Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been working in Mondulkiri province for 4 years now with the organisation Nomad RSI (www.nomadrsi.org). I know the work of CCi since 2009 as they contacted my organisation as they were helping their students from Mondulkiri which have graduated from University to find jobs. Then the next year my organisation started a new project and we have recruited, Chan Oeng, a CCi student who is still working with us nowadays. Then the next year we have collaborate with CCi to support young traditional healers from Mondulkiri province to attend the national course on traditional medicine in Phnom Penh. Two students have been living in the Indigenous Student Centre in Phnom Penh for 6 month. This was a great opportunity as both of them had never been to Phnom Penh or any city before and living in a house with many Bunong students had definitely help them to be comfortable and succeed in their study. Both have been graduated and came back to their village with the official recognition as being traditional healers by the Ministry of Health.
Supporting Bunong people to get University degree is a very important contribution to Mondulkiri development. Thanks to CCi we can see every year more young Bunong people with good education involved with NGOs, government agencies which are the best people to build a harmonious development of the province. For our organisation it is great to be able recruit those Bunong students with good education background as it have been one of the main difficulty that we faced, very few Bunong people had the opportunity to study at the university.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first met Tommy Daniels and got to know about the work of CCi when I was requested to make an assessment of the school in Sen Monorom in 2002. I was already familiar with the province having worked for Medicines Du Monde (a French NGO) for over a year supporting the inadequate health service in the province, which is remote, sparsely populated and often referred to as the forgotten province of Cambodia. I was later a long term election observer for the Asia Foundation (for both Mondolkiri and neighboring Kratie province) – this is an American NGO committed to the development of a peaceful, prosperous, just, and open Asia-Pacific region. It was working in Mondolkiri that I fully understood the difficulties the tribal population and other marginalized people in Mondolkiri face especially in health and education. At the time very few, if any, NGOs were seriously addressing these issues and the government was unable. The work of CCi was like a beacon of shining light and I was very struck by the friendly atmosphere and optimism whenever I visited.
I am now working in rural Uganda with Medcines Sans Frontirieres (better known in N America as Doctors Without Borders) and have worked in several developing and conflict countries including Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Somalia, South Sudan and Lebanon. But I have a particular fondness for Cambodia in general – I first started working there in 1993 and I am actually married a Cambodian - but Mondolkiri in particular. I also met Tommy Daniels in Phnom Penh and was interested in how the work there directly links with the activities in Mondolkiri.
The commendable, tireless and valuable work that CCi has done and continue to do is so important to Sen Monorom as it educates the young Montagnard people who can then return to help this underdeveloped province with their knowledge and I can think of no better organization to support.
Chris Hall, Logistics Coordinator, MSF Uganda, chrishall97@gmail.com

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

building up the all round hope and confidence of young Montagnard people and seeing how they can develop educationally with the dedication of CCi

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more support

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

What is unique about this organization?

The approach is quite innovative and the organisation embraces ideas that are new to the area. The young beneficiaries really seem to be enlightened by this and develop a sense of imagination.

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have known Tommy Daniels and have been familiar with the work of Cambodia Corps for almost ten years. They keep a low profile but are highly effective. they fill an imortant need that would not otherwise be met, either nmy the Cambodian Government or by other NGOs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

While living in Japan I was the Executive Director of a Funding Foundation called Refugees International Japan and involved with Refugees International in Washington DC, in this capacity I visited many refugees areas to assess organisations which we were funding and had a special interest in Cambodia. In 2000 I moved to Portugal where I founded a small funding organisation called Friends of Cambodia. In 2004 I was looking for a project to fund and CCi was recommended to me. We visited them in Mondlekiri and we were very impressed with what they were achieving. Education is very empowering and the idea that the students should come back and share what they had learned was very appealing The staff was very helpful and the students were very happy. We have also been involved in their Phnom Penh programme and it has been very rewarding to be able to see the students graduate and move back to Mondlekiri. One of our supporter is a dentist and he now visits Cambodia each year to check the students teeth. Another way of supporting CCi. I have been most impressed with the whole organisation and especially with the dedication of Mr. Daniels and recommend it as a good organisation to support Geraldine Willcox MBE President Friends of Cambodia

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I traveled to Phnom Penh with another volunteer in May of 2010 expressly to work with the Cambodia Corps and the Montagnard highlander students whom the CCi supports. Our non-profit organization works with many Montagnard highlanders in Vancouver, Canada, helping to promote their cultural arts - particularly their sacred dance and music traditions, as well as language, crafts, and way of life. Our goal in volunteering in Cambodia was to enable the highlander students there through the CCi. We were very impressed with the advanced education support program that they had been running and their track record of graduated students. Our visit consisted of several parts: 1) I was bringing donations of laptops from Canada for the use of students at the CCi. We ensured that they were properly configured and students familiar with their use. They were clearly needed and well appreciated. 2) I provided training in computing science - specifically concepts of Linux, networking, security, and software development. This was primarily directed to students taking computing science degrees. 3) We toured Montagnard villages in the northeast where the students originated. Several students acted as our guides. We were introduced to families and parents and learned more about the challenges on-the-ground for Montagnard there - for education, work, and their way of life. We spent nearly one month in Cambodia. We came away all the more impressed by Mr. Daniels and the CCi. This takes a tremendous effort and organization to achieve - and the benefits and outcomes are clear and undeniable. I strongly support the CCi's mission of empowering and elevating the Montagnard people through advanced education, skills, and knowledge. Loki Jorgenson, Ph.D., President, Monsoon Society for the Cultural Arts of Southeast Asia

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The quality of the students, their achievements, and the sheer number of graduands. As well, I have seen how the returning students are able to make an impact on their communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not aware of any specific shortcomings in their organization, given the challenges they routinely face and overcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We were met with welcome, kindness and appreciation, and received all kinds of support for our presence there. We lacked for nothing in our volunteer experience and felt supported in our contributions.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Both in Phnom Penh and in Mondulkiri, the experiences were intimate and deeply personal. How could one not be affected? Visiting the students' villages made a considerable impression and put into context the highlander people and relationships that I have in Canada.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Enriched and appreciative - both for what we have accomplished here in Canada but especially for the vision and achievements of the CCi there.

June 7, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 7, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is extremely well managed and highly successful. Accounting is exemplary and the use of funds is the most effective I have seen. The impact far exceeds that of other less well managed non-profits.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I follow its activities closely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None except insure that it had more contributions.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers