Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

My wife & I learned about CCF through the 2008 documentary film, Small Voices, & have had the privilege of sponsoring 2 children for the past year. Being health professionals with experience abroad, we were very impressed by not only the obvious passion & drive of Scott & his team, but also their careful thought in designing a multi-modal intervention to break the cycle of poverty, disease, abuse & lack of education in Cambodia.

Our visit to CCF's facilities earlier this year only confirmed first-hand what we inferred from the documentary & from the sponsor orientation package - it was incredibly humbling & gratifying to see how proud the staff & kids were of their amazing achievements, & we came away feeling that it would be hard to imagine making a bigger difference with our ongoing donations. We plan to continue our support of CCF, & hope that you'll consider joining us!
July 28, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 28, 2014

Just last week I had the wonderful opportunity of having a personal tour of the Cambodian Children's Fund (CCF) set up in Phnom Penh with Scott Neeson the founder of CCF. The following day I had a further 5-hour tour with one of the staff of the great many sectors that make up the amazing work that CCF is doing. Whilst there I saw the smiles on the children's faces. The magical way Scott and the staff interact with the children and I saw kids holding their shoulders back and their heads high. Kids who had self-esteem, knew they had a place in the world and had purpose and goals. It was a beautiful sight to see and though I was already a fan of CCF I had never actually walked around and seen the operations in action before. So as a result of two-days of touring and seeing Scott Neeson himself so hands-on, on the ground, talking to the kids, checking in on them and building their self-esteems I am now even more a fan of the amazing work of CCF. I took on a sponsor child whilst there and am looking forward to many good years of being part of her life and the story and magical work that is that of CCF. If you have a dollar or more to spare to a very well run NGO that is really making huge changes for the next generation of Cambodia, spend it here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds to keep doing the excellent work they're already doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 25, 2014

I have been lucky to visit CCF 3 times now, once to make a donation and visit CCF1 the second time with a friend who had become a new child sponsor and my last visit on 22nd July I had great privilege of accompanying Scott on his night rounds. I was visiting with a friend who had recently fundraised and donated enough money for CCF to buy a School bus. Scott has amazing vision for CCF but he is also very personable and knows every single child's name, birthday and story, constantly reaching for his phone to show us the before photos of the children.

The daily situations that he and his staff at CCF are dealing with would bring most of us living a very easy western life to our knees. Child abuse, violence, death, starvation and just general neglect and despair. He appears to take all of this in his stride as he picks up or bends down to talk to each child wanting his attention, of which there are many. He listens intently to requests from grannies, parents and children alike, motioning to his staff and instructing in Khmer what needs to be done in each particular situation.

He is a true hero and "Pa" to these most beautiful Cambodia children who deserve a better life then they have been deal. I have been coming to Cambodia for many years and work with Cambodian Artisans, purchasing craft under fair trade practices, educating Australian's about Fair Trade and Fair living wages. I also give talks to raise awareness of the issues in Cambodian, encourage ethical travel and plant many seeds on the benefits of having a social and global conscience to giving.

After this last and recent visit, I can not speak highly enough about the work of CCF and the total and undeniably evident love that Scott has for these children and his tireless efforts to improve their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Without spending more time with CCF I could not see any obvious changes that need to be made. They are doing the most amazing and life changing work that has the great potential to change the face of Cambodia, through the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsor to two kids at CCF over the last several years and finally had time to visit Phnom Penh this week to see the operation on the ground and meet the kids... I knew already that CCF was a first rate organization but there's nothing as powerful as witnessing it in action. I saw four or five of CCF's facilities and several hundred children of all ages at play, in classes, working on their language and computer skills, eating dinner and, importantly, receiving prizes for their efforts and achievements in school. I spent several hours with Scott, who is a ball of energy with big ideas and an incredible grasp of detail -- including, it seemed, the names, stories and achievements of all the more than 2,000 children CCF supports. Inspirational and moving. On top of that, I spent a morning with the kids I sponsor -- a treat for them and me and another reason why I will be back.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I've come across CCF through the Panda Paddlers in Hong Kong. I've had the honour to meet the kids and staff at CCF two years ago and it is amazing to see the positive impacts CCF is bringing to the local community. The story behind this charity is simply extraordinary!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Great charity with Very Honest, Very caring and dedication.

Mckenney

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

I think the most amazing part of My story probably is the Changes this Great place has made in Me ! I want Everyone to know that I am 56 Years old Worked in Rock n Roll for Over 30 Years and been Overpaid the Entire Time ! This Business while being a Job that I would do for Free is also a Very Self-Indulgent and Ego Driven proposition !

Some 7 or 8 Years ago while at Home for a few Weeks I ran across the movie "Heaven and Earth" for Whatever reason it was a Lightning Bolt Moment , These Beautiful Kids know a Poverty that NONE of us know here in the US , The truth is , Many of these Families would think they died and went to Heaven just to live at a Dumpster Behind ANY Resturant here in L.A.!


For the next 5 Years I became a supporter of this Organization and pretty much followed and watched their Growth . It is startling to watch a Young Child with a Very Tited Eyes staring off into some other World that perhaps was a kinder place to Live , these children Expect Nothing they know No better . And I could also relate to Scott's Story ,

Finally in My seventh Year I Sponcered a Family , For much less that a Nice lunch with a Friend I can Give and Actually IMPROVE the Lives of a Family and while I do this I have a Counselor in Phnom Penh that really Knows what's going On ! I'm THAT Guy that would Send a Pallete full of Snickers Bars while forgetting the Need for Diapers ! I have ALWAYS believed that to be Successful You need to Surround Yourself with Very Capable People and the ENTIRE STAFF at CCF is Nothing Short of that .

So in short ... I am given the Pivledge of Giving to Some Families that not only Deserve it but HONESTLY Understand Your help and could not appreciate it More . Without throwing it in Your Face these Staff Members instill a Sense of Competance and True Concern for the families . A couple of bumper Sticker Quotes are coming Your way only because it is a FACT. !
:" I give to these Families but it is I that receives the Greater Gift ".


In Closing I need to Say that as I Mentioned. , I have worked with and Around Creative and Artistic People My Entire Life , I also Pride Myself in knowing that I can see BS coming down the Road before most See it , this is the real Deal . Scott Neesons Genius is a Mixture of Concern and Love tied in with a Creative twist that WORKS : ) Brilliant Leadershit and True Love and Dedication from the Staff make EVERYONE a Winner .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I feel please to be a member of big CCF family, And dump-site is a misery crevasse existed thousand of people living in. CCF is a machine to destroy poverty through providing education health care and community development. CCF is a great nonprofit organization to help Cambodia, thank you very much !

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

This organization has transformed not only my life but the life of some many young children in Phnom Penh. I was blessed to hear about this organization by accident through the documentary Small Voices and since then I can only say that it has transformed my life. Since becoming a part of this organization I have seen such a change in the kids and have also gained a personal fulfillment in receiving so much love from my sponsor child. I routinely receive letters, pictures and do Skype phone calls making the experience well worth it. There is no better feeling than knowing you are transforming someone's life and in the return you will receive nothing but gratitude love and the fulfillment of knowing that you are helping a young life who will grow up to transform the world. I look forward to meeting my sponsor child within the next year and can only say that will be such a wonderful moment that I will hardly have words to explain it. I can only say good things about this organization and hope that other nonprofit organizations seek to provide the same fulfilling experience to their donors as I have received through the Cambodian Children's Fund.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

I wanted to spend my 4 months long service leave in Cambodia instead of volunteering in Europe but when I accidently saw Scotts story on ABC Australian Story I did what he did except I didn't sell the house..... and spent my time in Siem Reap... TUK TUK MADAM????

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

marry Scott and move to Cambodia to help out.... I decided Scott had enough volunteers in the capital and Siem Reap needed help.. GO SCOTT GO!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers