Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
135 Reviews
1234.992595
Write A Review
January 23, 2015

more


1 previous review
December 22, 2012

After sponsoring a child for a year, I was fortunate enough to be able to go on holiday to Cambodia. As part of this trip I visited the CCF facilities in Phnom Penh. Wow. I knew CCF did great work,... more

January 23, 2015

On my third trip to Cambodia I was lucky enough to visit the head office, co-sponsored world housing project, and new Rice Academy school. The thing that makes CCF stand out above similar non-profits is the holistic and focused nature of their intervention. They are lifting whole communities out of their distressing poverty through a mix of education, health, nutrition and employment. They do not over extend but ensure they have a genuinely trans formative impact on those they serve. If you are looking for a Cambodian charity to support then I highly recommend this one.
December 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After sponsoring a child for a year, I was fortunate enough to be able to go on holiday to Cambodia. As part of this trip I visited the CCF facilities in Phnom Penh. Wow. I knew CCF did great work, but I didn't realize quite how much they were doing, how big an effect this was having, and how large a scale they were now working. The children were so happy and clearly now developing to become happy and productive members of society. But CCF was doing much more than this. It isn't just a intervention to help individual children - although of course it does this - it is also helping the communities they come from to create lasting change and not just try and treat the symptom. I spent the morning with the child I sponsor and his brother (who I now also sponsor - beware of visiting as you will end up being unable not to sponsor more!) the CCF staff were brilliant in setting up such a memorable and emotional trip. The two children I sponsor clearly love their new life and seeing them develop, and CCFs central role in this, was incredibly moving. Cambodia has suffered, and continues to suffer. CCF is one of the most effective charities I have seen anywhere in the world at making a genuine difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2015

more


1 previous review
June 9, 2014

I am involved with CCF little over a year, but I have been following them for much longer. Story of Scott Neeson is amazing and what he has done in Cambodia is nothing short of a miracle. I know becau... more

January 21, 2015

I have been a child sponsor with Cambodian Children's Fund for 2 years. I am sponsoring beautiful 9 year old girl Srey Vy. Since I am currently living in Singapore I was able to manage visit my sponsored child 3 times. On the first visit I have been shown CCF facilities, introduced to program structure and I witnessed with my own eyes how things work and everything they describe on their website, Facebook posts, Twitter etc is true. I met the children in CFF facilities and I was in awe with positive aura all around. Later I met my sponsored child for the first time. If you are interested about my experiences I wrote an article here http://richardsimko.com/archive/visiting-cambodian-childrens-fund
Few months later I visited second time and again we had great time with my sponsored child again. Third visit happened in December 2014. I surprised Srey Vy with a birthday cake. She turned 9. CFF staff was very helpful in organizing this little surprise.
Generally being a sponsor with CFF is very rewarding experience. I have regular email communication with Srey Vy so I always know what is going on. A new email always brightens my day. I know I am making a difference here. Small one but difference it is. If you add lot of small contributions together then you really have power to make a change. And change there is. I am looking forward for more visits and continuing my support of Cambodian Children's Fund. I think it is one of the best charities out there.
June 9, 2014

I am involved with CCF little over a year, but I have been following them for much longer. Story of Scott Neeson is amazing and what he has done in Cambodia is nothing short of a miracle. I know because I visited CCF last year. I am sponsoring lovely 8 year old girl whom I visited 2 times already. I think it is the best spent money ever. Seeing those kids with happy smiles gives me great satisfaction and helping them helps me a lot too. I will continue my support for CCF because I could see with my own eyes that it realy does help and it gets where it is needed the most. If you feel you want to get involved in charity, consider CCF. It is money and time well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 6, 2015

more

January 6, 2015

I visited CCF this morning as part of my Cambodia holiday. As a donor I was keen to see how my donations are being managed on the ground. I left feeling that CCF provides excellent value for money, that my donations are being well spent. The CCF HQ is modest, with the tuktuk driver having to point it out to me on arrival (this compares favourably with a similar charity back home housed in its own large, ostentatious building). I was guided by a friendly and professional member of staff to three CCF sites, being a playground, school, and community centre. All three had good security, were well maintained, and were full of happy and friendly staff and children. The facilities are basic but functional, with good computer access for students. As part of the tour we briefly stopped at CCF’s housing project. These houses, built on stilts, are located behind a fence. I observed that while outside the fence is filth, inside is neat and tidy – these tenants take pride in their homes. Overall, I was very impressed with CCF; the visit confirmed what I have read previously on websites such as this. I will continue supporting this excellent charity. Thank you for a great day.
December 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We've been sponsors for 6 years and have visited CCF in Phnom Penh on several occasions.
One cannot begin to describe the impact this organisation has on the lifes of thousands of people. Whether it is the personal "mentoring" sponsors have with their kids, or the societal impact from the
medical and vocational centres. CCF is an example of dedication, professionalism and transparency.
December 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We have been sponsors of a young girl at the Cambodian Children's' Fund for the past 8 years and visited her and the school 4 years ago. It is an amazing organization that changes the lives of every child involved, along with their families. We receive frequent email updates and photos from our sponsored child as well as from the school which reports on her academic progress. Sponsoring and visiting this young girl has been truly one of the most satisfying and worthwhile experiences we have had working with a nonprofit organization. I highly recommend considering sponsorship.
December 14, 2014

more

December 14, 2014

I recently visited the CCF with my twin 10-year old girls. I was looking to expand their world perspective, try to show them the extreme and varying levels of social and economic living conditions outside of our very comfortable suburban life in the United States. The result is hard to put in words as the CCF is a forever life-changing experience. We came away with empathy, hope and the realization that we can make a difference! We sponsor a child now, will do school projects based on raising funds to help sponsor the CCF and will spread the word on this wonderful organization in Cambodia that is changing the future of a nation! Scott Neeson has been and inspiration to us all!
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

I recently travelled to cambodia to teach PE with ACPE (Australian College of Physical Education). I believe that this organisation succeeds in their mission to assist children and provide them with education , food and clothing in hopes that they will be the change in the future generation of Cambodia. Where suffering, inequality are seen throughout the country it is good to see these children given a chance at life. My 3rd year teaching i have fallen in love with these children and can see that CCF has changed the outlook on lives with smiles that can light up darkness. I am grateful that i have been a part of this organisation and i can't imagine what would be of these children if it wasn't there. As Nelson Mandella quotes ; education is the most powerful weapon to change the world and in this case educating these children will hopefully one day turn Cambodia into a equal and bright country. My world has changed by working with CCF and i can only imagine half of what it has done with the children.
December 10, 2014

more

December 10, 2014

I just spent a few days volunteering with CCF. I could see the money going directly to help the community. The children were absolutely beautiful and it was obvious that CCF was well known and respected throughout the area.
December 8, 2014

more

December 8, 2014

I first heard about the Cambodian Children's Fund after a spontaneous visit to Cambodia. I had seen the poverty first hand and was thinking through ways I could make some difference there, having decided to return as soon as I was able.

That was in October 2011.
I am now the
Vice-Projects Coordinator/Operations Director for another organisation working within Cambodia, and it has been my great honour to have been able to work alongside Scott and his fantastic team at CCF. Their work is of the highest ethical and professional standard, and whilst we have, many of us, become somewhat cynical towards NGO's over the years, it can only be said that they, CCF, are worthy of all the accolades given them. Their work is invaluable. So many desperate lives have been changed in the most positive and enduring ways. It is almost inconveivable that the vision and determination of one man to do good could have survived let alone flourish in the face of such odds against success. Hats off to you guys. I'm proud to know you and to able to lend a hand in some small way to your incredible works.
December 4, 2014

more

December 4, 2014

I am a 65 year old divorced woman and as a mother, and a former psychiatric nurse and middle school science teacher, I believe almost nothing at first glance. When I saw the documentary regarding Cambodian Children's Fund, I paused and then decided to investigate the organization. I studied the financials and read every article written about CCF. I was impressed: most of the money goes to the children. Initially, I was going to give a one time small donation because I have limited means. When I saw the faces of the numerous children who needed a sponsor, I knew I could tighten my belt and make it work. One of the qualities of this organization that I like best is the emphasis on the children. If I could not write to my sponsor child on a regular basis, then they discouraged sponsorship. Children need consistency, no matter where or whatever their station in life. I made a silent commitment to Rachna, my sponsor child, and to myself: I would not let her down. Little did I know where that path would lead me.

Rachna and I have been writing by email to one another for over two years. Since I am a teacher, I have given her small assignments and she has given me assignments as well. One assignment was for me to learn about Angkor Wat, a World Heritage in Cambodia. She wanted me to learn about different Cambodia holidays and I did. She told me about school and her love for dancing. I told her about my dogs. Her emails became the light in my day. I felt such pride!!!

It occurred to me last January that I was not getting any younger and if I was going to meet Rachna, I'd better start making plans. I would be traveling alone half way around the world. I contacted CCF for guidance and then made my travel arrangements. I found a small boutique hotel in Phnom Penh (I later found out the owner sponsors two CCF children). I wrote Rachna in March 2014 and we both began the countdown until October when we would meet.

There are moments in life that you feel like you are walking in slow motion and you know you are memorizing every sound and sight. I felt like that when Rachna stood up to greet me for the first time. I thought my heart would burst. She also brought a friend and a translator from CCF.
The four of us went shopping as previously planned (what fun!!!! we laughed and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the young people as they made their choices at the market). We later had lunch together and made plans to see each other at the school the following day.

The translator took me to two schools, the clinic and nursery. The students were engaged in their studies. I saw happy, healthy, courteous children. I looked at some of their notes: neat writing (that's the teacher in me). I spoke to a class of about 15 teenage students. I was surprised by their ease of speaking English. They learn Khmer, French and English. How many American public schools can boast two required languages? Almost none. The schools were modest and orderly. The children give direct eye contact and there is a quick smile on their faces. If you know anything about students, that speaks volumes.

There are almost 2000 students who attend school through CCF and 10,000 thru their outreach program. Through the vision of Scott Neeson who visited Cambodia in 2003 and began the school in 2004, this is an organization that works! There are no Fat Cats living off donations and going to fancy retreats. This is the real deal. I feel thankful that I have been able to play a small part in keeping this organization alive.

CCF does so much for so many people. They NEED more help. No one asked me to write that statement. Do you need that pedicure, another outfit or that fancy bottle of wine? If you cannot commit to being a sponsor, send the money to CCF. Your donation DOES matter. It feeds and educates children. It gives them a meaningful future. You'll never regret it. Take it from old woman who went half way round the world by herself, who looked into those young intelligent eyes.

Patricia S Gross,
RN, BSN, Masters of Education






Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers