Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
February 6, 2013

I visited CCF in January 2013 with my 4 year old daughter, for the Hong Kong charity Box of Hope which encourages schoolchildren in Hong Kong to donate gift boxes at Christmas time to children's organisations all over Asia.

CCF is an extraordinary charity which quite takes your breath
away just as soon as you set foot inside. Children who have spent their early years in extreme poverty, lacking food, medical care and any kind of education are given the chance of a lifetime... to learn, to grow and to succeed. The founder of CCF, Scott Neeson, personally scouts around the rubbish tips and slum areas of Phnom Penh every night to discover children in the worst state imaginable, and gives them hope, love, and the chance of a future. If you ever have the fortune to meet Scott, he will touch your heart. It is quite extraordinary what one human being can do to change the paths of so many.

I took some photos from our visit, which I made into a little video for my daughter's Show and Tell at school. Here it is: http://youtu.be/V92iVtY6J3I

I cannot praise CCF enough for the incredible work they do to change children's lives, and I very much hope to visit again one day soon.

Nicky



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been looking for a charity I could support for some time. I wanted to make sure my funds went to an area with genuine need and to an organistion that was really making a long term difference. I have just returned from Cambodia and a visit to CCF. Words cannot describe what an amazing impact CCF is having on the community. Ever dollar you can donate makes a real difference. Operational costs are low and the people most in need have their lives tranformed by the funds you donate. Cambodia is a country where the world turned a blind eye whilst is was destoryed and CCF is playing a significant role in helping some of the most poverty stricken and desperate people have a better future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I visited CCF in Phnom Penh on behalf of Box of Hope Limited in January 2013, we were delivering gift boxes donated by HK children full of useful/educational items. I thought it was one of the most professional, well run charities I had had the pleasure of working with. The staff were friendly and open, the facilitates amazing and the children incredibly happy. It was wonderful to see the change that CCF makes in their lives. From the scared, wary children who arrive desperately in need, to the confident, eloquent teenagers they become after a few years of care and attention. CCF is giving a wonderful opportunity to these children enabling them to have hopes, dreams and skills for a better future. We are proud to be able to work with in anyway that we can. Nicole

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to visit CCF in Phnom Penh as part of my gap year travels in 2012. On my arrival at CCF I was struck by the incredible facilities that were available to the children in an otherwise completely impoverished area. I was lucky enough to be given a tour by one of the girls, Makara, who was about 13 years old. She showed me with pride (and in very good English!) what CCF has given children like her - from the fantastic computer room, to the outdoor play set. All the children were so friendly and their enthusiasm when talking about what CCF had done for them was infectious. I very much hope to return and volunteer in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Paying a personal visit to the Cambodian Children's Fund in Phnom Penh in October 2012 completely affirmed my trust in this charity so much so that the next day I delivered 1500 tablets of children's multi-vitamens and two hundred and fifty dollars cash in an envelope to the security guard at the front gate, without hesitation or question, anonymously. I know this sounds weird, but I just trust that my little package made it to the right hands because everyone I encountered the first visit left a very positive first impression. Don't follow me, though. I will never see a tax receipt. Great charity. Wish I had more to give.



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2013

I had the opportunity to do some volunteer work for CCF in Phnom Penh this past year and experience first-hand what Scott and his team are doing. It was a truly amazing experience that left a huge impression on me. CCF provides a wide range of services for an incredibly poor and disenfranchised community of people. The level of poverty was like nothing I've seen before and I've traveled in developing countries before. CCF is transforming an entire community and helping them lift themselves out of poverty by addressing the major problems that these people face including schooling for children, health care, vocational training, substance abuse and domestic violence. None of this would be possible without CCF. And their effectiveness is stunning. The children, many of whom were abandoned, are transformed into happy, healthy kids and young adults who are role models. They have skills that enable them to find jobs and break the cycle of poverty. The parents learn skills that enable them to earn a living, provide for their families while addressing some of the major underlying problems in their lives such as debt, substance abuse, domestic violence.

I have the greatest respect for Scott and all the people I met at CCF. Their selflessness is inspiring. I would encourage anyone who is trying to make a difference in the world to support CCF in any way they can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2013

I have actually been to Phnom Penh and seen first hand the work of CCF. It is nothing short of amazing to walk around the various facilities and see the hundreds of kids, and to see what has been accomplished and what happens there on a daily basis.
Steung Meachey where CCF is located is one of
the poorest areas I have ever seen and yet within CCF all the kids are well nourished and healthy and being cared for by Scott Neeson and his large and dedicated staff.
What is striking were you to walk around the area is that within CCF there is joy and health and it is surrounded by the complete opposite. Steung Meanchey was an area where the trash would be dumped daily and then sorted by the kids for recycled value and while the city dump has been finally relocated the areas problems remain as would be expected especially given the history of the country. Within that environment Scott has established criteria for the safety of hundreds of children and by providing the families of the kids small amounts of rice and produce he has a buy in on a local level from parents and locals alike.
If care and education wasn't enough there is also a clinic and maternity ward at CCF which serves the community at large. Where the authorities have failed CCF has succeeded and some 1300 plus kids are cared for, educated and fed in safety and away from danger whether in their own homes or elsewhere.
This is hands on help. Every dime given to CCF goes to CCF and not to expensive fundraising. Of all the charities I have ever supported this generates the greatest results on an individual child by child basis.
I sponsor two children there and the impact has been huge. I regularly hear from them and at Xmas managed a conversation with them via Skype which was organized as usual bt Scott. Additionally, i support other programs within CCF and regard these as having the highest possible ROI possible. Scott Neeson is there and his common sense hands on approach is something quite astounding to see.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful


As I cycle up to the front of school campus, I see three students about 8 years old peering through the gate and watching Steung Meanchey come to life. Their faces beam with excitement when they recognise that the black bike is the daily arrival of their volunteer teacher, and their arms are
already open and welcoming before I make it to the security gate.

Welcome to CCF. The modest sign above the school gate reads ‘Cambodian Children’s Fund’, giving no indication of the heavenly happy and appreciated home and school to many of Cambodia’s children who, prior to CCF, found their way in life by scrounging on the rubbish tip. Given the (almost) unimaginable chance of Scott (Neeson), they swapped their days searching for recyclable rubbish to come to school: to receive an education with the mission to push themselves and their families from the undeserved daily burden of survival to the pillar of self-sufficiency.

This isn’t a place of sympathy, and only a very mild dose of empathy is required. The kids have no time and no desire to wallow in the harshness of life: they have dreams to fulfil, skills to perfect, and a world to conquer. As I teach the daily English lessons, I’m followed around the classroom with 28 eyes hungry for knowledge, 14 determined students who don’t rest until they feel they got it right. But kids will be kids, and just as soon as they lose their timidness of the new volunteer, the jokes abound. I quickly learn that this is a place of humour, of love, of respect for education and what it can bring.

A toddles cries in the corridor, and I suddenly lose two students momentarily who go to console the child of a staff member. At lunch I witness the older ones give extra helpings to the youngest. And as I leave the lunch table, a very confident teenager slides past me and gently reminds me that I promised a lolly to the newest student on campus. She strikes a deal: my failure to respect this tomorrow will result in the need to bring her one too ! She walks away giggling, and I note the point that I must hit the supermarket tonight. But I am impressed that she struck the deal in perfect English.

With a brief moment’s rest before afternoon lessons, I sit to read Cambodia Daily to catch up with the events in the country. Within seconds I’m sandwiched by 8 students who want to learn the English words on the front page. I give them 6 new words and their definitions, but they look at me as if I just ate chocolate in front of them without sharing. So I provide a few example sentences and correct their pronunciation at least half a dozen times. Having satisfied themselves that they have committed it to memory and understand, they kindly ask to use my laptop to learn the words to the new Justin Bieber pop song. I turn the laptop on, open the newspaper, and at the same time, receive the smallest tap on my left shoulder. ‘Hello’ says a timid but gorgeous looking boy.

After afternoon lessons, I pack my belongings and realise that I’m missing one bag. I look two steps ahead and see that one of the students has already lugged it down one flight of stairs homeward bound. I descend to fetch my bike, and commence the evening ritual. At least 7 students stand by to wish me a good evening, 9 students hang on to the back of my bicycle and ask me to stay for dinner, the youngest dances through the courtyard with a big smile on her face, and security yet again patiently wait the 15 minutes it takes me to get out the gate with all this fuss. I wave a feeble wave as I concentrate on entering Phnom Penh traffic on a vulnerable bicycle and the risk of monsoon rain.

Volunteering used to be about everything we can give someone else, but I cycle home with that weird feeling that these kids have just given me 10 times more than I’ll ever be able to give back. You’ll just never meet another group of more welcoming, more grateful and more humble kids than the ones that CCF breed. Obviously it’s not without effort, and every little bit helps, in whichever way you can give to the kids at CCF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After sponsoring a child for a year, I was fortunate enough to be able to go on holiday to Cambodia. As part of this trip I visited the CCF facilities in Phnom Penh. Wow. I knew CCF did great work, but I didn't realize quite how much they were doing, how big an effect this was having, and how large a scale they were now working. The children were so happy and clearly now developing to become happy and productive members of society. But CCF was doing much more than this. It isn't just a intervention to help individual children - although of course it does this - it is also helping the communities they come from to create lasting change and not just try and treat the symptom. I spent the morning with the child I sponsor and his brother (who I now also sponsor - beware of visiting as you will end up being unable not to sponsor more!) the CCF staff were brilliant in setting up such a memorable and emotional trip. The two children I sponsor clearly love their new life and seeing them develop, and CCFs central role in this, was incredibly moving. Cambodia has suffered, and continues to suffer. CCF is one of the most effective charities I have seen anywhere in the world at making a genuine difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What Scott Neeson and his dedicated team are doing every day is nothing short of astounding. The severity of poverty that affects his students and their families is absolutely desperate, and it is hard to imagine a scenario in which these kids would have any hope for health, education, and happiness without CCF. By becoming a part of the fabric of the community it supports CCF has shown remarkable success rates amongst its students on various metric lines. The CCF model could very well be the best-yet solution to attacking the most severe poverty-stricken regions on the planet.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers