Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
136 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a 65 year old divorced woman and as a mother, and a former psychiatric nurse and middle school science teacher, I believe almost nothing at first glance. When I saw the documentary regarding Cambodian Children's Fund, I paused and then decided to investigate the organization. I studied the financials and read every article written about CCF. I was impressed: most of the money goes to the children. Initially, I was going to give a one time small donation because I have limited means. When I saw the faces of the numerous children who needed a sponsor, I knew I could tighten my belt and make it work. One of the qualities of this organization that I like best is the emphasis on the children. If I could not write to my sponsor child on a regular basis, then they discouraged sponsorship. Children need consistency, no matter where or whatever their station in life. I made a silent commitment to Rachna, my sponsor child, and to myself: I would not let her down. Little did I know where that path would lead me.

Rachna and I have been writing by email to one another for over two years. Since I am a teacher, I have given her small assignments and she has given me assignments as well. One assignment was for me to learn about Angkor Wat, a World Heritage in Cambodia. She wanted me to learn about different Cambodia holidays and I did. She told me about school and her love for dancing. I told her about my dogs. Her emails became the light in my day. I felt such pride!!!

It occurred to me last January that I was not getting any younger and if I was going to meet Rachna, I'd better start making plans. I would be traveling alone half way around the world. I contacted CCF for guidance and then made my travel arrangements. I found a small boutique hotel in Phnom Penh (I later found out the owner sponsors two CCF children). I wrote Rachna in March 2014 and we both began the countdown until October when we would meet.

There are moments in life that you feel like you are walking in slow motion and you know you are memorizing every sound and sight. I felt like that when Rachna stood up to greet me for the first time. I thought my heart would burst. She also brought a friend and a translator from CCF.
The four of us went shopping as previously planned (what fun!!!! we laughed and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the young people as they made their choices at the market). We later had lunch together and made plans to see each other at the school the following day.

The translator took me to two schools, the clinic and nursery. The students were engaged in their studies. I saw happy, healthy, courteous children. I looked at some of their notes: neat writing (that's the teacher in me). I spoke to a class of about 15 teenage students. I was surprised by their ease of speaking English. They learn Khmer, French and English. How many American public schools can boast two required languages? Almost none. The schools were modest and orderly. The children give direct eye contact and there is a quick smile on their faces. If you know anything about students, that speaks volumes.

There are almost 2000 students who attend school through CCF and 10,000 thru their outreach program. Through the vision of Scott Neeson who visited Cambodia in 2003 and began the school in 2004, this is an organization that works! There are no Fat Cats living off donations and going to fancy retreats. This is the real deal. I feel thankful that I have been able to play a small part in keeping this organization alive.

CCF does so much for so many people. They NEED more help. No one asked me to write that statement. Do you need that pedicure, another outfit or that fancy bottle of wine? If you cannot commit to being a sponsor, send the money to CCF. Your donation DOES matter. It feeds and educates children. It gives them a meaningful future. You'll never regret it. Take it from old woman who went half way round the world by herself, who looked into those young intelligent eyes.

Patricia S Gross,
RN, BSN, Masters of Education






December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

I first came to know about this wonderful organization through an article in reader's digest. I immediately decided to contact them and become a Sponsor. This was an act which I have never regretted. I was very fortunate that I ended having the honour and privilege to Sponsor Meth Chan Mouy 5 years ago. Her emails to me have brighten up my day and whenever I meet her in Cambodia, she brings much joy to my heart.

I can see that this organization does great work and my sponsored child has really benefited through the years and it heartens me to see her blossom into a young lady and improve her self through her schooling and experiences with Cambodian Children's Fund.

Christopher Bridges
Singapore

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

Cambodian Childern's Fund is a wonderful organisation which makes a hiuge difference to the lives of thousands of Children and their families, with all resources going directly to those who need them. I visited our sponsored child some months ago, and it was heartwarming to spend time with her and to see how much CCF has enriched her life. We keep in regular contact with her via email, and it is exciting to see how she is developing , and using the opportunies she is given. Her future is certainly a bright one, thanks to CCF.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Cambodian Children's Fund is an amazing organisation on every level. The CEO Scott Neeson and, Country Manager and all others who work in a paid or voluntary capacity truly 'work from the heart'. The generosity of spirit, the commitment to the children, families and the community and the highly ethical way of doing things cannot fail to leave one in awe. I had the enormous privilege of working with CCF for a year and the experience was life-changing. I have the greatest of respect for all CCF staff and intend to go back as the experience of working with such an impressive team is incredible. The way the children are respected, supported and nurtured in every way results in real changes in their lives and really enables them to have a realistic vision of themselves as tomorrow's leaders. The joy I experienced when celebrating with the children at the monthly 'community party night' was just priceless . Scott and the leadership team are highly accountable and very conscious of the need to use donor funds efficiently to get real outcomes for the children - it is a very well managed organisation where there is constant striving to improve and build on the great systems in place. Once you experience it, remains as an important part of your life forever.
November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

CCF is a wholistic NFP organisation which blows me away. Every day I follow their news on Facebook and am always in awe of the achievements of everyone involved. Love the grandparent program that is so lovingly implemented through the young Cambodian leaders. Culture awareness, care giving, medical care, tools and food to negate the less desirable aspects of Cambodia - so well set up and managed. Love that the 'at risk' families and/or children are given the opportunity to grow and give back to their culture. Love that CCF is striving to be sustainable financially and emotionally. So much happiness in Camodia. I just love all those smiling faces, young and old.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have recently been to Phnom Penh to visit my 2 sponsored children.... I took tissues thinking I would need them, the only tears I shed were tears of joy. The CCF children and the children in the CCF community are the happiest children I have seen.
They have so little material things, but
have so much in the way of love thanks to Scott and all the staff.
CCF has provided so much not only for the children but the whole community. The health care, the community centre, fresh water, the English classes, the cups of milk and meals for the kids off the streets...really what don't CCF do!
We are so privileged in the Western World, we have running water, electricity, flush toilets and our children want for nothing.
I drive a BMW X3, I wish I didn't and when I trade this car in, I will not be getting a prestige car... I will buying a car for half the price and giving the balance between a BMW and Subaru to CCF!
Scott, you are one out of the box!
ps I have just sponsored my 3rd child and have promised my other children I will be at their graduations!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I have been involved with the Cambodian Children's Fund for close to five years, initially as a donor and sponsor of two children, and later as a volunteer as well. I first became a donor because, from my research, I felt CCF did not waste its funds, but used its resources to directly impact children's lives through education, food programs and outreach to the families in the community as a whole. But I wanted to know more and see for myself - so I went to Phnom Penh to witness every aspect of the operation, visiting the classrooms, medical facility, residences and the children's families in the community. I then became involved in volunteer work, which has taken me back to CCF many times over the past two years. I feel I have gotten to know the staff and operations well and can definitely say that this is truly a hands-on organization where no resources are wasted, and each child is treated as an individual who deserves to be given every opportunity possible to effectively take charge of his or her life. The kids are so eager for a chance at education and to see them growing year after year into eductated, motivated young adults makes it undeniably clear that CCF is achieving its goals.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit the Cambodian Children's Fund last month (September 2014) and meet my sponsored child. It was clear that CCF has done and continues to do incredible things for the children of a country where people exude so much joy and spirit despite their hard lives.

While spending the day with my sponsored child was the highlight of my trip, it was wonderful to visit the facilities in Phnom Penh and witness first hand the transformative work that is being done. The trip solidified my commitment to CCF and I would encourage anyone to get involved in any capacity that they can.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

My husband and I sponsor a CCF child and through CCF translators we can keep in regular contact. It is great to get to know the child and hear the education, activities and opportunities which CCF provide. We were fortunate enough to visit Phnom Penh earlier in the year and were delighted to see a range of initiatives which provide support, jobs and even housing for families of CCF children.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Working with CCF was one of the most significant experiences of my life. I hope to get back there in some capacity in the future. They are a pivotal organization in the region and it is imperative that they be a lasting resource for the community they serve. All who work there should be so proud of the work they do with these amazing resiliant young people. Keep up your great work!!!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers