp Horizon is very well run and organized. The director and all of the other members that run the organization work tirelessly to make Camp Horizon awesome. The first year I came to Camp as a counselor I was so nervous and really had no idea what I was getting myself into, however I had so much support and encouragement from the staff that it made the week go by smoothly. I look forward to be able to come back to Camp Horizon for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers