Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have been sponsor to two kids at CCF over the last several years and finally had time to visit Phnom Penh this week to see the operation on the ground and meet the kids... I knew already that CCF was a first rate organization but there's nothing as powerful as witnessing it in action. I saw four or five of CCF's facilities and several hundred children of all ages at play, in classes, working on their language and computer skills, eating dinner and, importantly, receiving prizes for their efforts and achievements in school. I spent several hours with Scott, who is a ball of energy with big ideas and an incredible grasp of detail -- including, it seemed, the names, stories and achievements of all the more than 2,000 children CCF supports. Inspirational and moving. On top of that, I spent a morning with the kids I sponsor -- a treat for them and me and another reason why I will be back.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I've come across CCF through the Panda Paddlers in Hong Kong. I've had the honour to meet the kids and staff at CCF two years ago and it is amazing to see the positive impacts CCF is bringing to the local community. The story behind this charity is simply extraordinary!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Great charity with Very Honest, Very caring and dedication.

Mckenney

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

This organization has transformed not only my life but the life of some many young children in Phnom Penh. I was blessed to hear about this organization by accident through the documentary Small Voices and since then I can only say that it has transformed my life. Since becoming a part of this organization I have seen such a change in the kids and have also gained a personal fulfillment in receiving so much love from my sponsor child. I routinely receive letters, pictures and do Skype phone calls making the experience well worth it. There is no better feeling than knowing you are transforming someone's life and in the return you will receive nothing but gratitude love and the fulfillment of knowing that you are helping a young life who will grow up to transform the world. I look forward to meeting my sponsor child within the next year and can only say that will be such a wonderful moment that I will hardly have words to explain it. I can only say good things about this organization and hope that other nonprofit organizations seek to provide the same fulfilling experience to their donors as I have received through the Cambodian Children's Fund.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 2, 2013

I have actually been to Phnom Penh and seen first hand the work of CCF. It is nothing short of amazing to walk around the various facilities and see the hundreds of kids, and to see what has been acco... more

June 13, 2014

I have been to Phnom Penh now three times and before first going I was introduced to CCF so I decided to go there. Forget that downtown tourist Phnom Penh is transforming itself and go to Steung Meanchey and see what Scott Neeson is doing............or should I say what isnt he doing.
Scott is
indefatigable and nonstop he is coming up with programs that further differentiates CCF from other organizations. There are hundreds of kids from the most disenfranchised backgrounds who are being saved by CCF from abuse,violence and predators.
As of Xmas 2013 there were 1750 kids directly being served by CCF, most of whom were living at CCF and being cared for by a committed staff. I immediately sponsored two young girls there and have watched the transformation from shy nervous frightened kids to happy well nourished teenagers with friends and now even family members with them at CCF.
I think of it this way............one less Starbucks coffee a hundred days a year and you can directly save two children and give them a real chance - and I have met kids who will go to University and will have a direct impact on policy and simply because CCF was there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that more people knew of it and that local tourist organizations promoted this with the seal they promote less worthy places

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 2, 2013

I have actually been to Phnom Penh and seen first hand the work of CCF. It is nothing short of amazing to walk around the various facilities and see the hundreds of kids, and to see what has been accomplished and what happens there on a daily basis.
Steung Meachey where CCF is located is one of
the poorest areas I have ever seen and yet within CCF all the kids are well nourished and healthy and being cared for by Scott Neeson and his large and dedicated staff.
What is striking were you to walk around the area is that within CCF there is joy and health and it is surrounded by the complete opposite. Steung Meanchey was an area where the trash would be dumped daily and then sorted by the kids for recycled value and while the city dump has been finally relocated the areas problems remain as would be expected especially given the history of the country. Within that environment Scott has established criteria for the safety of hundreds of children and by providing the families of the kids small amounts of rice and produce he has a buy in on a local level from parents and locals alike.
If care and education wasn't enough there is also a clinic and maternity ward at CCF which serves the community at large. Where the authorities have failed CCF has succeeded and some 1300 plus kids are cared for, educated and fed in safety and away from danger whether in their own homes or elsewhere.
This is hands on help. Every dime given to CCF goes to CCF and not to expensive fundraising. Of all the charities I have ever supported this generates the greatest results on an individual child by child basis.
I sponsor two children there and the impact has been huge. I regularly hear from them and at Xmas managed a conversation with them via Skype which was organized as usual bt Scott. Additionally, i support other programs within CCF and regard these as having the highest possible ROI possible. Scott Neeson is there and his common sense hands on approach is something quite astounding to see.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CCF is the most inspiring and efficient organizations I have ever seen. The impact CCF has on Phnom Penh is undeniable. The growth and the vast amount of people they are able to touch is incredible. More organizations would benefit from following their plan. We continued to be amazed as we toured each facility and learned more about the various programs. The staff is wonderful and the children beautiful. Our faces hurt from smiling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change about CCF. Their dedication promotes hope and develops dreams into a reality.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

I first visited Cambodia in 2000 and was greatly struck by the poverty and lack of industry in the Country, especially in contrast to Thailand and Vietnam on either side. Phnom Penh, even then, was still largely in ruins except for the front street along the river. To even begin to understand what had happened in Cambodia during the Pol Pot years one book to read is Loung Ung's 'First They Killed My Father'. Anyone over 40 in Cambodia now was there during the Khmer Rouge years - and that legacy lives on. So to me it is important to sponsor a child and give this person any small chance I can to have a leg up in life. I have been very impressed by what I have seen of CCF, and all communications I have had with them. I believe the cause is excellent, and my money is making it to where it needs to be, which you often don't know for sure with other charities. I think the focus on education, leadership, looking after grannies and mums is spot on. And I get to share email exchanges with my sponsor child and see her grow - love that!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nil

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

before I tell my story, I ask readers this….
With the many choices people have today to embrace charity causes, why choose CCF, and why choose an organization that's not close to your home region and in a location where most people will never have the opportunity to visit in their
lifetime…Phnom Penh, Cambodia? For 3 vital reasons:

1) the NEED of the children and their families in Phnom Penh is far beyond anything you could ever imagine, and the history of the country would move even the most hardened humans to tears…(it did me after visiting CCF for the first time and while standing on The Killing Field grounds outside the city. Google it, you will understand. Cambodia historically has been one of the most poverish and corrupt countries in the world, and the people specially its children, deserve better)...

2) the lives of these children would never change or simply end without INTERVENTION from CCF, and..

3) YOUR DONATIONS actually make it directly to the organization and are used as YOU identified to create meaningful change (child sponsorships, general donations, most needed, etc.)

So, how do I know this? As a Donor and Child Sponsor, I have visited CCF approximately 2-3 times per year since 2011 and have walked the communities, observed CCF on the ground operations, walked with the CCF Founder Scott Neeson through the villages/dump areas during the day and during the more dangerous evening walks, and visited the families and homes of people touched and impacted by CCF. Whether it was the grandmother who walked up to Scott in the village with an extremely sick (and dying) newborn baby in her arms (her granddaughter had left the baby at the dump site because it was too sick to be cared for as the mother had no money), the children who have been physically abused, sold or trafficked, or the 11 year old girl who walked BY HERSELF from Northern Cambodia to seek out CCF for better education, development and healthcare, Scott and his team work endlessly against the needs of the children, their families, and community, and are there 24/7 to respond and provide immediate help through the infrastructure that has become CCF. It is truly a remarkable operation with endless stories of selflessness aid by staff members at all levels, and is a very special place that has evolved based on one mans' vision and receipt of donations from individuals and corporations over the past 9 years or so.

If you are thinking about finding a cause and giving, I encourage you to check out CCF. I am sure you will find as I did, that the most wonderful gift of all is that which you give up for someone else who is significantly less fortunate than yourself.

DougCAtlantaUSA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more staff which can only happen from the power of donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

I've known Scott Neeson, who launched CCF, for many years. His commitment to make a difference is unparalleled. CCF is an extraordinary organization which is changing lives and leading thousands of kids into a new, hopeful, life.

i have a sponsored a kid for many years and couldn't be
happier about how he's progressing and seeing how CCF is broadening its scope with new projects

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

To me, ever since I learned about CCF, it was not only a challenge, but also a commitment to help in what I could to make this project a success. I wish I could do more, than just donate money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers