Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 21, 2013

more

June 21, 2013

The Cambodian Family is a non-profit full of dedicated people who serve the immigrant and refugee community in Orange County. Even though I volunteered for only a short while, I was inspired by the commitment and passion that the staff displayed towards their clients. Through their tireless efforts, CamFam has provided so many needed services to underrepresented individuals in the community ranging from health, nutrition, English classes, education, as well as workshops that focuses on career goals, leadership and independence. As a volunteer for the Youth Program I helped students with their homework and their reading and just being a positive mentoring figure in their life. It is rewarding to think about how the energy and time put into helping the kids could really make a difference in their academics, self-esteem and awareness about the world.
The best part about volunteering at CamFam is that the staff truly treated me as though I was a member of their family. Every time I came to volunteer it was a worthwhile experience because the staff was so friendly and gracious. They even took the time to ask me about my interests and goals and allowed me to work on a project that would help with those goals, which I deeply appreciate. Since volunteering at CamFam, I have a stronger understanding of the Cambodian culture and now have a direction to go with my graduate research and it was all thanks to the wonderful staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Through my experience as a volunteer here, I witnessed firsthand the profoundly positive impact that the organization had on its clients, volunteers, and staff alike. The essence of this agency is a collective, collaborative effort which gives a helping hand and a voice to all that it serves. Through The Cambodian Family's wide array of services, the place helps foster a sense of empowerment and belonging for the residents of Orange County. Adults and children are encouraged to pursue their aspirations and goals and are given opportunities and assistance in doing so. While my work with the youth program focused on teaching music and academic subjects, I believe I learned more from the children than they did from me about things such as leadership, communication, acceptance, understanding, culture, and what it means to serve your community. I could feel the positive impact that the organization had on me and the widened sense of understanding and perception that I gained after my time working there, and it was frankly one of the greatest things I have done in my life. From the after-school youth programs to community health service workshops, employment services, holiday festivities and celebrations, cultural dance performances, guest speakers, and even English and history classes offered by the agency, The Cambodian Family does everything possible in its role of making the world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Cambodian Family (TCF) is truly a remarkable non-profit organization in California. One year after I arrived in the United States, I had a golden opportunity to volunteer for the Youth Program and Administrative Program at TCF in July 2011, a place where I learnt a great deal of things. TCF is an organization that helps not only the community, but also people like YOU. Mrs. Phalen Lim, who is a Youth Program Director, has always inspired me to pursue my future goal, and she has provided me a lot of valuable advices and recommendation. TCF has played a major role in my current success and achievement. Moreover, the staff at TCF is very wonderful. They are experienced and so helpful to provide guidance to the students. The existence of TCF is greatly needed to our community. Under the supervision of Mr. Sundaram Rama, who is an Executive Director and Mrs. Phalen Lim, and all the staff, TCF is becoming more prosperous and successful.

Thank you, The Cambodian Family! I’m truly appreciated your wonderful works.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is truly remarkable. I started volunteering in the summer of 2009 and I continue to return every year. This is the place where I discovered my passion for teaching and promoting youth advocacy and higher education. I feel like I am on the right career path because of The Cambodian Family. After 3 years of volunteering at The Cambodian Family, I realized that I want to embark on a career in the nonprofit sector. I also realized that such career path is very challenging but very rewarding. Mr. Sundaram Rama (Executive Director) and Ms. Phalen Lim (Youth Program Director) have inspired me to take on this challenge and be passionate about helping people. They are so dedicated to the community and they LOVE what they do. Also, the staff at The Cambodian Family are wonderful people. They truly welcome you like friends and family. They work hard everyday to ensure that the families they serve are on the path to better health and education. The children in the Youth Program are the reason why I keep coming back. It brings me joy when I hear that the children in the program remember me. They may not remember my name (because I do have an uncommon name) but they remember my art class. When I was an art instructor in their summer program, I remember the children asking excitedly, "What are we going to do today?" They looked forward to my art projects and the best part was--I was doing something I loved. I wasn't just a volunteer. I was inspiring students to create art out of newspaper, cans, and old shoes. I was inspiring them to embrace their creativity. Not only that but I was encouraging them to be unique ALWAYS. Since the summer of 2008, I have done my best to be involved as much as I can at The Cambodian Family. I look forward to the many more camping trips, graduations, fundraising events, and holidays at The Cambodian Family. The Cambodian Family may be a less-known organization, but there is not an organization that has strong grassroots like The Cambodian Family. I am truly blessed to be part of such an extraordinary organization. They truly are like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I joined The Cambodian Family my 5th grade year and had stayed in the program till I had graduated high school. Even though I had graduated I like to go back to the program and volunteer my time because I love the place, the people, and the environment! The program has helped me see how important it is to go back to where you come from and give back. Being in the program I feel that my involvement in this program has truly helped me find my identity and helped me grow as a leader. I learned many life lessons and skills that I am happy and eager to use them in life situations. I am an active member in the community and will continue to do/be so. Thank You!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is a proactive non-profit organization inspired to help not only Cambodian Americans, but also other cultural communities. I have worked with them multiple times and they have always exceeded to leave an impression on me as well as many others. Their mission impels me to take more action in the community and help those in need. Thank you the Cambodian Family! You are doing a great job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is an inspiring place to volunteer with if you are college students and community members who are passionate about helping those in need. I was a volunteer mentor to one of organization's youth program students when I was a sophomore in college. As a mentor, I helped my mentee with his homework and came up with activities that would enhance his social and academic skills. I was also able to network with other volunteers and meet other students in the program because of the open space that TCF (The Cambodian Family) provides to their students, staff, and community members. TCF does a great job in preparing you for the volunteering position, and their staff is always there to help you if you need any guidance. Not only that they help their students to succeed, they are always there to help YOU. Being a part of the Cambodian Family literally means that you are a part of the organization's family and beyond. I was there to be a mentor to my mentee and helped him strengthen his skills, but I was also there to discover my strength and improve on my weaknesses through the help of the students and other great people working there. They also connect you to other programs, networks, and organizations that would help you achieve your goals. When I was a volunteer, TCF staff knew I was passionate about helping the underserved community, so I was invited to other programs within the organization and introduced to other community networks to talk to the clients they serve and meet face-to-face with community leaders (that is another aspect of what make TCF a great nonprofit, because they actually want to know who you are and help you work toward your goals). I was amazed at the positive attitudes that the people in the community have toward the organization and the effort that TCF have in reaching out to those in need. Until today, I am still a part of the organization because of the commitment they have for and the support they give to their students and those who are a part of the community (and the best part is that they have been doing that for more than 30 years!).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I remember the first time I volunteered for the high school conference. It was such a blast! The staffs were very welcoming, resourceful, and friendly. They take time to talk and to get to know their volunteers. I always leave there feeling inspired, more compassionate, and rewarded. I also recommend anyone who is looking for volunteer experience to check out Cam Fam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My experience at the Cambodian Family (TCF) was amazing! So much that 'til this day I still return to volunteer at the Cambodian Family whenever I get the chance. The agency although a Nonprofit, is truly a family that embraces, educates, and empowers its staff, volunteers, students, clients, parents, and its surrounding communities. I was a sophomore in college when I found out about TCF. I was a premed student at the time and realized that I wanted to volunteer, to do something with my time outside of school. I came upon TCF website when I was searching for volunteer locations and decided to inquire about volunteer opportunities. The volunteer coordinator was very timely in his response and I soon after went in for an interview. I was accepted as a mentor for their mentor program at the time; and was placed later on into the health program. The Cambodian Family staff are so friendly and hardworking. They really made me feel like I was important and that I was needed. They paid attention to what my career goals and interests were and placed me in the program that matched my area of study. I fell in love with the TCF mission and more so with the passion that each staff had for serving the communities in Santa Ana. TCF also is so generous and giving of themselves. They are always so willing to collaborate and work with student organizations from different schools. When I founded a Khmer student organization on the University of California, Irvine campus, TCF staff and program director was more than willing to offer advice, counseling, and even helped to teach our club members Cambodian dance so that we could perform it for our Culture Night. TCF has a variety of programs and not to mention that all the staff working there are very qualified. I've seen it with my own eyes that the staff there are capable in teaching Cambodian dance, teaching students of different age groups, are advanced in graphic design, counseling, great at video editing, and more. I don't mean to sell the agency; but the truth is I'm only one of many volunteers who feel the same way about this agency. I am very confident in saying that any other volunteer or client who has been a part of this agency would say the same: that TCF produces quality work, has quality staff, and has a big heart for their community. The Executive Director works tirelessly to move the agency forward towards their mission and I saw that. I see that every time I visit the agency. People love and drawn to the agency because of that family environment I mentioned earlier. Everyone who knows of CAM FAM (another name we call the agency by) loves Cam Fam! They deserve more recognition than they do today. They definitely deserve the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers