Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
131 Reviews
1234.992375
Write A Review
December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsors of a young girl at the Cambodian Children's' Fund for the past 8 years and visited her and the school 4 years ago. It is an amazing organization that changes the lives of every child involved, along with their families. We receive frequent email updates and photos from our sponsored child as well as from the school which reports on her academic progress. Sponsoring and visiting this young girl has been truly one of the most satisfying and worthwhile experiences we have had working with a nonprofit organization. I highly recommend considering sponsorship.
December 14, 2014

more

December 14, 2014

I recently visited the CCF with my twin 10-year old girls. I was looking to expand their world perspective, try to show them the extreme and varying levels of social and economic living conditions outside of our very comfortable suburban life in the United States. The result is hard to put in words as the CCF is a forever life-changing experience. We came away with empathy, hope and the realization that we can make a difference! We sponsor a child now, will do school projects based on raising funds to help sponsor the CCF and will spread the word on this wonderful organization in Cambodia that is changing the future of a nation! Scott Neeson has been and inspiration to us all!
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

I recently travelled to cambodia to teach PE with ACPE (Australian College of Physical Education). I believe that this organisation succeeds in their mission to assist children and provide them with education , food and clothing in hopes that they will be the change in the future generation of Cambodia. Where suffering, inequality are seen throughout the country it is good to see these children given a chance at life. My 3rd year teaching i have fallen in love with these children and can see that CCF has changed the outlook on lives with smiles that can light up darkness. I am grateful that i have been a part of this organisation and i can't imagine what would be of these children if it wasn't there. As Nelson Mandella quotes ; education is the most powerful weapon to change the world and in this case educating these children will hopefully one day turn Cambodia into a equal and bright country. My world has changed by working with CCF and i can only imagine half of what it has done with the children.
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

I just spent a few days volunteering with CCF. I could see the money going directly to help the community. The children were absolutely beautiful and it was obvious that CCF was well known and respected throughout the area.
December 8, 2014

more

December 8, 2014

I first heard about the Cambodian Children's Fund after a spontaneous visit to Cambodia. I had seen the poverty first hand and was thinking through ways I could make some difference there, having decided to return as soon as I was able.

That was in October 2011.
I am now the
Vice-Projects Coordinator/Operations Director for another organisation working within Cambodia, and it has been my great honour to have been able to work alongside Scott and his fantastic team at CCF. Their work is of the highest ethical and professional standard, and whilst we have, many of us, become somewhat cynical towards NGO's over the years, it can only be said that they, CCF, are worthy of all the accolades given them. Their work is invaluable. So many desperate lives have been changed in the most positive and enduring ways. It is almost inconveivable that the vision and determination of one man to do good could have survived let alone flourish in the face of such odds against success. Hats off to you guys. I'm proud to know you and to able to lend a hand in some small way to your incredible works.
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I am a 65 year old divorced woman and as a mother, and a former psychiatric nurse and middle school science teacher, I believe almost nothing at first glance. When I saw the documentary regarding Cambodian Children's Fund, I paused and then decided to investigate the organization. I studied the financials and read every article written about CCF. I was impressed: most of the money goes to the children. Initially, I was going to give a one time small donation because I have limited means. When I saw the faces of the numerous children who needed a sponsor, I knew I could tighten my belt and make it work. One of the qualities of this organization that I like best is the emphasis on the children. If I could not write to my sponsor child on a regular basis, then they discouraged sponsorship. Children need consistency, no matter where or whatever their station in life. I made a silent commitment to Rachna, my sponsor child, and to myself: I would not let her down. Little did I know where that path would lead me.

Rachna and I have been writing by email to one another for over two years. Since I am a teacher, I have given her small assignments and she has given me assignments as well. One assignment was for me to learn about Angkor Wat, a World Heritage in Cambodia. She wanted me to learn about different Cambodia holidays and I did. She told me about school and her love for dancing. I told her about my dogs. Her emails became the light in my day. I felt such pride!!!

It occurred to me last January that I was not getting any younger and if I was going to meet Rachna, I'd better start making plans. I would be traveling alone half way around the world. I contacted CCF for guidance and then made my travel arrangements. I found a small boutique hotel in Phnom Penh (I later found out the owner sponsors two CCF children). I wrote Rachna in March 2014 and we both began the countdown until October when we would meet.

There are moments in life that you feel like you are walking in slow motion and you know you are memorizing every sound and sight. I felt like that when Rachna stood up to greet me for the first time. I thought my heart would burst. She also brought a friend and a translator from CCF.
The four of us went shopping as previously planned (what fun!!!! we laughed and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the young people as they made their choices at the market). We later had lunch together and made plans to see each other at the school the following day.

The translator took me to two schools, the clinic and nursery. The students were engaged in their studies. I saw happy, healthy, courteous children. I looked at some of their notes: neat writing (that's the teacher in me). I spoke to a class of about 15 teenage students. I was surprised by their ease of speaking English. They learn Khmer, French and English. How many American public schools can boast two required languages? Almost none. The schools were modest and orderly. The children give direct eye contact and there is a quick smile on their faces. If you know anything about students, that speaks volumes.

There are almost 2000 students who attend school through CCF and 10,000 thru their outreach program. Through the vision of Scott Neeson who visited Cambodia in 2003 and began the school in 2004, this is an organization that works! There are no Fat Cats living off donations and going to fancy retreats. This is the real deal. I feel thankful that I have been able to play a small part in keeping this organization alive.

CCF does so much for so many people. They NEED more help. No one asked me to write that statement. Do you need that pedicure, another outfit or that fancy bottle of wine? If you cannot commit to being a sponsor, send the money to CCF. Your donation DOES matter. It feeds and educates children. It gives them a meaningful future. You'll never regret it. Take it from old woman who went half way round the world by herself, who looked into those young intelligent eyes.

Patricia S Gross,
RN, BSN, Masters of Education






December 3, 2014

more

December 3, 2014

I first came to know about this wonderful organization through an article in reader's digest. I immediately decided to contact them and become a Sponsor. This was an act which I have never regretted. I was very fortunate that I ended having the honour and privilege to Sponsor Meth Chan Mouy 5 years ago. Her emails to me have brighten up my day and whenever I meet her in Cambodia, she brings much joy to my heart.

I can see that this organization does great work and my sponsored child has really benefited through the years and it heartens me to see her blossom into a young lady and improve her self through her schooling and experiences with Cambodian Children's Fund.

Christopher Bridges
Singapore

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

Cambodian Childern's Fund is a wonderful organisation which makes a hiuge difference to the lives of thousands of Children and their families, with all resources going directly to those who need them. I visited our sponsored child some months ago, and it was heartwarming to spend time with her and to see how much CCF has enriched her life. We keep in regular contact with her via email, and it is exciting to see how she is developing , and using the opportunies she is given. Her future is certainly a bright one, thanks to CCF.
November 18, 2014

more

November 18, 2014

Cambodian Children's Fund is an amazing organisation on every level. The CEO Scott Neeson and, Country Manager and all others who work in a paid or voluntary capacity truly 'work from the heart'. The generosity of spirit, the commitment to the children, families and the community and the highly ethical way of doing things cannot fail to leave one in awe. I had the enormous privilege of working with CCF for a year and the experience was life-changing. I have the greatest of respect for all CCF staff and intend to go back as the experience of working with such an impressive team is incredible. The way the children are respected, supported and nurtured in every way results in real changes in their lives and really enables them to have a realistic vision of themselves as tomorrow's leaders. The joy I experienced when celebrating with the children at the monthly 'community party night' was just priceless . Scott and the leadership team are highly accountable and very conscious of the need to use donor funds efficiently to get real outcomes for the children - it is a very well managed organisation where there is constant striving to improve and build on the great systems in place. Once you experience it, remains as an important part of your life forever.
November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

CCF is a wholistic NFP organisation which blows me away. Every day I follow their news on Facebook and am always in awe of the achievements of everyone involved. Love the grandparent program that is so lovingly implemented through the young Cambodian leaders. Culture awareness, care giving, medical care, tools and food to negate the less desirable aspects of Cambodia - so well set up and managed. Love that the 'at risk' families and/or children are given the opportunity to grow and give back to their culture. Love that CCF is striving to be sustainable financially and emotionally. So much happiness in Camodia. I just love all those smiling faces, young and old.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers