Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Cameras For Kids Foundation for three years as a volunteer photography teacher and as a board member. Teaching photography to children in foster care provides the children with a creative outlet, a new skill set and inspiration for future career paths. CFKF's program is designed to challenge, mentor and foster self-esteem in underprivileged children's lives. While CFKF continues to expand, the nonprofit organization maintains strong connections with the photography teachers and students who are involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This summer I got the opportunity to help bring Cameras For Kids Foundation to Canada when they launched their first every International program in Quebec, Canada. The experience was absolutely amazing. To see kids get excited about something new was nothing short of incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would be great for the kids to have access to a camera during the week between classes, to see how they can apply what was learned in each session in their everyday life. Fortunately, this isn't CFKF's shortcomings at all as it mostly has to do with security within each of the individual locations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To see kids light up at the spark of their own creativity … To see them go from “So what?” to “Wow! I did that!” … To see them realize that there’s something unique and valuable inside each of them … This is what I’ve seen with Camera for Kids.

The program is phenomenal and Betsey Chesler
is an outstanding leader. I’m very happy to be part of what she’s created.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

An amazing program that provides hope to our foster children nationwide
As a Guardian Ad Litem working with teens, I have personally observed the change in some of those children, their attitude, and desire to participate can only be credited to the instructor s and the program. The kids are
very proud of what they are producing with their new founded art.
I thank you Mrs. Chesler for you kindness while others kept looking the other way!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Apply for federal grants

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am originally from the state of NY and came across Camera's For Kids Foundation online and quickly grew interested in the mission to help children and adolescents in Foster Care. I decided to move myself to the state of Florida to assist and intern at Camera's For Kids. The mission is very clear, I have seen and experienced first hand how Betsey and the volunteer photographers have impacted each and every child that comes into contact with the foundation. It gives them something to look forward to and something to be proud of. They do not have to continue their connection with art. It is not just about the photography classes, it is about being their for the children and influencing them and using photography to express their lives in a more positive and motivating way. It is very moving to see how these children open up and grow through out the time spent with camera's for kids. I cannot express enough how powerful the impact Betsey and everyone else involved with Camera's For Kids is doing for these children. Working and learning about Camera's For Kids has inpacted me to want to pursue a career goal in helping children in foster care, orphanages and others alike. I can only see good things happening to this foundation as it continue's to grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the wonderful opportunity to represent this charity at The OSCAR'S GIFTING EVENT in LA on Feb 21, 2013. I am an Entertainment Publicist. The interest from the Hollywood Community was overwhelming! A charity that gives cameras to Foster children, that allows them to capture life thru the lens as they see, and live it! Betsey Chesler, is an amazing woman, and advocate for these kids...providing a chance for them to express themselves in a way they would otherwise not have. Her efforts are tireless, and unending! I recommend CFKF to be the beneficiary of any special awards and funding available. This will help them gain the visibility and support they so rightly deserve.

Marilyn Kirschner

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My passion for photography combined with my recognition of the importance of nurturing disadvantaged children's artistic and creative ability has made he an avid supporter of the Cameras for Kids Foundation. Just seeing the smile on a kid's face when they realize that they can create something creative and beautiful and makes it so worthwhile. I would urge anyone looking for a way to help disadvantaged children to support CFKF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Congratulations to Betsey Chesler for founding Cameras for Kids. She knows photography and knows what these at risk kids need. This makes for a winning situation. Her enthusiasm, drive and eye to detail has made the organization grow and succeed. Bravo!! My best wishes for continued growth and success!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was searching for awhile for a South Florida-based organization to get involved in. I work with a magazine in South Florida and discovered Cameras for Kids Foundation after one of our editors wrote a story on the organization. I knew after reading the article that I had found "the one." In an area overflowing with non-profits, this one stands out. Founder Betsey Chesler has extensive experience in photography and the impact she has on children by sharing with them the art of photography is incredible. By teaching kids how to make artwork through a camera lens, this organization allows children who are starved of attention and affection to feel as though they have created something truly great. Cameras for Kids Foundation has changed the lives of the children it serves, and in turn, those children change the lives of everyone involved with the organization. I'm so proud to be involved with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in Fundraising
Teach children the art of photography
Arrange exhibits of the children's work