Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
131 Reviews
1234.992375
Write A Review
December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsors of a young girl at the Cambodian Children's' Fund for the past 8 years and visited her and the school 4 years ago. It is an amazing organization that changes the lives of every child involved, along with their families. We receive frequent email updates and photos from our sponsored child as well as from the school which reports on her academic progress. Sponsoring and visiting this young girl has been truly one of the most satisfying and worthwhile experiences we have had working with a nonprofit organization. I highly recommend considering sponsorship.
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I am a 65 year old divorced woman and as a mother, and a former psychiatric nurse and middle school science teacher, I believe almost nothing at first glance. When I saw the documentary regarding Cambodian Children's Fund, I paused and then decided to investigate the organization. I studied the financials and read every article written about CCF. I was impressed: most of the money goes to the children. Initially, I was going to give a one time small donation because I have limited means. When I saw the faces of the numerous children who needed a sponsor, I knew I could tighten my belt and make it work. One of the qualities of this organization that I like best is the emphasis on the children. If I could not write to my sponsor child on a regular basis, then they discouraged sponsorship. Children need consistency, no matter where or whatever their station in life. I made a silent commitment to Rachna, my sponsor child, and to myself: I would not let her down. Little did I know where that path would lead me.

Rachna and I have been writing by email to one another for over two years. Since I am a teacher, I have given her small assignments and she has given me assignments as well. One assignment was for me to learn about Angkor Wat, a World Heritage in Cambodia. She wanted me to learn about different Cambodia holidays and I did. She told me about school and her love for dancing. I told her about my dogs. Her emails became the light in my day. I felt such pride!!!

It occurred to me last January that I was not getting any younger and if I was going to meet Rachna, I'd better start making plans. I would be traveling alone half way around the world. I contacted CCF for guidance and then made my travel arrangements. I found a small boutique hotel in Phnom Penh (I later found out the owner sponsors two CCF children). I wrote Rachna in March 2014 and we both began the countdown until October when we would meet.

There are moments in life that you feel like you are walking in slow motion and you know you are memorizing every sound and sight. I felt like that when Rachna stood up to greet me for the first time. I thought my heart would burst. She also brought a friend and a translator from CCF.
The four of us went shopping as previously planned (what fun!!!! we laughed and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the young people as they made their choices at the market). We later had lunch together and made plans to see each other at the school the following day.

The translator took me to two schools, the clinic and nursery. The students were engaged in their studies. I saw happy, healthy, courteous children. I looked at some of their notes: neat writing (that's the teacher in me). I spoke to a class of about 15 teenage students. I was surprised by their ease of speaking English. They learn Khmer, French and English. How many American public schools can boast two required languages? Almost none. The schools were modest and orderly. The children give direct eye contact and there is a quick smile on their faces. If you know anything about students, that speaks volumes.

There are almost 2000 students who attend school through CCF and 10,000 thru their outreach program. Through the vision of Scott Neeson who visited Cambodia in 2003 and began the school in 2004, this is an organization that works! There are no Fat Cats living off donations and going to fancy retreats. This is the real deal. I feel thankful that I have been able to play a small part in keeping this organization alive.

CCF does so much for so many people. They NEED more help. No one asked me to write that statement. Do you need that pedicure, another outfit or that fancy bottle of wine? If you cannot commit to being a sponsor, send the money to CCF. Your donation DOES matter. It feeds and educates children. It gives them a meaningful future. You'll never regret it. Take it from old woman who went half way round the world by herself, who looked into those young intelligent eyes.

Patricia S Gross,
RN, BSN, Masters of Education






December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

I first came to know about this wonderful organization through an article in reader's digest. I immediately decided to contact them and become a Sponsor. This was an act which I have never regretted. I was very fortunate that I ended having the honour and privilege to Sponsor Meth Chan Mouy 5 years ago. Her emails to me have brighten up my day and whenever I meet her in Cambodia, she brings much joy to my heart.

I can see that this organization does great work and my sponsored child has really benefited through the years and it heartens me to see her blossom into a young lady and improve her self through her schooling and experiences with Cambodian Children's Fund.

Christopher Bridges
Singapore

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

Cambodian Childern's Fund is a wonderful organisation which makes a hiuge difference to the lives of thousands of Children and their families, with all resources going directly to those who need them. I visited our sponsored child some months ago, and it was heartwarming to spend time with her and to see how much CCF has enriched her life. We keep in regular contact with her via email, and it is exciting to see how she is developing , and using the opportunies she is given. Her future is certainly a bright one, thanks to CCF.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have recently been to Phnom Penh to visit my 2 sponsored children.... I took tissues thinking I would need them, the only tears I shed were tears of joy. The CCF children and the children in the CCF community are the happiest children I have seen.
They have so little material things, but
have so much in the way of love thanks to Scott and all the staff.
CCF has provided so much not only for the children but the whole community. The health care, the community centre, fresh water, the English classes, the cups of milk and meals for the kids off the streets...really what don't CCF do!
We are so privileged in the Western World, we have running water, electricity, flush toilets and our children want for nothing.
I drive a BMW X3, I wish I didn't and when I trade this car in, I will not be getting a prestige car... I will buying a car for half the price and giving the balance between a BMW and Subaru to CCF!
Scott, you are one out of the box!
ps I have just sponsored my 3rd child and have promised my other children I will be at their graduations!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit the Cambodian Children's Fund last month (September 2014) and meet my sponsored child. It was clear that CCF has done and continues to do incredible things for the children of a country where people exude so much joy and spirit despite their hard lives.

While spending the day with my sponsored child was the highlight of my trip, it was wonderful to visit the facilities in Phnom Penh and witness first hand the transformative work that is being done. The trip solidified my commitment to CCF and I would encourage anyone to get involved in any capacity that they can.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

My husband and I sponsor a CCF child and through CCF translators we can keep in regular contact. It is great to get to know the child and hear the education, activities and opportunities which CCF provide. We were fortunate enough to visit Phnom Penh earlier in the year and were delighted to see a range of initiatives which provide support, jobs and even housing for families of CCF children.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I first read an article about CCF in our Sunday newspaper. My son then volunteered with them for six months and came back to Scotland with nothing but praise for the way this NGO was run. As a family we sponsor a child now and the wonders of email mean that we are in regular touch with him personally and the charity in general. We visited in 2012 and were overawed by the scale of work done and the dedication of the staff. In a country with so much corruption CCF is an oasis of hope.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

We sponsor a child at CCF and have nothing but praise for what they are doing and the way they go about it. We are in regular contact with 'our boy' via email and hope we are helping with his language development and general encouragement around schoolwork and sport. We also visited CCF ourselves during a recent visit to Cambodia and could see for ourselves the way the charity was run. They deserve full credit for their work, which seems to be expanding all the time.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I have just had the privilege of visiting CCF for the second time. I organise an overseas study tour each year for students each year which has, as an integral part, a community project component. For the past 2 years CCF has been one of our groups that we support - through sponsorship and other activities. The tour group spends time with CCF students and accompanies them on a tour of the various facilities. This day is always a highlight for the students and almost all of them say it changes their lives and gives them the incentive to continue supporting such organisations as they enter post school life. For me personally, it restores my faith in humanity and I am in absolute awe of the work Scott and the CCF team do, but more importantly I am in awe of the students themselves. Their resilience and dignity is astonishing.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers