Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

In the midst of my Storm, as a married woman, husband of 13 yrs together 16, finally wants his divorce, and a mother of two previous children from God, gifts He gave me, (amazed since Doctor's in CA told me in 1998 that I could not have children) he's taken them and he and his families hid them from me since September 19 2013. I contacted my Attorney and finally heard from her September 29th so she could find out what was going on. October 1st my Attorney calls me with documentation of twisted manipulative verbiage I never said, he claims that I am verbally and physically abusive to him and my kids. He threw me to the Sharks/Wolves September 19 and again on the 25th and 30th of September. He was granted Emergency Custody 11 days of no word or knowing where my kids were. I am a faithful Christian Woman and mom and I finally went back to church also for my 11 yro dtr who begged me to take her back to church, she and her brother never got to go with me since I started August 11 and been faithful to my Lord and committed to Him in all I do. I became a member of my churcg in September. Counseling since January 2013, on my Hypothyroid medicines since April 2013 (Finally the correct diahnistics) my mom has Hypothyroidism too, been going to Women Conferences thru my Church at Rhema, went to Girls of Grace Event October 19th, on behalf of my daughter, and church groups and mom's were there too. It truly blessed me. 1st court date was October 10th and I was granted Sunday mornings to go pick up my kids in OKC, with Supervior driving time, and back El Reno, 9 to 1:30 & Wednesday nights 5:30-8:45pm. Been doing this and will do this until 2nd court date November 14th @1:30. II was also granted at least one phone call a day with my kids and I am aloud to go to, now both my 11 yr old and 4 yr old son go to school, their dad secretly moved our daughter to on September 30th. I saw their school for the first time November 6th with my 6th grader and Thursday the 7th with my Preschool baby boy. Their was a meeting on November 7th against me with John and his DHS and now Prevention people. I have updated alk to my Attorney and according to Prevention I need more Mental Therapy because of the twisted lies documented September 25th. The state has nor seen or reviewed eith my kids since my new court minutes October 10th. I have the best time with my babies in the car to and fro and at church before they are excused for their Bible Studies. My 4 year old sons class is called "The Worshippers" & my 11 yr old daughters is called "Azusa Street Kids". I am blessed I get to clean their rooms and sanctuary on Saturdays and volunteer to work in their classrooms. I keep praying for their dad and his families and friends and for my children who have been put in the middle of this. He hates me so much well he said he loves me that is why he did what he did he said to protect our kids from me. For the record I never verbally said those words to my children and never physically abused them or anyone in my 20 plus year's (I excluded between 0 and 18 since the words all my life here would not make sense) of my 36 years. Their dad was and is the man I loved and now have a New Love for him in Christ. I forgave him and his people's and I need to let this go and be loving kind and patient on getting my kids back into my life and me in theirs. Too much hate and anger built up between their dad and I. I want them 3 to stop this and in Jesus Name the Truth Set me FREE from false lies so I can be around my wonderful sweet children. They don't know me. I am not who they want to believe I am (hateful and evil) I am Loving Kind Gentle Caring Fun Encouraging Inspiring and Faithful in Him. Please keep us all in your prayers and ask me for the truth first. John promised he would make life H E double hockey sticks for me to keep me away from our kids but it's not for the right reasons. God bless and keep them. Colossians 1:9-12, has been one of my "Life-Changing Prayers". This is my prayer for me and my family and many other people around the globe. God bless and keep you too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would share this information of The Parenting Through Divorce Seminar to Pastors, Counselors and one stop shop quickie chapels to refer Newly to be and or remarring couples to Calm Waters locations or a number to call. We can't predict our futures but in hopes we can become more knowledgeable and honest with loved ones then maybe few divorces, legal and uncontested.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I found out about Calm Waters when my daughter attended her parenting class (for divorce) at their offices. She knew I was looking for volunteer opportunities and told me they needed help. I called, found out what I needed to do and soon found myself interviewing to help facilitate night time groups at their offices. I was very happy when they told me I could go through training and start co-facilitating groups there. But I got much more than I bargained for.

The employees at Calm Waters care for the people they serve. I have worked places where it is just a job so I know what they looks and feels like. The Calm Waters office is different. They want every interaction to be meaningful for the families they serve. I enjoyed helping serve those families and soon was also facilitating support groups in the school system as well. This is my third year there and I have to say the children I work with seem to really benefit from the support Calm Waters provides. They look forward to groups and I am fortunate enough to see some of the transformations as kids learn how to handle their emotions and realize they are not alone. I didn't expect it to be this rewarding so I definitely got much more than I bargained for and for that I am extremely happy!

Calm Waters provides a service that cannot be duplicated and is so important to the many people served there annually. I am so glad I get to be a part of such an awesome agency!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to find a way (funding, opportunity) to provide support group services into every school in the metro area. I see the heartaches many of the children we currently serve are experiencing. I know it is not just specific to the few schools in which we work. There are many other schools with hurting children who need this type of support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My son and I attended the grief groups following the death of my aunt. My son had developed a "tick" becuase of the stress and grieving that we were experiencing. After a few short weeks attending the support groups his "tick" had completely disappeared and he was happier and emotionally healthier. The volunteers are wonderful and compassionate. Calm Waters has been a great help to me and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My parents divorced when I was 4. Both remarried by the time I was 9, but my dad died unexpectedly when I was 12. I felt like the only kid who has ever lost a parent at that young age. My friends didn't know how to talk to me, what to say. I felt very alone. I ended up making a lot of poor choices in my life not long after my dad died.

In 1997, I had the worst year of my life. To make this shorter, I had two major surgeries...one on my heart and one on my brain. after the second surgery, I had a very strong feeling to do something to benefit others. I needed to live my life no longer for just the benefit of ME. I heard an ad on the radio for Calm Waters Center for Children and Families and thought how amazing an organization this must be. I wished something like it was around when I was 12...I sure could have used it. A week later, I heard an ad for them saying they were in need of caring volunteers. I called immediately and said I want to help but am not a therapist, counselor, or even have a background in that. They told me, "Don't worry, we will train you as a facilitator and you will be with an experienced facilitator in your groups".

I went through training in February 1998 and started my first groups in August 1998. I only work with teens, because I believe they have the toughest decisions at this point in their lives that affect who they become. I know...I went through that!

I have been facilitating teen groups in both grief and divorce since 1998. Calm Waters Center for Children and Families is an incredible organization, and I am truly blessed to be a part of it.

Stuart

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am currently a practicum student at Calm Waters and I can't imagine having a better experience anywhere else. What Calm Waters does really changes people's lives and I have had the pleasure to see it for myself. I quickly found myself becoming attached with this organization and plan to volunteer form many years to come. Each staff member and volunteer that I've gotten to know has been unimaginably kind and knowledgeable. I am so incredibly blessed that I get to volunteer here because Calm Waters has shown me that I am on the right career path.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I was one of the founders of Calm Waters over 21 years ago after the death of my husband. At the time I was looking for help for my son after his Dad died. We were part of the first grief group and after that I facilitated the adult grief groups for 10 years until my job changed to evenings. It is a program I believe in and is certainly needed. I am in awe of the continual growth of Calm Waters to meet the ever changing needs of the children of the Oklahoma City area whether its due to recent tornadoes, the Murrah Building Bombing to children of deployment or incarceration . The staff at Calm Waters sees a need and figures out how to meet that need. They help a tremendous number of families each year with the dedication of the staff and volunteers. I loved my years as a volunteer and continue to support them financially and when ever they ask. I have referred many families there and all have later told me how much Calm Waters has helped .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build them a Calm Waters House that would be large enough to totally meet their space needs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I attended Calm Waters Divorce Program as a 5 year old when my parents divorced. Divorce has changed my life and through everything I learned and gained from Calm Waters I knew I wanted to volunteer. I started volunteering in college during the summers. Once I graduated I was hired as the Development Coordinator. I cannot express what it feels like to be able to raise money for children just like me. I have the most rewarding job because I get to see the smiles on the faces of grieving children everyday. Calm Waters is an amazing life changing program and I am blessed to be able to part of such a wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for Calm Waters to reach more donors so that they are able serve even more grieving children in Oklahoma.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I started volunteering with Calm Waters as part of a school requirement, but quickly fell in love with the organization and its mission. I have been blessed by the other facilitators, the employees, and the clients at Calm Waters. I love helping kids deal with the loss of a loved one or cope with divorce. Volunteering at Calm Waters is fun and fulfilling!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish that we could expand our services to incorporate even more grieving people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have had the honor of serving on the board of Calm Waters for over 5 years. When I was first introduced to this organization, I was amazed at the impact that Calm Waters had on the OKC community. Soon after joining the organization, a business partner and his family had need for CW's services. He said CW gave his family healing and was a critical resource in helping his family recover from a trajic situation. Several months ago, we lost one of our co-workers in a tragic incident. She had three young children and CW quickly stepped in and helped the family to begin the healing process. Although these are personal examples I experienced, Calm Waters helps families in the community like this every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our divorce recovery programs into more school systems throughout the metro area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have the pleasure of serving at Calm Waters as a volunteer, but I also was fortunate enough as a young boy to attend Calm Waters after my parents went through a divorce. As a kid I remember the level of compassion I felt from the facilitators and how amazing it was to meet other kids who were just like me (at the time, divorce wasn't as prevalent as it is today). As a volunteer, I look forward to passing on that same level of compassion that I received on to other kids who need it badly. Calm Waters makes it possible through excellent training and support, shows incredible appreciation towards its volunteers and is willing to go above and beyond for the children and families that come seeking help...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. Make it bigger and better. OKC has benefitted from Calm Waters I'm sure other metro areas could do the same...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Why Volunteer for Calm Waters?At Calm Waters, our volunteers are the backbone of our organization. Annually, approximately 100 volunteers facilitate small groups, serve on the Calm Waters board of directors or assist with special events and administrative duties. Calm Waters’ volunteers come from all walks of life, but all share a sincere desire to be part of the healing process for the families that we serve.Outreach Volunteers (office and events)Often our need for volunteers to help us communicate our message to the community and assist with events is great. If you have time during the day to volunteer at the office with mailings, phone calls, assembling materials, etc., we need your heart for service. Also, there are times when we need help with community events. We love our volunteers and, as a nonprofit organization, couldn’t manage without them! If you have some time to give in any of these areas, please contact Progam Director Maribeth Govin at 405.841.4800 or e-mail her at maribeth@calmwaters.org . Thank you!!! Volunteer