Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 21, 2013

more

June 21, 2013

The Cambodian Family is a non-profit full of dedicated people who serve the immigrant and refugee community in Orange County. Even though I volunteered for only a short while, I was inspired by the commitment and passion that the staff displayed towards their clients. Through their tireless efforts, CamFam has provided so many needed services to underrepresented individuals in the community ranging from health, nutrition, English classes, education, as well as workshops that focuses on career goals, leadership and independence. As a volunteer for the Youth Program I helped students with their homework and their reading and just being a positive mentoring figure in their life. It is rewarding to think about how the energy and time put into helping the kids could really make a difference in their academics, self-esteem and awareness about the world.
The best part about volunteering at CamFam is that the staff truly treated me as though I was a member of their family. Every time I came to volunteer it was a worthwhile experience because the staff was so friendly and gracious. They even took the time to ask me about my interests and goals and allowed me to work on a project that would help with those goals, which I deeply appreciate. Since volunteering at CamFam, I have a stronger understanding of the Cambodian culture and now have a direction to go with my graduate research and it was all thanks to the wonderful staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

As a board member, I get to see Cambodian Family from a bird's eye view. What i see and love most about the organization are the people who "work" here. I don't think the employees know that they are working here. I think they just come to the center with the attitude and intention to help. I love how they genuinely help and care for their clients. It's very refreshing.

Yet another amazing aspect of this organization is that the entire staff does so much with little resources. They are very effective and effecient utilizing what resourses that are available.

I am honored to be a part of this organization and to play a small role in shaping their future. If you are reading this, I hope that you take the time to learn more about the organziation and donate to such a worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more resources and funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Through my experience as a volunteer here, I witnessed firsthand the profoundly positive impact that the organization had on its clients, volunteers, and staff alike. The essence of this agency is a collective, collaborative effort which gives a helping hand and a voice to all that it serves. Through The Cambodian Family's wide array of services, the place helps foster a sense of empowerment and belonging for the residents of Orange County. Adults and children are encouraged to pursue their aspirations and goals and are given opportunities and assistance in doing so. While my work with the youth program focused on teaching music and academic subjects, I believe I learned more from the children than they did from me about things such as leadership, communication, acceptance, understanding, culture, and what it means to serve your community. I could feel the positive impact that the organization had on me and the widened sense of understanding and perception that I gained after my time working there, and it was frankly one of the greatest things I have done in my life. From the after-school youth programs to community health service workshops, employment services, holiday festivities and celebrations, cultural dance performances, guest speakers, and even English and history classes offered by the agency, The Cambodian Family does everything possible in its role of making the world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

There is a outstanding non-profit organization that exists in Santa Ana dedicated to youth empowerment and community engagement. With a passion driven staff of dedicated professionals and lively volunteers, it is no wonder that The Cambodian Family has been fully operational for the past three decades. The facility is brought to life through pictures, drawings, arts and crafts of the students who occupy the area. I feel a sense of community and family every time I visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was one of the many Minnie Street Cambodian youth who had the privilege to be a part of The Cambodian Family (Cam Fam). Cam Fam was truly a second home to me; helping me to learn, explore, and grow to new horizons. The streets of Minnie wasn't the safest and most fun places to grow up, but Cam Fam made it bearable. From learning about my culture, to exploring opportunities, and to making lifelong friends, Cam Fam made it happen! I now have the privilege to come back and work here and I can't say how happy I am. Thank you Cam Fam and the wonderful people there for making the center not just a place to go, but a place I can call my second home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Cambodian Family (TCF) is truly a remarkable non-profit organization in California. One year after I arrived in the United States, I had a golden opportunity to volunteer for the Youth Program and Administrative Program at TCF in July 2011, a place where I learnt a great deal of things. TCF is an organization that helps not only the community, but also people like YOU. Mrs. Phalen Lim, who is a Youth Program Director, has always inspired me to pursue my future goal, and she has provided me a lot of valuable advices and recommendation. TCF has played a major role in my current success and achievement. Moreover, the staff at TCF is very wonderful. They are experienced and so helpful to provide guidance to the students. The existence of TCF is greatly needed to our community. Under the supervision of Mr. Sundaram Rama, who is an Executive Director and Mrs. Phalen Lim, and all the staff, TCF is becoming more prosperous and successful.

Thank you, The Cambodian Family! I’m truly appreciated your wonderful works.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cambodian Family is truly remarkable. I started volunteering in the summer of 2009 and I continue to return every year. This is the place where I discovered my passion for teaching and promoting youth advocacy and higher education. I feel like I am on the right career path because of The Cambodian Family. After 3 years of volunteering at The Cambodian Family, I realized that I want to embark on a career in the nonprofit sector. I also realized that such career path is very challenging but very rewarding. Mr. Sundaram Rama (Executive Director) and Ms. Phalen Lim (Youth Program Director) have inspired me to take on this challenge and be passionate about helping people. They are so dedicated to the community and they LOVE what they do. Also, the staff at The Cambodian Family are wonderful people. They truly welcome you like friends and family. They work hard everyday to ensure that the families they serve are on the path to better health and education. The children in the Youth Program are the reason why I keep coming back. It brings me joy when I hear that the children in the program remember me. They may not remember my name (because I do have an uncommon name) but they remember my art class. When I was an art instructor in their summer program, I remember the children asking excitedly, "What are we going to do today?" They looked forward to my art projects and the best part was--I was doing something I loved. I wasn't just a volunteer. I was inspiring students to create art out of newspaper, cans, and old shoes. I was inspiring them to embrace their creativity. Not only that but I was encouraging them to be unique ALWAYS. Since the summer of 2008, I have done my best to be involved as much as I can at The Cambodian Family. I look forward to the many more camping trips, graduations, fundraising events, and holidays at The Cambodian Family. The Cambodian Family may be a less-known organization, but there is not an organization that has strong grassroots like The Cambodian Family. I am truly blessed to be part of such an extraordinary organization. They truly are like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The Cambodian Family is one of the best programs for Cambodians that I've seen in the entire California. This organization raises awareness about the Cambodian culture while teaching the Cambodian youth and inspiring them to do more for their communities. It seems to me that this organization is essential to the Santa Ana community. I have also met individuals from this organization and they are great role models for the entire Cambodian community. The work that this group does is incredible, I am very grateful for this group of talented leaders to lead our future generation to success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My springboard to success! As a consultant working for the non-profit sector, I know that this is one of the best agencies providing human services to the Orange County community. An alumna of The Cambodian Family's Youth program, I participated in Cambodian Language and Culture classes, trained in traditional Khmer dance and hip-hop, and learned essential life-skills in the TCF/Campfire Girls program. This involvement was crucial to my development as a 1.5 generation refugee and daughter of parents escaping from a traumatic post-war past.

TCF was a safe haven for myself and other children living in the crime-ridden area of Minnie St. Bishop Manor in southeast Santa Ana during the 1980s-90s. It was a place where we could go to enjoy learning new things and exploring our dual Cambodian-American identities. TCF is a place for building stronger family bonds and creating lasting friendships. I was able to meet many persons from different ethnic backgrounds who became my closest friends. I met leaders who believed in my potential and helped me to explore academically and encouraged me to be creative artistically.

The Cambodian Family helped me to achieve all my goals and become successful. It continues to make an impact on my life. Presently, my daughter benefits from participating in TCF activities. She is growing in her confidence and enjoys the programs. For these reasons, I chose to return as a Volunteer and help the dedicated staff continue the mission to serve our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I joined The Cambodian Family my 5th grade year and had stayed in the program till I had graduated high school. Even though I had graduated I like to go back to the program and volunteer my time because I love the place, the people, and the environment! The program has helped me see how important it is to go back to where you come from and give back. Being in the program I feel that my involvement in this program has truly helped me find my identity and helped me grow as a leader. I learned many life lessons and skills that I am happy and eager to use them in life situations. I am an active member in the community and will continue to do/be so. Thank You!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers