Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon for 3 years. I am truly amazed at how wonderful this organization is with their dedication to the children. I first heard of this group from a teacher friend. It was something I wanted to get involved in. What I saw my first visit was a tight knit group. It was not a fly by night operation. It was a group of caring adults putting everything they had into giving back to the children who attend. But I was more amazed to see the leadership of the "older" children. These individuals also put all they have into events to make sure the "younger" feel loved, accepted, and cherished. Camp Horizon has events all throughout the year. They don't just touch base with the kids at summer camp. They continue to touch their lives on a regular basis. I am forever changed by these kids. I am forever changed by the volunteers. If I had to give one word that describes this organization it would be FAMILY!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

“I went to camp and had the best time. It really does a lot for someone who feels alone and like they have no one. It also gave me something to look forward to, which in foster care is a rare thing.” This powerful statement from a former camper sums up the impact Camp Horizon has on the children who attend.

Camp Horizon is so much more than a weeklong camp. Once children attend the summer camp, we strive to keep them involved in our year-round programs. The campers become a member of the Camp Horizon family. The feelings and magic of camp resurface during the reunions and help lead to long-term growth.

Camp Horizon’s programs provide a fun-filled break from the life the children encounter at home. The experiences expose them to a wonderful world outside their daily lives; a world filled with love, guidance, and support. Through constant positive attention and unconditional acceptance, the children begin to see themselves in a whole new light.

Since 1994, I’ve seen countless lives changed through Camp Horizon. The transformation that takes place is an amazing sight to behold and is difficult, if not impossible, to put into words. For that reason, I encourage people to get involved to experience it first-hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about Camp Horizon about a year ago when I was exploring volunteer opportunities. My goal was to find a local, volunteer opportunity that aligned with my interest in working with children whose lives had been impacted by abuse or neglect. I initially spoke with one of the Camp Horizon Board members to learn about the organization and was struck by the passion and commitment I heard as they described Camp Horizon to me. I connected strongly with the Camp's Mission due to experiences I had as an intern therapist. In that role I witnessed the negative effects of abuse and neglect on children, but I also witnessed children's positive response and ability to thrive when provided with acceptance, compassion, support, and positive role models. Since joining the Board of Camp Horizon, I had the opportunity to participate in the Leadership Development Weekend for alumni campers, ages 12 - 18. The maturity, compassion, and positive attitudes of the campers I met that weekend are strong testimony to the value of Camp Horizon's programs. I commend the Camp Horizon Board, Staff, and Volunteers for programs that are focused, well organized, well executed, and most importantly, so very important to the lives of the children they connect with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Camp Horizon for two years now as a volunteer, and one year as a member of the board of directors. In volunteering with Camp Horizon, I have realized just how much of an impact we can make on the lives of others by showing love, support, and accountability. The children and young adults we serve at camp are truly remarkable people, and they have the tremendous potential to break the cycle of abuse and neglect with the right opportunities and support. Camp Horizon offers that and so much more.

Camp Horizon is the family so many of these young children are missing. It is the support system that shows them how to love, how to grow, and how to become a person that can make their own impact in the world. The one-to-one camper-to-counselor ratio shows the children what it is like to have an adult in their lives that cares deeply and loves truly. They are able to realize that they are worthy of love, success, personal growth, and friendship in one short week.

In my work outside of camp, I also consult for nonprofits, and I can say without a doubt that Camp Horizon's focus on the end-customer, the children, is unwavering and truly incredible. This is an organization to support if you truly want to change the lives of children that have been dealt a hand of cards that would be difficult to handle for the best of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

In my 7 year involvement with Camp Horizon, I have met individuals that have shown endless amounts of courage, witnessed love without fear, made friends to last a lifetime, and seen generosity that knows no bounds... and that's just through the campers! My experience has truly been life changing; I constantly tell friends and family that my week as a Camp Horizon volunteer is the "best version of me" that exists. Whether teaching a child to ride a bike, catch a fish for the first time, or simply overcome everyday fears of trust or abandonment, this organization provides a safe and caring environment for children and teens that have previously suffered through abuse and neglect. As rewarding and valuable as it is for the campers that participate in Camp Horizon's summer camp and other events throughout the year, I firmly believe that volunteers benefit just as much by experiencing the bonds that form through true selflessness. Caring and loyal volunteers, led by the consistency and organization of tremendous leaders, and aided by the generous donations of loving individuals and organizations create an atmosphere that has helped hundreds of at-risk children and teens that have previously suffered through abuse and neglect.

Whether you donate $7 dollars out of your pocket or 7 days during your summer to this organization, a child's life will be forever changed. I do not hesitate in saying that your life will, as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I've been involved with Camp Horizon for over 6 years now and it has become something that runs deep within my soul. Every year I am lucky enough to see first hand how one week can mean so much to a child in need. The relationships formed between a counselor and a camper become relationships that last a lifetime. Camp Horizon would be a wonderful organization if they only held a one week camp every year but what sets this organization apart from many others is the loving people that plan and develop activities throughout the year. Not only that, but they continue to care about these kids after they outgrow Camp Horizon through the organization of camps and programs that follow these kids through their young adult lives. I am proud to call myself a volunteer for Camp Horizon and an organization that strives to make a difference to so many kids that deserve the love that they so long for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

When you open your heart and allow unconditional love to flow, miracles happen. Camp Horizon is the embodiment of this thought. I have been a volunteer with Camp Horizon for many years and I have seen so many children - defensive, closed, unsure - blossom in a week, in a year, in ten years of being involved with Camp Horizon into smiling, glowing, bursting full of energy young adults that are full of life and positive reinforcement. We consider ourselves a family at Camp Horizon and we are committed to children – not just through summer camp and leadership development programs – because life does not stop there. The systems have failed them, their families have failed them, but Camp Horizon continues to support these young adults through the challenges they face. Many of these young adults come back to Camp Horizon to support the new children who backgrounds mirror theirs and to give back to their family. Camp Horizon is a miracle. I have been honored to be part of Camp Horizon to learn how to be a better person and better parent myself. I recommend this organization for its integrity, for its commitment to mission, and for its tremendous impact on the lives of these vulnerable children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My life changed forever when I walked into the Camp Horizon family. The positive encouragement, the intentional relationships, and the consistency are just snippets of how this organization affects your life, both as a volunteer and as a camper. As a teacher of students in the foster care system, I see them go in and out of schools, of houses, of families, and I see their needs: for consistency & safety, for adults to show them there is a way, for time to feel confident, for them to know they have a light to shine. Camp Horizon offers them all of this. It is what I want to do as a teacher, but can't. Thankfully, there is a place that gives them this. I hope more volunteers will want to be a part of something bigger than themselves, something that gives this kind of goodness to kids who have not gotten to experience it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I can’t say enough good things about what Camp Horizon does and means to the population of children they provide services to. I have been a volunteer for the past few years and as an organization we always say “the magic of Camp Horizon” and I could not describe it any better.

I have been
able to witness children come out of their shells and experience unconditional love, sometimes for the first time. Image never having the experiences of childhood like riding a bike or learning to swim, these are experiences campers would not have if it was not for summer camp.
In the past few years I have been able to see the growth of campers from the start of camp through the other programs Camp Horizon offers and it never seizes to amaze me. The structure and support they are given through the programs is truly life changing.

Financially, I have never seen a nonprofit stretch a dollar like the Camp Horizon staff does. They make a little go a long way. Many of the campers come to summer camp with very little and no matter what the camper needs, they make it happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Camp Horizon since I heard about it several years ago. The mission of this amazing program is realized each year at camp as well as throughout the year with ongoing programs. I have seen the passion and love that the volunteers have and it is contagious. Camp Horizon gives so many children the chance to build their confidence, self esteem and gives them the gift of a camp experience with their peers. Then these children have a chance all year long to reconnect with ongoing programs that add and reinforce the lasting positivity of summer camp. I am very particular about where I donate my money so that it can truly make a difference. I cannot think of a non-profit that is as impactful as Camp Horizon is for these children. I am a very proud supporter and am glad to be able to share my experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers