Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was a board member of this organization for 3 years, a volunteer for 9 and fundraiser for 7.

I started my Camp Horizon experience as a summer camp counselor in 1999 - I was 38 years old! This wasn't your ordinary summer camp counselor experience - it was life changing....for me, the
other volunteers and most importantly, the children served by this amazing organization. Summer camp counselors are partnered with ONE camper for an entire week - to share in the fun activities all children enjoy at camp - but one of the most important things that takes place during the weeklong camp is giving unconditional love to children who may have never experienced it. The camper/counselor relationships grow over the week and continues on for many years later; as Camp Horizon provides programs for foster youth up through age 21.
After a week with my 10 year old camper Mikita, I decided to become involved with the organization by volunteering my time doing marketing communications and then as the part time development director. I was always impressed by the passion and commitment of the camp staff, executive director, board members and volunteers.
Even though I moved to California 3+ years ago, I regularly keep in touch (via facebook) with the former campers who are in their 20's - those that I met in my early years at camp. I am so proud of the young adults they have become - for the decisions they've made in their lives, for being so resilient, for being supportive of each other.... all these many years later.

Camp Horizon has been and will continue to be a blessing to thousands of children, teens and young adults who are become part of the Camp Horizon family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first learned about Camp Horizon from my cousin. She is a volunteer each summer (and during the year for fundraisers etc). Her passion for the camp and her partnered camper are inspiring. I know the camp touches the lives of children each year and through their lives. I am proud to support her work there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a part of the Camp Horizon family for 14 years. When I first started with camp I knew I wanted to work with kids but was very nervous that I would not know how to interact or have anything in common with these kids. After the first couple days I realized there is not much difference between these kids and other children except the unfortunate background they grew up in & the consequences they now have to endure due to their parents decisions.

I think I have had a bit of a different experience than most of the volunteers at camp. From the start I was a staff volunteer, the one assigned & one of the very few allowed to take photos of the children. Due to the background of the children & the fact they were in State custody most of our children are not allowed to have their photos taken. This includes school photos, year book photos, & even just photos of them having fun at camp. When I first started with camp the only pictures I was allowed to take to publish & promote Camp Horizon were images that did not show any of the children's faces. Any image that I took of a child with their beautiful face showing could only go to that child directly no counselor, staff or any other adult was aloud to have them. Being a professional photographer I know when most people look at a photograph they want to be able to connect with the person in the image by seeing their eyes, their smile, & their emotion. When all you can see is the back of someones head it is that much harder to make a connection. For many year I was one of the lucky few able to see the beauty, love & joy in the eyes & expressions of these amazing children everyday they were at camp. It is a blessing every volunteer of Camp Horizon wants to share but can really only due by stories.

Through out the 14 years I have been with camp many of the children that I got to know when they were 8,9 & 10 are now in there 20's. A few of our kids have been adopted in that time as well & today the images you see on the Camp Horizon web site are of children who have been adopted & are allowed to have there image shown or they have aged out of the state system at 18 & gave us permission to use their images to promote a camp that has meant so much to them over the years. But there are still so many that remain in the shadows.

When I first started photographing the kids of Camp Horizon it never dawned on me how important these images actually were. As I said I have gotten to see a lot of our kids grow from an innocent child to graduating from high school, going on to collage, military service, marriage & even starting families of their own. By the grace of God I have been blessed to be a part of & photograph some of those milestone moments in these, now, young adult's lives. But it wasn't until I had one of the girls who grew up in the Camp Horizon family tell me what those early photos taken at camp meant to her that I really understood how something that seemed so small could be so important.

Most of us have photos taken of us from the time we are born, throughout our childhood, & at every important event in our lives. Usually so many photos are taken of us we take it for granted. That former camper told me as I photographed her maternity photos before the birth of her beautiful daughter, that the photos taken of her at camp were the only photos she had of herself growing up as a child. These would be the only photos she had to share with her daughter as she grew up. I have never felt more blessed than at that very moment, that God gave me this talent of capturing beautiful moments in the lives of others. The blessing of being a part of Camp Horizon & the lives of these special children and the chance to capture their laughter, friendships, first experiences, accomplishments & important milestones in their childhood I no longer take lightly. Camp Horizon is a place that brings the joys of childhood back to every child & adult that is a part of it.
Karen Burns - Karen Burns Photography

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have heard many wonderful, Successful stories regarding Camp Horizon. With volunteering under my belt, this is an organization That I would like to become a part of. Hearing the success stories bring tears to my eyes and are Very moving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

WE have heard many stories from those directly involved with Camp Horizon. Many positive memories and moments with the kids as well as staff during camp week or other camp activities throughout the year. Many of the kids find a 'family' within this organization... Somone to lean on and share conversastions, Just an all over positive , wonderful camp.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is more than just a week long camp. Many of the campers have constantly been tested. They're kids that have been through too much. Camp Horizon gives people the chance to forget about some of the burdens that come with everyday life. We have the chance to make difference in a child's life. We also get to sing and dance like children. And have the chance to appreciate things like three meals a day, which some of campers do not get to have. Most importantly, the kids are loved for a week where they can just be a kid. Camp Horizon provides these kids the opportunity to live in the sunshine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is the most passionate and rewarding organization I've ever been a part of. The one to one camper counselor relationship is what makes the camp experience so unique. I love learning from ups and downs of my camper, and the bond we make throughout our week together. I love seeing the smile of my new little buddy when he faces a challenge and has that ah-ha moment once he blows his own prior execrations out of the water. These kids can't control the circumstances of their home environment, and it is an honor to spend a week building their self-efficacy and empowering the strength for them to know just how special they are and all the things they can accomplish. I am so proud to be part of the Camp Horizon family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon has been a part of my life for 15 years! I volunteered as a camp counselor for 6 years and have done numerous outings and fundraising as well. I have known many campers through this time and I can tell you that the Camp Horizon family really is just that, a family! When the kids get together you can tell they have this amazing bond, with their counselors, the staff and each other. I am proud to be a part of this organization and know for a fact the positive influence it has on children who do not have those positive role members or even a family home to live in. The programs Camp Horizon provides are sometimes the only continuity these children have. They absolutely LOVE Camp Horizon and grow to be positive adults and expect more of themselves because of this additional family support!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have heard stories, from those directly involved with Camp Horizon, about countless tender, poignant moments during camp week or other camp activities throughout the year, when a child's heart has been opened, a loving hand is extended to another camper, or hope is instilled in a dejected soul. Thanks for all that you do to elevate humanity!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Camp Horizon changes lives. Period. Summer camp is a week long, and in each of those seven days the 8-11 year old campers gain confidence, try new activities, learn new skills, and make new friends. Counselors are 110% dedicated to making their camper's experience the best it can be, and through those efforts, each counselor/camper pair develops an inexplicable, special bond. Camp Horizon is more than an organization, it's a family, and it's the authentic love, passion, and commitment of the staff and volunteers that has kept me involved in the organization for years. Words do not do this organization justice - volunteer for yourself and you'll see first-hand the important, positive impact Camp Horizon makes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers