Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is a proactive non-profit organization inspired to help not only Cambodian Americans, but also other cultural communities. I have worked with them multiple times and they have always exceeded to leave an impression on me as well as many others. Their mission impels me to take more action in the community and help those in need. Thank you the Cambodian Family! You are doing a great job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I love their mission statement. Inspiring place to volunteer for a great cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is an inspiring place to volunteer with if you are college students and community members who are passionate about helping those in need. I was a volunteer mentor to one of organization's youth program students when I was a sophomore in college. As a mentor, I helped my mentee with his homework and came up with activities that would enhance his social and academic skills. I was also able to network with other volunteers and meet other students in the program because of the open space that TCF (The Cambodian Family) provides to their students, staff, and community members. TCF does a great job in preparing you for the volunteering position, and their staff is always there to help you if you need any guidance. Not only that they help their students to succeed, they are always there to help YOU. Being a part of the Cambodian Family literally means that you are a part of the organization's family and beyond. I was there to be a mentor to my mentee and helped him strengthen his skills, but I was also there to discover my strength and improve on my weaknesses through the help of the students and other great people working there. They also connect you to other programs, networks, and organizations that would help you achieve your goals. When I was a volunteer, TCF staff knew I was passionate about helping the underserved community, so I was invited to other programs within the organization and introduced to other community networks to talk to the clients they serve and meet face-to-face with community leaders (that is another aspect of what make TCF a great nonprofit, because they actually want to know who you are and help you work toward your goals). I was amazed at the positive attitudes that the people in the community have toward the organization and the effort that TCF have in reaching out to those in need. Until today, I am still a part of the organization because of the commitment they have for and the support they give to their students and those who are a part of the community (and the best part is that they have been doing that for more than 30 years!).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I remember the first time I volunteered for the high school conference. It was such a blast! The staffs were very welcoming, resourceful, and friendly. They take time to talk and to get to know their volunteers. I always leave there feeling inspired, more compassionate, and rewarded. I also recommend anyone who is looking for volunteer experience to check out Cam Fam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My experience at the Cambodian Family (TCF) was amazing! So much that 'til this day I still return to volunteer at the Cambodian Family whenever I get the chance. The agency although a Nonprofit, is truly a family that embraces, educates, and empowers its staff, volunteers, students, clients, parents, and its surrounding communities. I was a sophomore in college when I found out about TCF. I was a premed student at the time and realized that I wanted to volunteer, to do something with my time outside of school. I came upon TCF website when I was searching for volunteer locations and decided to inquire about volunteer opportunities. The volunteer coordinator was very timely in his response and I soon after went in for an interview. I was accepted as a mentor for their mentor program at the time; and was placed later on into the health program. The Cambodian Family staff are so friendly and hardworking. They really made me feel like I was important and that I was needed. They paid attention to what my career goals and interests were and placed me in the program that matched my area of study. I fell in love with the TCF mission and more so with the passion that each staff had for serving the communities in Santa Ana. TCF also is so generous and giving of themselves. They are always so willing to collaborate and work with student organizations from different schools. When I founded a Khmer student organization on the University of California, Irvine campus, TCF staff and program director was more than willing to offer advice, counseling, and even helped to teach our club members Cambodian dance so that we could perform it for our Culture Night. TCF has a variety of programs and not to mention that all the staff working there are very qualified. I've seen it with my own eyes that the staff there are capable in teaching Cambodian dance, teaching students of different age groups, are advanced in graphic design, counseling, great at video editing, and more. I don't mean to sell the agency; but the truth is I'm only one of many volunteers who feel the same way about this agency. I am very confident in saying that any other volunteer or client who has been a part of this agency would say the same: that TCF produces quality work, has quality staff, and has a big heart for their community. The Executive Director works tirelessly to move the agency forward towards their mission and I saw that. I see that every time I visit the agency. People love and drawn to the agency because of that family environment I mentioned earlier. Everyone who knows of CAM FAM (another name we call the agency by) loves Cam Fam! They deserve more recognition than they do today. They definitely deserve the 2012 Top-Rated Nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I've had the honor of meeting a few of The Cambodian Family staff and I must say, they are passionate about their line of work. They welcome visitors with a smile and open arms. The Cambodian Family has been around for over 30 years in Orange County. They offer educational and leadership programs as well as provide health services for those in their community. Initially starting off to help Cambodian refugees, this organization has grown tremendously throughout the years and have been able to expand their team to assist refugees from all over the world including Vietnam, Laos, Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Bosnia, Ethiopia, and Somalia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers