Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CFK ran a 6 wk program at Milagro Teen Center that still pays dividends. The gift they gave my kids was more than the ability to take photos. The instilled a new way of SEEING! The kids also found form making their vision instantly tangible. The prints they created adorn the walls of our center and are a great source of pride. Instructor Jane taught with great enthusiasm and was easily one of our favorite visiting artists. CFK was an awesome addition to our programming!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2012

Cameras For Kids was founded by a dear friend of mine who wanted to share her passion with photography with at risk kids. Betsey learned herself that photography opened her heart and mind to the poss... more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

i am amazed at the energy and staying power of Betsey, the founder of this non- profit. The passion and drive is carried over to the instructors and the students of photography. The best part is the kids walk away confident with their talent!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Cameras For Kids was founded by a dear friend of mine who wanted to share her passion with photography with at risk kids. Betsey learned herself that photography opened her heart and mind to the possibilities around her; she wanted the at risk children to find this experience themselves. Teaching photography to the kids and helping them grow and develop self esteem was the goal of this organization. The children have blossomed, many have taken their life stories and through photography; have expressed their personal life experiences through this medium and actually had their pictures hanging in a gallery for viewing. Voila!!! Success! They will have this knowledge the rest of their lives! Laurey Hallson MD

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Cameras For Kids Foundation for three years as a volunteer photography teacher and as a board member. Teaching photography to children in foster care provides the children with a creative outlet, a new skill set and inspiration for future career paths. CFKF's program is designed to challenge, mentor and foster self-esteem in underprivileged children's lives. While CFKF continues to expand, the nonprofit organization maintains strong connections with the photography teachers and students who are involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Cameras for Kids is doing amazing work reaching youth at risk and giving them direction and confidence!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This summer I got the opportunity to help bring Cameras For Kids Foundation to Canada when they launched their first every International program in Quebec, Canada. The experience was absolutely amazing. To see kids get excited about something new was nothing short of incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would be great for the kids to have access to a camera during the week between classes, to see how they can apply what was learned in each session in their everyday life. Fortunately, this isn't CFKF's shortcomings at all as it mostly has to do with security within each of the individual locations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To see kids light up at the spark of their own creativity … To see them go from “So what?” to “Wow! I did that!” … To see them realize that there’s something unique and valuable inside each of them … This is what I’ve seen with Camera for Kids.

The program is phenomenal and Betsey Chesler
is an outstanding leader. I’m very happy to be part of what she’s created.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

An amazing program that provides hope to our foster children nationwide
As a Guardian Ad Litem working with teens, I have personally observed the change in some of those children, their attitude, and desire to participate can only be credited to the instructor s and the program. The kids are
very proud of what they are producing with their new founded art.
I thank you Mrs. Chesler for you kindness while others kept looking the other way!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Apply for federal grants

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our Keller Williams Market Center in east Boca Raton chose Cameras for Kids Foundation as the beneficiary of our annual RED DAY community service event after meeting Betsey and being inspired by the amazing work she is doing with underserved children in our community.

Betsey teaches
photography skills which gives these children a personalized education, fostering a love of the arts, along with boosting their confidence, connecting them in a new way to our community, and opening doors that they may never have approached. Having the opportunity to watch some of her students present their work at our RED DAY event was both touching and exciting as we saw how they blossomed in the recognition.

The passion and dedication of Betsey's growing Team embodies the type of non-profit organization our company chooses to support. We are excited to watch the expansion of Cameras for Kids around the world!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am originally from the state of NY and came across Camera's For Kids Foundation online and quickly grew interested in the mission to help children and adolescents in Foster Care. I decided to move myself to the state of Florida to assist and intern at Camera's For Kids. The mission is very clear, I have seen and experienced first hand how Betsey and the volunteer photographers have impacted each and every child that comes into contact with the foundation. It gives them something to look forward to and something to be proud of. They do not have to continue their connection with art. It is not just about the photography classes, it is about being their for the children and influencing them and using photography to express their lives in a more positive and motivating way. It is very moving to see how these children open up and grow through out the time spent with camera's for kids. I cannot express enough how powerful the impact Betsey and everyone else involved with Camera's For Kids is doing for these children. Working and learning about Camera's For Kids has inpacted me to want to pursue a career goal in helping children in foster care, orphanages and others alike. I can only see good things happening to this foundation as it continue's to grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I found out about Camera For Kids Foundation Inc. only after meeting Betsey Chesler through face book. I am not a photographer, but found that we had mutual interests in serving under privileged child... more

July 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

True measure of a philanthropist...If you are not sharing your talents then you become self absorbed! Betsey Chesler is blessed above and beyond because she gets what it means to truly give with no expectations. That is unconditional love! Betsey is constantly recruiting new volunteer teachers as opportunities arise, to target specific groups of children, teach them a new trade, while at the same time allowing them a form of self expression through the art of photography, until they find their forever home.
If you are interested in giving underprivileged kids a hand up and not a hand out, please support this non-profit organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes. When you are in the business of giving, there isn't much need for change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Camera For Kids Foundation Inc. only after meeting Betsey Chesler through face book. I am not a photographer, but found that we had mutual interests in serving under privileged children. As a registered nurse, much of my background includes working with developmentally delayed children. The CFKF is devoted to nurturing and developing the creativity of children. This allows them an opportunity for self expression in a way that is therapeutic and healing not only to them, but allows others to see the world through their eyes. Equally important, it equips them with a trade and the life skills to be self sustaining with a renewed sense of integrity and confidence, regardless of their circumstances. I can't wait to see what this next generation of photographers has in store thanks to the selfless generosity of The Camera For Kids Foundation Inc.!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in Fundraising
Teach children the art of photography
Arrange exhibits of the children's work