Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
131 Reviews
1234.992375
Write A Review
December 8, 2014

more

December 8, 2014

I first heard about the Cambodian Children's Fund after a spontaneous visit to Cambodia. I had seen the poverty first hand and was thinking through ways I could make some difference there, having decided to return as soon as I was able.

That was in October 2011.
I am now the
Vice-Projects Coordinator/Operations Director for another organisation working within Cambodia, and it has been my great honour to have been able to work alongside Scott and his fantastic team at CCF. Their work is of the highest ethical and professional standard, and whilst we have, many of us, become somewhat cynical towards NGO's over the years, it can only be said that they, CCF, are worthy of all the accolades given them. Their work is invaluable. So many desperate lives have been changed in the most positive and enduring ways. It is almost inconveivable that the vision and determination of one man to do good could have survived let alone flourish in the face of such odds against success. Hats off to you guys. I'm proud to know you and to able to lend a hand in some small way to your incredible works.
June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

Monde par la main/ Give a Hand Canada had the opportunity in the past to work in partnership with CCF for sponsoring the construction of a satelitte school in one of the communities. Our general experience with CCF was just great! We certainly value all the work that Scott and his team does for these children and their families in Phnom Penh. The world needs more initiative and passion to help others.
Thanks again Scott and team, let's hope we join forces again in the near future.
Sincerely
Daniel Lalande
Pres. Monde par la main/ Give a Hand
Canada

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I visited the Cambodian Children’s Fund in Februay 2014, and came away feeling very impressed with the organization, and the tremendous work they have done to help lift the kids and family from poverty, provide health care, education, and offer wider community service projects.

I visited
different CCF facilities, including schools and child care centers, a garment center, community centers, as well as taken a village walk with founder Scott Neeson.

I am most impressed with the dedicated staff: in every facilities I went to, the teachers were focused and overseeing a variety of activities with the children in each lesson, making learning fun. Mail translating rooms were busy with kids and mail translators working together to keep in touch with the children’s respective sponsors, the kids were most enthusiastic, always with a great smile; kitchen staff, office staff, were all working hard to care for the children in each facility.

In some of the facilities, I was shown around by volunteering children who proudly presented the center to me, telling me how grateful they are to have the opportunity to be under CCF care, how “Papa Scott” transformed their lives from living in a garbage dump a few years ago, to right now striving to do well in school so that they can themselves help more children in the future.

In all the facilities, I could see that CCF has a wonderful leadership program for the youth, the older children learn practical ways to care for the younger ones, from an early age they learn to give back. Leadership can be as simple as older children taking care of younger children in learning, in helping with showers and grooming… in short, everyone happily helps everyone else who is in need.

I was also fortunate enough to have the opportunity of visiting a community center with founder Scott Neeson. Scott’s love and care to the children is clearly genuine and deep. Remarkably, he knows all the children by name, every child runs to him calling him “Papa Scott”, the little ones jumps onto him, they are very happy to see him around. In some cases when the kids have had specific issues, Scott always shows concerns about the issues and the kids, and always makes sure the issues are dealt with.

The village walk was most touching. Scott had the community center built next to a largely overlooked part of the town, so that local children in that area get the opportunity go to school in the center, and clean water is available for the villagers. To encourage school attendence by village kids, an incentive of free bread to take home at the end of the lessons is in place, kids who do well in school are presented with a certificate as well as bags of rice for the families.

New facilities are constantly built in and around where people, particularly children, need. I saw a new sports center under construction, and learned that new satellite schools are being planned and built.

CCF continually develops and finds ways to extend its reach, I came away feeling that CCF is very efficiently run, doing immense good where it is most needed, and I feel CCF deserves to be high on the list of everybody’s philanthropic causes.
April 29, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

After working with another NGO in Phnom Penh over the past two years, I came across CCF quite by accident. My area is in education (curriculum, ICT, ESL and teacher-training) but my real interest is in finding out how to make a difference in Cambodia. In every regard I saw people doing just this - making a difference: older students who embraced leadership for their younger peers; teaching staff impassioned with their opportunity to help under-served children; exceedingly over-qualified ex-pats working for CCF and who exude vitality and a visible joy. With all these (and numerous others) doing such good work, what really impressed me is the organic way CCF has grown: as a need is discovered, new programs are created. I have to think that Scott Neeson's corporate background is partly responsible for the effective way CCF has grown. If you are interested in making a difference, find some way contribute to CCF. The most obvious is as a sponsor. I have been a sponsor for over 30 years with another NGO and it amazed me how simple and effective CCF's routines are for connecting sponsors with their children - email, easy visits and ongoing support for the life of the child through to university education. I left my short visit at CCF appreciating how heart-warming it was to see real good being achieved in the world. Well done to all who have given over a decade of commitment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have just returned from visiting CCF. The organization which Scott Nesson has built is nothing short of a miraculous. The compassion and dedication of the staff and volunteers I met is at the highest standards of any non-profit I have seen.

CCF is an organization which is making real
and lasting changes to the future of the Cambodia. They are feeding, clothing, teaching, providing shelter and mentoring the future leaders and influencers of Cambodia.

Any opportunity you have to be associated with this wonderful group is a gift to the giver more one can put into words.

CCF is an amazing investment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 30, 2013

I visited CCF in August 2013. I am a former child protection worker in Australia and a current sponsor for a family through CCF. While the Facebook posts from CCF and Scott provide a snapshot of the w... more

October 3, 2014

I had the great joy of visiting Cambodian Children's Fund for the second time in September this year. I was taken on a tour of a number of the facilities. Having worked in the social work field for 10 years + myself, I have the greatest admiration for what CCF continues to achieve. CCF has grown over time to meet the complex needs of the community it serves. It meets basic needs such as daily nutrition and medical care but its long term focus is on educating the children so that they are the leaders of tomorrow. A truly noble pursuit. You have no doubt when you have visited that the children and families are in great hands with CCF. My sincere thanks to Scott and his team for all that they do! Tess Q
August 30, 2013

I visited CCF in August 2013. I am a former child protection worker in Australia and a current sponsor for a family through CCF. While the Facebook posts from CCF and Scott provide a snapshot of the wonderful work they do, a visit allowed me to see the grand scale of the work. I met wonderful CCF staff who were incredibly kind and generous with their time. I was also privileged to have some of the older children take me on a tour of one of the facilities and explain the impact CCF has had on their lives. The CCF facilities are absolutely joyous places, difficult to describe other than that you are surrounded by hundreds of smiling faces and you leave with no doubt whatsoever that the kids are loved, they know it and they are in a very good place. I was always impressed with CCF but after my visit its hard not to sound too much like a zealot as it was just such a wonderful experience. Thank you to everyone at CCF and keep up your wonderful work! Tess

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing. CCF knows exactly what it's doing and is constantly responding to the needs of the children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

As a journalist I have covered NGOs all over the world. CCF is by far the most efficient, well-run organization I have ever come across. I have visited CCF at least 5 times over a period of five years, watched it grow dramatically, and been amazed at the quality and multitude of services it provides, healthcare, education and more. And I have seen the positive differences it has made in the lives of so many people. I was so impressed with CCF that I became a donor, something I have never done before. My hope is that other NGOs learn from CCF's model.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

best place ever

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers