Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

My husband and I just returned from two months of volunteering at CCF. We were English teachers for children ranging in age from three to sixteen. The days were long and warm, the classrooms stark, and since we were there in the winter there was plenty of dust. These small challenges were more than compensated by the enthusiasm of the children to learn and the teachers, who we assisted, to teach. It was a wonderful experience and one that we highly recommend. We came away feeling as if we had received more than we had given.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

It's very inspiring to see the education taking place at CCF to get the children an opportunity to stand out and give them unique skills instead of just maths and english.

I had a tremendous experience here. I'm amazed at the effectiveness of some of CCF's programs to protect children and
seek justice against criminals that otherwise get away with some terrible things in this country. I hope that continues to grow in its positive impact.

The children I got to help teach video editing to were super fast learners and really keen to dive into new technology.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put resources in permaculture. Teach children to garden organically and get fresh food on their plates with high nutritional value that can aid their wellbeing and mental developement, and show them they have everything they need to to transcend some of their greatest challenges. Aiming to put designated community gardens and rain water collection in areas like steung meanchey could transform it. http://www.ted.com/talks/ron_finley_a_guerilla_gardener_in_south_central_la.html

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

I have also visited Cambodian Children's Fund facilities on several occasions, met with staff and our sponsored children. It is an uplifting experience. They are working for a future for the children, not merely meeting their short term needs. That means that they also support the community in which these children live now and will become important members in the future.
CCF changes lives for the better not only of those people it directly supports but countless more who are and will be downstream from them. It deserves support!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

I have now had the opportunity to visit CCF twice in the past few years, and each time it seems more beautiful and inspiring. The children there truly lift your soul. They have created such a safe haven for these Cambodian children, you can feel the "light" that resides there in all of CCF centers. My 12 year old son and I were able to visit the sweet little girl we have sponsored for the past year, and it was pure joy. She is so adorable and it was so fun to get to know her and her friends a little better. The programs at CCF are incredible and I know they are changing each of these children's life for the better. Thank you for letting me be a part of something so amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2013

I had the opportunity to do some volunteer work for CCF in Phnom Penh this past year and experience first-hand what Scott and his team are doing. It was a truly amazing experience that left a huge impression on me. CCF provides a wide range of services for an incredibly poor and disenfranchised community of people. The level of poverty was like nothing I've seen before and I've traveled in developing countries before. CCF is transforming an entire community and helping them lift themselves out of poverty by addressing the major problems that these people face including schooling for children, health care, vocational training, substance abuse and domestic violence. None of this would be possible without CCF. And their effectiveness is stunning. The children, many of whom were abandoned, are transformed into happy, healthy kids and young adults who are role models. They have skills that enable them to find jobs and break the cycle of poverty. The parents learn skills that enable them to earn a living, provide for their families while addressing some of the major underlying problems in their lives such as debt, substance abuse, domestic violence.

I have the greatest respect for Scott and all the people I met at CCF. Their selflessness is inspiring. I would encourage anyone who is trying to make a difference in the world to support CCF in any way they can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful


As I cycle up to the front of school campus, I see three students about 8 years old peering through the gate and watching Steung Meanchey come to life. Their faces beam with excitement when they recognise that the black bike is the daily arrival of their volunteer teacher, and their arms are
already open and welcoming before I make it to the security gate.

Welcome to CCF. The modest sign above the school gate reads ‘Cambodian Children’s Fund’, giving no indication of the heavenly happy and appreciated home and school to many of Cambodia’s children who, prior to CCF, found their way in life by scrounging on the rubbish tip. Given the (almost) unimaginable chance of Scott (Neeson), they swapped their days searching for recyclable rubbish to come to school: to receive an education with the mission to push themselves and their families from the undeserved daily burden of survival to the pillar of self-sufficiency.

This isn’t a place of sympathy, and only a very mild dose of empathy is required. The kids have no time and no desire to wallow in the harshness of life: they have dreams to fulfil, skills to perfect, and a world to conquer. As I teach the daily English lessons, I’m followed around the classroom with 28 eyes hungry for knowledge, 14 determined students who don’t rest until they feel they got it right. But kids will be kids, and just as soon as they lose their timidness of the new volunteer, the jokes abound. I quickly learn that this is a place of humour, of love, of respect for education and what it can bring.

A toddles cries in the corridor, and I suddenly lose two students momentarily who go to console the child of a staff member. At lunch I witness the older ones give extra helpings to the youngest. And as I leave the lunch table, a very confident teenager slides past me and gently reminds me that I promised a lolly to the newest student on campus. She strikes a deal: my failure to respect this tomorrow will result in the need to bring her one too ! She walks away giggling, and I note the point that I must hit the supermarket tonight. But I am impressed that she struck the deal in perfect English.

With a brief moment’s rest before afternoon lessons, I sit to read Cambodia Daily to catch up with the events in the country. Within seconds I’m sandwiched by 8 students who want to learn the English words on the front page. I give them 6 new words and their definitions, but they look at me as if I just ate chocolate in front of them without sharing. So I provide a few example sentences and correct their pronunciation at least half a dozen times. Having satisfied themselves that they have committed it to memory and understand, they kindly ask to use my laptop to learn the words to the new Justin Bieber pop song. I turn the laptop on, open the newspaper, and at the same time, receive the smallest tap on my left shoulder. ‘Hello’ says a timid but gorgeous looking boy.

After afternoon lessons, I pack my belongings and realise that I’m missing one bag. I look two steps ahead and see that one of the students has already lugged it down one flight of stairs homeward bound. I descend to fetch my bike, and commence the evening ritual. At least 7 students stand by to wish me a good evening, 9 students hang on to the back of my bicycle and ask me to stay for dinner, the youngest dances through the courtyard with a big smile on her face, and security yet again patiently wait the 15 minutes it takes me to get out the gate with all this fuss. I wave a feeble wave as I concentrate on entering Phnom Penh traffic on a vulnerable bicycle and the risk of monsoon rain.

Volunteering used to be about everything we can give someone else, but I cycle home with that weird feeling that these kids have just given me 10 times more than I’ll ever be able to give back. You’ll just never meet another group of more welcoming, more grateful and more humble kids than the ones that CCF breed. Obviously it’s not without effort, and every little bit helps, in whichever way you can give to the kids at CCF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012

I have been fortunate to be a sponsor and volunteer with CCF since the early days. Scott Neeson's managerial talents, foresight and caring, have created a platform that is helping the people of Phnom Phen build a sustainable life that is breaking the shackles of poor health, malnutrition, poverty, domestic violence and hopelessness. What makes CCF unique is that the creation of a positive feedback loop in the communities it serves. Rather than just provide free food or medical care, CCF manages to identify the root source of the problems in the community, and build a method for the people in that community to learn how to take care of themselves. I remember when CCF first started, and the leadership team - then as now, nearly 100% Khmer - started taking a census of the community. This analytical approach to identify the core issues - beyond the obvious life-threatening challenges - that were causing the breakdown in the social structure, had not been done before in Cambodia. From there, CCF started mapping out the architecture for social programs. legal strategy, fund-raising strategy and execution plan that would transform a truly awful situation, into a community that could survive, and even thrive. While it's wonderful to sponsor children at CCF - and I have been sponsoring two - the beautiful and amazing Srey Lin and Khum Ratha for nearly 7 years now - it is the infrastructure of social programs and excellent management that makes CCF the success it is. For many people who get introduced to CCF, sometimes they get a little confused - there seem to be so many programs going on at once. It's the inter-connect "projects" that seems to be the reason why CCF works. How else can building a bakery, a child day care, and the first "Country Club" in the dumps of Phnom Phen - seemingly unrelated activities - transform a community from hopelessness to hopeful, create job growth, deliver and enforce properly use mosquito netting, medical services, transportation, food and education while providing sustainable nutrition, drastically reducing domestic abuse, and infant mortality. CCF, and Scott Neeson, is a model of how people in absolutely hopelessness and elevate themselves into a sustainable, positive life, when people with pure intention, and strong managerial and analytical skills, and caring donors, work together. Being involved with CCF is the one thing that I am most proud of in my life. Seeing my two girls go from living in the trash dump, to preparing for university and supporting their families, has been amazing. Involvement with CCF has transformed me as a person and it has been wonderful to see what Scott's vision, and the people of Phnom Phen, have accomplished in such a relatively short time. CCF is a case study in how to build and operate a highly effective charity, the by-product of which has been the complete transformation of a shattered society into a caring and sustainable community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers