Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

I've volunteered for Camp Encourage for 3 years now. It's a heart warming and life changing camp. I would highly recommend getting involved with this amazing program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

This was my first time volunteering as a counselor for Camp Encourage. I can honestly say that it was one of the most incredible experiences I've ever had. Meeting and bonding with the campers, watching them having a blast just being normal kids, it was like nothing I've ever seen before. And the staff, all volunteers, their aim simply being to help the campers feel good about themselves and have fun. Absolutely incredible. Can't wait for next year!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

This was my first summer attending Camp Encourage and I have walked away from this experience a changed person. As a counselor I was able to watch the young boys I was with conquer their fears, make new friends, and be carefree for 4 glorious days. Camp Encourage is the one place these children can be them selves and not feel like an outsider. I will never forget my time at camp and I hope that this was just the first of many summers that I get to be a counselor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Camp Encourage for several years. What happens at this camp is truly incredible: youth on the autism spectrum have an opportunity to explore and celebrate themselves for who they are. For a group of youth that far too often only hears about their weaknesses or eccentricities, the welcoming and accepting camp atmosphere provide a safe environment for kids to be kids.

Preparations for this summer camp are in progress year round and include fundraising for camper scholarships, making and organizing supplies, and training volunteers in best practices for supporting their campers.

I have never seen a more dedicated group of individuals and I highly recommend this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more sessions of camp each summer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As an ex-Board Member with a child on the spectrum, I can attest to the hard work and devotion of all members of Camp Encourage - Board, Staff, and Volunteers. The impact of this effort is reflected in the growth of the client base as well as the organization. We parents see our kids return from camp happy, with more confidence and improved social skills. Camp Encourage provides a valuable service to the region, and deserves strong support from the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have sessions throughout the year, and across a wider geography.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This will be my second year as a volunteer for the campfire music event and I hope to be a part of this organization for the forseeable future. The incredible work and dedication of the staff is truly inspiring and the faces of the campers reflect those efforts. A wonderful organization full of positive energy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My sons have attended Camp Encourage as Peer Models for the past 2 years (and will attend again this year at THEIR request). I am simply blown away by the quality people who volunteer their time to run camp, the level of planning and attention to detail put in to EACH camper's stay, and the stories I hear from families with campers on the spectrum. I selected "client served" because even though my sons are there to be models, they come away fulfilled as well. It is a wonderful experience for our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in Camp Encourage since it's founding year. I cannot speak highly enough of this organization. They provide children with Autism Spectrum Disorders a safe, fun and loving place where they can be themselves. They provide their parents with support, respite, and a place to send their children where they are loved and appreciated for who they are. A place where parents don't have to explain or apologize for their children's uniqueness. The kids have a great time at camp just being themselves. As an educator it has really opened my eyes about the strengths that children have when they are not pigeon-hold into setting that doesn't always meet their needs. It has changed the way I work with all children. This is a non-profit worth getting to know and definitely worth supporting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a parent of a child with an Autism Spectrum Disorder, camp allows my child to celebrate who she was designed to be without being concerned with fitting in as who she's not. During camp, she receives support in areas that are challenging for her by the area's leading experts that choose to volunteer their time and talents. The positive impact of camp is life changing! The social skills and confidence built through her camp activities have continued to assist her at school and in the community with peers. Campers, staff, volunteers and peers in our Camp Encourage family "do life" together, too. Whether helping navigate challenges of daily life or sharing tears of joy for accomplishments that might have not been, the Camp Encourage experience reaches beyond those 4 days/3nights.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son has attended Camp Encourage three times in the past four years, and it is the highlight of his summer. The staff is excellent, the program increases his confidence and social abilities, he has made lasting friendships there, and I recommend it strongly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers