Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Camp Horizon is about family. It is about providing children who have been abused or neglected with reassurance that they are valuable and loved; comfort that their current situation is no fault of their own; and the skills, encouragement, and support to strive for their dreams. If anyone is slightly interested in serving some of the most vulnerable youth in the US (with estimates that as high as 80% of the US prison population having once been in foster care), you should definitely check the website or contact Camp Horizon about opportunities to get involved. Become part of the family our kids so desperately need and see first hand how life changing this experience is for both the children and the volunteers.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

Camp Horizon, I am sure, is an absolutely invaluable experience in the lives of all who are involved. There is perhaps no other time in a child's life that he or she can receive the kind of 1-on-1 attention that is given to campers for an entire week at camp, and to receive that kind of attention in such a loving, encouraging, and nurturing environment is truly a blessing. The week spent at camp is like therapy.

One of the best things about camp is the different experience that campers get to have. Experiences like horseback riding, fishing, bike riding, arts and crafts, and a class on self-esteem, among others. These experiences, coupled with the mentorship and positivity of dedicated counselors and staff members, make for a fantastic week at Camp Horizon!
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I have been part of the Camp Horizon family since 2001, as a summer camp counselor, a former board member, as well as I currently serve on their staff for summer camp. For over 13 years I have had the privilege to be a part of this amazing organization that literally heals and repairs the lives of children that have been abused and/or neglected from the metro Atlanta area. This organization gives each child unconditional love and positive encouragement, as well as teaches them how to get through the ups and downs of life. It is not just a week at summer camp that is provided, but a continual support system that lasts through their adolescence through weekend outings and other events. As teenagers our campers are taught many life skills to prepare them for adulthood, and most importantly they are taught the three "R`s", respect, responsibility, and resilience. I have witnessed children overcome major adversity that most adults cannot comprehend, much less overcome themselves, largely in part to this loving and supportive program that has changed lives for almost 30 years.
After all this time with the Camp Horizon family, I continue to be amazed at all they provide for these children and young adults with such minimum resources. I encourage anyone who reads this to consider supporting this great organization either financially or through volunteering your time.

John R.
Camp Horizon Volunteer


September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Camp horizon is a wonderful non-profit organization that assists children through the development of social skills and the volunteers work to increase self-determination through positive prosocial interactions. Students are taught lifelong soft skills and career related life skills to prepare them to become successful in life. Camp Horizon is a wonderful non-profit organization to get involved with if you truly care about giving back to support our youth. Also, getting involved in Camp Horizon allows you to see the growth and development of our youth as they transform and grow to become young adults with the many different programs that are involved with Camp Horizon. I have been involved with Camp Horizon for more than 13 years and I can assure you that the volunteers truly make a difference in the lives of many children.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

After hearing about Camp Horizon , I knew that I wanted to become a camp counselor. Seeing the kids smiling faces and bright eyes during the week is truly heart warming. I was filled with many positive emotions during the week. I got to meet awesome kids with so much potential and loads of energy . I gave a young girl a great week and I'm truly thankful that I was able to. Camp Horizon is a family and is filled with so much love !!
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I feel blessed to have gotten the chance to volunteer at Camp Horizon this past summer. From counselor training all the way to the last day, I was surrounded by constant love and encouragement from the staff, other counselors, and campers. It was a truly wonderful week in which I could help a great girl have the time of her life and forget about her stresses and worries from home. I am so glad I am now a part of the Camp Horizon family, and I cannot wait for the many more years of camp to come!
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Camp Horizon is a blessing for these children. It gives them the opportunity to participate in new activities and discover new talents. They develop lifelong friends and learn social skills that are applicable to their everday lives. My own camper was given the opportunity to ride a bike, learn to fish, and realize her own intuitive tennis talent! By the end of the week, after much practice, she was able to swim across the camp pool and obtain a coveted green band, allowing her to swim in the deep end. She conquered fears, built skill, and learned to be compassionate in only 6 days. This is a non-profit with an excellent mission that does and will continue to change lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I first heard of Camp Horizon, I did not know what to expect. When I arrived at Camp Horizon, three years ago, any expectations I had were left in the dust because I was having so much fun. Camp Horizon is a wonderful place filled with self discovery for you (counselor) and the camper you get to hang out with for a week. Being paired with one camper for a whole week is a blessing. You get to see the delights of a child up close. Some of these children get to ride bikes, swim, and ride horses for the first time and you get to be cheering them on. These children have had experiences hardships that I can't even imagine. They get to be children at Camp Horizon. They get to sing, laugh, and have fun. They get to give and recieve love. We as counselors get to remember what being a child felt like, with stickers, glitter, and singing really loud. Camp Horizon is big family!! :)
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I signed up to be a Camp Counselor for a week and I cannot say enough things about this organization and the impact it had on the kids that attended. The kids and the program are truly inspirational. What they do is not a band-aid for kids in pain. It truly shows all of the kids that there is hope and people (especially adults) who want them to succeed and grow up to be good people with lives of their own. The week I spent as a counselor taught me so much about myself and how wonderful and resilient children can be. Camp Horizon gives every kid the self-respect, courage, and support that they need or maybe are not getting in their regular lives. The 1 to 1 ratio of campers and counselors is crucial in ensuring that every kid not only has fun but has a great role model that is focused on them for the entire week of camp. Many of these kids are not used to that level of adult attention and supervision. Each child reacts differently to this but ultimately I witnessed every kid change just over the course of a week. They began respecting themselves and those around them. They got to experience a true community and see how everyone helps out and does their part. The staff and support people behind the scenes love everyone of these kids and it was so evident that everyone there is focused on the mission of Camp Horizon and reaching as many kids as they can. As I mentioned earlier, there is 1 to 1 counselor to camper ratio. This means that volunteers like me are in short supply. This could use more than donations and sponsors...every charity can but ultimately Camp Horizon succeeds with the donation of people's time. That is what really made the difference for each camper...not money, or toys, or other material items....but dedicated time from a responsible adult spent with each child is what allows them to see that there is another way in life and that there are reliable, trustworthy people in this world that want to help them. PLEASE PLEASE consider donating your time so that Camp Horizon can reach more children in the future. This group of people is truly helping kids that are going to lead long lives. Preparing them for that life and how to deal with its ups and downs is crucial to their success...this is what Camp Horizon does so very well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The amount of support and respect this camp gives to both counselors and campers alike is what makes it stands out from the crowd. And these kids know it. They come out of their shells. They have fun knowing that the adults around them aren't just authority figures giving orders, they're people who want to know about them, who care about what they care about. Who what to listen and console and lift up. These kids can look up at their counselor and see proof that there are people in the world that truly care about them. That's what Camp Horizon is all about.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers