Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
137 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 29, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

I am absolutely in awe of everything Cambodian Children's Fund manages to accomplish with such limited resources. It's biggest success, however, is the confidence, security and hope its programs give an incredibly marginalized group of children. Congratulations and keep up the good work!
January 21, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 9, 2014

I am involved with CCF little over a year, but I have been following them for much longer. Story of Scott Neeson is amazing and what he has done in Cambodia is nothing short of a miracle. I know becau... more

January 21, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a child sponsor with Cambodian Children's Fund for 2 years. I am sponsoring beautiful 9 year old girl Srey Vy. Since I am currently living in Singapore I was able to manage visit my sponsored child 3 times. On the first visit I have been shown CCF facilities, introduced to program structure and I witnessed with my own eyes how things work and everything they describe on their website, Facebook posts, Twitter etc is true. I met the children in CFF facilities and I was in awe with positive aura all around. Later I met my sponsored child for the first time. If you are interested about my experiences I wrote an article here http://richardsimko.com/archive/visiting-cambodian-childrens-fund
Few months later I visited second time and again we had great time with my sponsored child again. Third visit happened in December 2014. I surprised Srey Vy with a birthday cake. She turned 9. CFF staff was very helpful in organizing this little surprise.
Generally being a sponsor with CFF is very rewarding experience. I have regular email communication with Srey Vy so I always know what is going on. A new email always brightens my day. I know I am making a difference here. Small one but difference it is. If you add lot of small contributions together then you really have power to make a change. And change there is. I am looking forward for more visits and continuing my support of Cambodian Children's Fund. I think it is one of the best charities out there.
June 9, 2014

I am involved with CCF little over a year, but I have been following them for much longer. Story of Scott Neeson is amazing and what he has done in Cambodia is nothing short of a miracle. I know because I visited CCF last year. I am sponsoring lovely 8 year old girl whom I visited 2 times already. I think it is the best spent money ever. Seeing those kids with happy smiles gives me great satisfaction and helping them helps me a lot too. I will continue my support for CCF because I could see with my own eyes that it realy does help and it gets where it is needed the most. If you feel you want to get involved in charity, consider CCF. It is money and time well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 6, 2015

more

January 6, 2015

I visited CCF this morning as part of my Cambodia holiday. As a donor I was keen to see how my donations are being managed on the ground. I left feeling that CCF provides excellent value for money, that my donations are being well spent. The CCF HQ is modest, with the tuktuk driver having to point it out to me on arrival (this compares favourably with a similar charity back home housed in its own large, ostentatious building). I was guided by a friendly and professional member of staff to three CCF sites, being a playground, school, and community centre. All three had good security, were well maintained, and were full of happy and friendly staff and children. The facilities are basic but functional, with good computer access for students. As part of the tour we briefly stopped at CCF’s housing project. These houses, built on stilts, are located behind a fence. I observed that while outside the fence is filth, inside is neat and tidy – these tenants take pride in their homes. Overall, I was very impressed with CCF; the visit confirmed what I have read previously on websites such as this. I will continue supporting this excellent charity. Thank you for a great day.
December 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We've been sponsors for 6 years and have visited CCF in Phnom Penh on several occasions.
One cannot begin to describe the impact this organisation has on the lifes of thousands of people. Whether it is the personal "mentoring" sponsors have with their kids, or the societal impact from the
medical and vocational centres. CCF is an example of dedication, professionalism and transparency.
December 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We have been sponsors of a young girl at the Cambodian Children's' Fund for the past 8 years and visited her and the school 4 years ago. It is an amazing organization that changes the lives of every child involved, along with their families. We receive frequent email updates and photos from our sponsored child as well as from the school which reports on her academic progress. Sponsoring and visiting this young girl has been truly one of the most satisfying and worthwhile experiences we have had working with a nonprofit organization. I highly recommend considering sponsorship.
December 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a 65 year old divorced woman and as a mother, and a former psychiatric nurse and middle school science teacher, I believe almost nothing at first glance. When I saw the documentary regarding Cambodian Children's Fund, I paused and then decided to investigate the organization. I studied the financials and read every article written about CCF. I was impressed: most of the money goes to the children. Initially, I was going to give a one time small donation because I have limited means. When I saw the faces of the numerous children who needed a sponsor, I knew I could tighten my belt and make it work. One of the qualities of this organization that I like best is the emphasis on the children. If I could not write to my sponsor child on a regular basis, then they discouraged sponsorship. Children need consistency, no matter where or whatever their station in life. I made a silent commitment to Rachna, my sponsor child, and to myself: I would not let her down. Little did I know where that path would lead me.

Rachna and I have been writing by email to one another for over two years. Since I am a teacher, I have given her small assignments and she has given me assignments as well. One assignment was for me to learn about Angkor Wat, a World Heritage in Cambodia. She wanted me to learn about different Cambodia holidays and I did. She told me about school and her love for dancing. I told her about my dogs. Her emails became the light in my day. I felt such pride!!!

It occurred to me last January that I was not getting any younger and if I was going to meet Rachna, I'd better start making plans. I would be traveling alone half way around the world. I contacted CCF for guidance and then made my travel arrangements. I found a small boutique hotel in Phnom Penh (I later found out the owner sponsors two CCF children). I wrote Rachna in March 2014 and we both began the countdown until October when we would meet.

There are moments in life that you feel like you are walking in slow motion and you know you are memorizing every sound and sight. I felt like that when Rachna stood up to greet me for the first time. I thought my heart would burst. She also brought a friend and a translator from CCF.
The four of us went shopping as previously planned (what fun!!!! we laughed and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the young people as they made their choices at the market). We later had lunch together and made plans to see each other at the school the following day.

The translator took me to two schools, the clinic and nursery. The students were engaged in their studies. I saw happy, healthy, courteous children. I looked at some of their notes: neat writing (that's the teacher in me). I spoke to a class of about 15 teenage students. I was surprised by their ease of speaking English. They learn Khmer, French and English. How many American public schools can boast two required languages? Almost none. The schools were modest and orderly. The children give direct eye contact and there is a quick smile on their faces. If you know anything about students, that speaks volumes.

There are almost 2000 students who attend school through CCF and 10,000 thru their outreach program. Through the vision of Scott Neeson who visited Cambodia in 2003 and began the school in 2004, this is an organization that works! There are no Fat Cats living off donations and going to fancy retreats. This is the real deal. I feel thankful that I have been able to play a small part in keeping this organization alive.

CCF does so much for so many people. They NEED more help. No one asked me to write that statement. Do you need that pedicure, another outfit or that fancy bottle of wine? If you cannot commit to being a sponsor, send the money to CCF. Your donation DOES matter. It feeds and educates children. It gives them a meaningful future. You'll never regret it. Take it from old woman who went half way round the world by herself, who looked into those young intelligent eyes.

Patricia S Gross,
RN, BSN, Masters of Education






December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

I first came to know about this wonderful organization through an article in reader's digest. I immediately decided to contact them and become a Sponsor. This was an act which I have never regretted. I was very fortunate that I ended having the honour and privilege to Sponsor Meth Chan Mouy 5 years ago. Her emails to me have brighten up my day and whenever I meet her in Cambodia, she brings much joy to my heart.

I can see that this organization does great work and my sponsored child has really benefited through the years and it heartens me to see her blossom into a young lady and improve her self through her schooling and experiences with Cambodian Children's Fund.

Christopher Bridges
Singapore

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

Cambodian Childern's Fund is a wonderful organisation which makes a hiuge difference to the lives of thousands of Children and their families, with all resources going directly to those who need them. I visited our sponsored child some months ago, and it was heartwarming to spend time with her and to see how much CCF has enriched her life. We keep in regular contact with her via email, and it is exciting to see how she is developing , and using the opportunies she is given. Her future is certainly a bright one, thanks to CCF.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have recently been to Phnom Penh to visit my 2 sponsored children.... I took tissues thinking I would need them, the only tears I shed were tears of joy. The CCF children and the children in the CCF community are the happiest children I have seen.
They have so little material things, but
have so much in the way of love thanks to Scott and all the staff.
CCF has provided so much not only for the children but the whole community. The health care, the community centre, fresh water, the English classes, the cups of milk and meals for the kids off the streets...really what don't CCF do!
We are so privileged in the Western World, we have running water, electricity, flush toilets and our children want for nothing.
I drive a BMW X3, I wish I didn't and when I trade this car in, I will not be getting a prestige car... I will buying a car for half the price and giving the balance between a BMW and Subaru to CCF!
Scott, you are one out of the box!
ps I have just sponsored my 3rd child and have promised my other children I will be at their graduations!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit the Cambodian Children's Fund last month (September 2014) and meet my sponsored child. It was clear that CCF has done and continues to do incredible things for the children of a country where people exude so much joy and spirit despite their hard lives.

While spending the day with my sponsored child was the highlight of my trip, it was wonderful to visit the facilities in Phnom Penh and witness first hand the transformative work that is being done. The trip solidified my commitment to CCF and I would encourage anyone to get involved in any capacity that they can.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers