Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

My husband and I just returned from two months of volunteering at CCF. We were English teachers for children ranging in age from three to sixteen. The days were long and warm, the classrooms stark, and since we were there in the winter there was plenty of dust. These small challenges were more than compensated by the enthusiasm of the children to learn and the teachers, who we assisted, to teach. It was a wonderful experience and one that we highly recommend. We came away feeling as if we had received more than we had given.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Cambodia for the first time in 2006. While I found it to be a beautiful country and an exciting travel destination, I also found it a bit depressing to witness the grinding poverty that seemed to be everywhere. After returning home, I kept thinking about finding some way that I could help. While I was already donating to other charities, I wanted to find an organization that would enable me to really see the difference I was making. I had also read that one of the most effective way to fight poverty was through girls' education. With this in mind, I began researching charities on the Internet.

As a former investigative journalist, I'm naturally pretty skeptical and careful in my research. Still, it didn't take me long to determine that CCF was a highly reputable and effective organization. I contacted the group and told them that my wife and I would like to sponsor a Cambodian child, preferably a girl, although the latter wasn't a requirement. They very quickly matched us up with our sponsor child, a 12-year-old girl, and we started communicating regularly via e-mail very soon after that. For the past five years or so, we have been regularly in touch with our "daughter," writing e-mails and sharing pictures. The staff at CCF has been incredibly helpful all along the way, providing us with regular updates about our daughter and her academic progress.

A few years ago, my wife had the opportunity to visit our daughter in person during a business trip to Cambodia. This past winter, I was able to visit her myself for the first time. She is now a bubbly 17-year-old with a bright outlook and a great sense of humor, who talks about becoming a nurse and helping others just like CCF has helped her. Along with one of her friends and a member of the CCF staff, we spent an afternoon shopping, eating, talking, laughing and taking pictures. The CCF staff also gave me a tour of their facilities in Phnom Penh and told me about all the great work they are doing. Everywhere we went, the smiles on the children's faces were priceless.

I'm grateful to Scott Neeson -- one of my true heroes -- and all the wonderful people at CCF for giving me the opportunity to help and get to know my Cambodian daughter. Although she is almost grown up now, I hope she will be a part of my extended family for a long time, and I hope to continue to be part of the CCF family.
March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Who is Scott Neeson and why was he taking up the front page of the West Australian Magazine? Aussie bloke from Adelaide, blah blah.... President of 20th Century Fox.... Sony Productions...blah blah... What?? Gave it all up? Mansion, Yacht, Porsche, Gorgeous Girls. Traded all that to go and live in Cambodia, trudging through rubbish dumps to help the poor and disadvantaged?? Lunatic or Hero?? I made a coffee, read the entire article and that's how I heard of CCF. A bit of Googling and soul searching and soon after I decided to sponsor a child. Checked their web site, made a phone call to CCF Australia and I was now a proud but apprehensive sponsor of wee 6 year old lad. A few days later I got my first email from him with the help,of a translator and all apprehension disappeared. This was in September 2013.
I had a lot going on at the time but everything paled into insignificance when his emails arrived and still do. The enthusiasm has not waned one iota but instead, increased ten fold. He has injected a new sense of worthiness in me that I refer to him as my "Spirit Elixir"
In February this year, I decided to visit CCF in Phnom Penh to meet my young man. I had a few concerns as I am 56, female and travelling alone. I emailed the sponsorship department to make a few enquiries and before I knew it, the wonderful Chhem Saron had emailed me all the information I needed including recommended Hotels and restaurants.
Chhem Saron from the sponsorship department, picked me up from the hotel and completely made my day. As this was my first visit to Cambodia, she asked the driver to to take us for a drive around the streets so I could see a few of the sights and to look for familiar landmarks for when I venture out alone. Then my incredible CCF journey began.
Our first stop was CCF1, which was the first centre ever opened. We then continued on to CCF5, to meet my wee man. Anticipation overload!!!
I wanted to capture the moment we met for the first time but this little man didn't give me a chance to get a picture. He ran up to me and hugged me so hard with his tiny little arms, then presented me with a welcome banner he had made. Apparently he was waiting at the gates of the CCF centre before it opened in the morning. Waiting for me to turn up. As he promised me in emails, he hugged me a lot, then got very shy, but hung on to my arm and said"not yet" every time I moved, thinking I was leaving. A lot of our conversation was through the gentle, smiling translator, Vichet. I got a piece of paper and wrote "I

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

Scott Neeson, the founder of CCF is from my hometown of Adelaide in South Australia. After working as a doctor in a hospital in Phnom Penh, I saw how the people of Cambodia lived in extreme poverty but they won my heart in so many ways, I just wanted to help in some tangible way. Serendipitously, upon my return to Australia an episode of the national broadcaster's Australian Story did a focus piece on CCF. I was moved beyond words by the story and the holistic approach of this organisation that is really making a difference in a sea of NGOs. We sponsor one child through CCF and would love to sponsor more. We visited our sponsor child and her family last year, they organised a tour of their facilities which are amazing and include a health centre, clean water facilities for the community, soup kitchens, day care and classrooms. We also got to take our sponsor child out for a day. They were extremely caring of her welfare, ensuring a CCF representative was with us the whole time. This organisation makes real and needed changes to not only the child's life but that of the whole community. Their "it takes a village" mentality works both ways - they look after the young and the old and there is always room for one more. We are looking forward to visiting again and I would love to one day volunteer in their medical centre. If you want your time and money to make a real difference in the lives of a child and their family, look no further than CCF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no real systemic changes that need to be made - they need more money, more facilities, more employees, more volunteers but this is due to their success in reaching the community in which they operate

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With the many choices people have today to embrace charity causes, why choose CCF and why choose an organization that's not close to your home region and in a location where most people will never have the opportunity to visit in their lifetime…Phnom Penh, Cambodia? For 3 vital reasons:

1) the NEED of the children and their families in Phnom Penh is far beyond anything you could ever imagine, and the history of the country would move even the most hardened humans to tears…(it did me after visiting CCF for the first time and while standing on The Killing Field grounds outside the city. Google it, you will understand. Cambodia historically has been one of the most poverish and corrupt countries in the world, and the people specially its children, deserve better)...

2) the lives of these children would never change or simply end without INTERVENTION from CCF, and..

3) YOUR DONATIONS actually make it directly to the organization and are used as YOU identified to create meaningful change (child sponsorships, general donations, most needed, etc.)

So, how do I know this? As a Donor and Child Sponsor, I have visited CCF approximately 2-3 times per year since 2011 and have walked the communities, observed CCF on the ground operations, walked with the CCF Founder Scott Neeson through the villages/dump areas during the day and during the more dangerous evening walks, and visited the families and homes of people touched and impacted by CCF. Whether it was the grandmother who walked up to Scott in the village with an extremely sick (and dying) newborn baby in her arms (her granddaughter had left the baby at the dump site because it was too sick to be cared for as the mother had no money), the children who have been physically abused, sold or trafficked, or the 11 year old girl who walked BY HERSELF from Northern Cambodia to seek out CCF for better education, development and healthcare, Scott and his team work endlessly against the needs of the children, their families, and community, and are there 24/7 to respond and provide immediate help through the infrastructure that has become CCF. It is truly a remarkable operation with endless stories of selflessness aid by staff members at all levels, and is a very special place that has evolved based on one mans' vision and receipt of donations from individuals and corporations over the past 8-9 years.

If you are thinking about finding a cause and giving, I encourage you to check out CCF. I am sure you will find as I did, that the most wonderful gift of all is that which you give up for someone else who is significantly less fortunate than yourself.

DougCAtlantaUSA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more skilled staff which is highly dependent upon donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Visit the CCF was a rewarding, informative and very moving experience. All the staff takes care of children with care and humanity. CCF try to give them the best possible education and especially a solid foundation. They are followed throughout their education until they acquire training giving them a job and therefore a future.
The first site I visited is located near a landfill and has more spaces. There daycare for children, classes for children 5 to 9 years, the center of child-sponsor relationship and care center for families.
At the second site, children 10 to 15 years welcome you. Always smiling and happy to share their activities, these children are wonderful. Hopeful and eager to learn!
Thank you to Mr. Neeson and his team to assist and supervise all the children with attention and affection. I wish all the children a bright and happy future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have just returned from visiting CCF. The organization which Scott Nesson has built is nothing short of a miraculous. The compassion and dedication of the staff and volunteers I met is at the highest standards of any non-profit I have seen.

CCF is an organization which is making real
and lasting changes to the future of the Cambodia. They are feeding, clothing, teaching, providing shelter and mentoring the future leaders and influencers of Cambodia.

Any opportunity you have to be associated with this wonderful group is a gift to the giver more one can put into words.

CCF is an amazing investment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

About four years ago I had a (real ) dream in which mothers and children were begging for my help but I couldn't find a way to help them.A week later I read about CCF in a yoga magazine and knew immediately that this was the answer to the dream.Now my wife and I sponsor 7 children,we have visited CCF 3 times and cannot believe how it has grown.This is just simply the best run,best everything charity I have ever found.if you want to make a difference in the world-and yourself- become a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

It's very inspiring to see the education taking place at CCF to get the children an opportunity to stand out and give them unique skills instead of just maths and english.

I had a tremendous experience here. I'm amazed at the effectiveness of some of CCF's programs to protect children and
seek justice against criminals that otherwise get away with some terrible things in this country. I hope that continues to grow in its positive impact.

The children I got to help teach video editing to were super fast learners and really keen to dive into new technology.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put resources in permaculture. Teach children to garden organically and get fresh food on their plates with high nutritional value that can aid their wellbeing and mental developement, and show them they have everything they need to to transcend some of their greatest challenges. Aiming to put designated community gardens and rain water collection in areas like steung meanchey could transform it. http://www.ted.com/talks/ron_finley_a_guerilla_gardener_in_south_central_la.html

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I completed one of many visits to CCF at the end of July and had just visited the third child I sponsor for the first time, meeting a new sponsored child is something that I really look forward to and Raksa proved to be no exception. At 9 years old I had the pleasure of buying her the first proper ice cream she had eaten at Swensens - I am sure she will never forget the taste and I will certainly never forget the look on her face as she ate it. Like the other 2 kids that I sponsor she has a great personality and it is amazing to see how well all 3 are doing in the care of CCF considering their backgrounds.

Over a 3 year period I have made several visits to CCF and am always impressed with the work Scott and his team carry out. There is so much more they do than just make a difference in the lives of hundreds of kids. I have learnt about the dental work they carry out for the community, the rice programme and the pre natal care programme that does a great amount of good for pregnant women who are unable to afford proper hospital care.

Before making my first donation to CCF I visited several NGO's in Cambodia and did quite a bit of research on many of them. Whilst there are several organisations in Phnom Penh that are really making a difference to the lives of kids I found CCF to be one that I think long term is going to make the biggest difference. Each time I visit I find out a little more about Scott and his team and each time I visit it further reinforces my belief in the decision I made.

In Cambodia it takes such a little effort and small donation to make such a huge difference, I recently sent an extra amount of money over for the first child that I sponsored for her 5th birthday, the amount would not have bought me a beer and dinner in a decent restaurant in most developed countries but in Cambodia bought a dress and pair of shoes for the sponsored child and her sister, a meal out for them both at a restaurant they would never have otherwise been able to afford to eat at, ice cream at an ice cream parlour, a great birthday cake and 10kgs of rice and other groceries and provisions for her family. There was also enough left to buy a few sweets and cookies to take home for the rest of her siblings. Viewing the photos of the event a few days later gave me infinatly more pleasure than a steak and beer for myself ever could have done.

I am really looking forward to my next trip to Cambodia and again visiting the children I sponsor and learning more about CCF, there would be a huge part of my life missing now without the regular emails and photos I receive by email from Cambodia. The donations I have made in the last 3 years have been an investment that I have gained so much happiness from and would recommend anybody considering sponsoring a child at CCF or making a donation do it now

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I genuinely cannot think of anything I would do differently, the results that CCF are getting are amazing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers