Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.914895
Write A Review
March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

I have been volunteering at Calvary Food Pantry for 4 months now and absolutely love being there. The other volunteers are great and I have come to know so many of our clients. This group of people is my Auburn family.
I am in awe how well run this pantry is with everyone knowing their task
and efficiently doing it.
The monthly food items are pulled and bagged by the volunteers after the client places the order. The order may include canned and boxed items as well as dairy and frozen items. In the main area of the pantry are shelves that clients can bag their own preferences in breads, baked goods as well as fresh fruits and veggies. This winter we have been able to offer our clients a full array of fresh fruit and vegetables regularly. Off to the side of the main area there are clothes for our clients to take when they find something in their size. We also welcome clean donations back from them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask that everyone reading this review donate to the Calvary Food Pantry - donations can be money, food items, clothing or plastic bags which we always need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

The Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc. in Auburn, NY has helped me out a lot, GOD BLESS them all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

The Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc., is the BEST one in AUBURN! Their performance is capped off with food safety, food security, great service!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The things to improve on are food help, produce, and more sizes in clothing as not all sizes are available.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

Great service! Fresh food! :) Very Satisfied client in me! Hummm, keep up the great work!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hummmm... nothing right now!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

The volunteers at Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc., are very nice, caring and most efficient. The pantry is clean, friendly and effective with good quality food, produce and baked goods. Although the later three are sometimes not available because it goes so fast.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. Perhaps a wiser approach to allowing folks take out produce and baked goods would be to establish a policy of one bag per family vice two or three or four large bags per day vice visit. 2. Recommend adding a second phone line just for the client intake coordinator and one for staff/other administrative functions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

I recently became aware of the place known locally as the "Pantry" in Auburn, NY. The Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc., has the best food provider team I've ever seen, almost as effective as the military but with the kinder, gentler presentation while maintaining a concern for safety and security. They have some pretty good food, produce and baked goods, too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

I've been a client at Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc., for several months. I am a senior and live in the City of Auburn, New York. I've found the Calvary Food Pantry to be an awesome experience providing food items I need, at ever visit. I've never had a bad experience at this pantry and the people here are most helpful, hard working and always positive. I've spoke with others who have need at Calvary who feel as I do and are just as impressed about this organizations community service. For many, this pantry is a life saver for many, being a life changer, as they have no other place to turn for feeding their families. While others need short term or occasional repetitive help with the poor economy. I guess this makes Calvary Food Pantry CNY, one keystone organization for this community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Parking, particularly at the end of the month, is often hard to find with many clients visiting right after the Food Bank of Central New York truck visits. Still well worth the wait, which speaks well of Calvary Food Pantry management effectiveness and efficiency, as they've done a really great job working around issues that cause problems for clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

I've found Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc. to be totally great, they are very helpful, caring and wonderful with food, produce and baked goods. Everyone here seems to be very special at doing what they do in getting our food request processed, orders put together, and brought out to us for pick up. Really OUTSTANDING effort by all concerned here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

Excellent organization, well deputized in functionality, providing client support beyond expectation, as the the pre-eminent pantry in Auburn, New York; Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc. is a credit to the community, city, county. GOOD ON YOU!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Need to get more funding from the government for food, produce and baked goods. Need more local stores helping out too!!! Other than that, there isn't any problems. The volunteers are really great folks for the most part.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2013

I found Calvary Food Pantry CNY, Inc., to be a most wonderful place to receive free food and do I use them because I'm hungry all the time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A good organization with some very talented people, but I have had a problem with one or two of them about taking too much produce and baked goods on more than one occasion.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers