Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
406 Reviews
1234.950745
Previous | 1 2 3...41 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I am proud to be a Board Member of the Callaway County United Way, our board takes business seriously and we do our very best to be good stewards of the monies donated to the United Way. We have an awesome director who goes above and beyond her role to make sure our United Way stays connected with the community. We also reach out to work with the agencies to collaborate efforts amongst agencies to ensure our dollars are most effective.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 4, 2011

I have been involved with this United Way for approximately 13 years as a donor, and for the last 5 as a board member and volunteer. We are constantly working to improve our organization -- whether ... more

April 6, 2013

As a long time board member and volunteer, I can't say enough good things about our organization. We have hard-working agencies that strive -- and succeed -- every day to serve the needs of our community. We have a great Executive Director, and a truly engaged board, that cares deeply for this community. Use of funds are scrutinized to ensure they are used per agreement/needs. We are always looking back to our mission statement to be sure we are on target, and thinking outside of the box regarding fundraising, security additional volunteers, and making sure our messages and info about programs and services available are being heard by those that need it the most. Because of the caring people in Callaway County, we are successful in getting the job done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2011

I have been involved with this United Way for approximately 13 years as a donor, and for the last 5 as a board member and volunteer.

We are constantly working to improve our organization -- whether it be through establishing goals, a strategic plan, re-working our mission statement,
revising our application and process, trying to "think outside the box" in terms of fundraising, and more.

It is amazing that we are able to accomplish so much for our agencies and community -- and the true reason why can be attributed to the dedication and skills of our one employee. Not a day goes by without another idea or suggestion is mentioned for ways we might look at our organization differently, or something new we might try in order to reach out both to those in need and those that can help.

There is much more that we can do, as the needs of the community are great. I am happy to be a part of such a dedicated group that is trying to find the best practices - the HOW - to meet these needs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By seeing how many folks are helped. You just need to come to one of our annual radio-thons, or help at the soup kitchen, or volunteer at the homeless shelter, the recycling facility, the senior center or with one of the organizations that works with young people to hear any number of stories of how we have made a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep training board members and continue to increase the diversity of the board. Raise more funds.

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Callaway County United Way cares deeply for the people they serve. There is only one paid member of the board and the pay is minimal. There is essentially no overhead as there is no rented space and all postage and materials are generally donated. The board members put in a lot of their time and personal finances to try very hard to make as much money as possible to help the community as well as possible. The programs and services that the Callaway County United Way help to make possible are numerous...from helping the homeless to find shelter to helping the hungry to obtain food.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The greatest thing about the Callaway County United Way is the number of programs and services made available to our community. The United Way closely monitors their partner agencies, their programs and services, to make sure the most people are served in our community possible. The are careful that services are not duplicated. Working together was can accomplish so much!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

When I was asked to serve as a board member for the Callaway County United Way, I was humbled and felt very fortunate to be able to do so. My life story is not a rags to riches drama, but there were times I needed financial assistance and utilized many of the services offered by the United Way. As I have matured and started making better decisions for myself and my family, our financial status has improved. How awesome that I can now give back to a program that I use to receive benefits from. I take being a board member very serious. I know the importance a donated scout scholarship can make to a struggling family. I realize what it means to have your utility bill paid during the coldest month of the winter. I know what a bag of groceries mean to a family in need. The Callaway County United Way funds 14 agencies that touch so many lives. The amount of research, care, planning and hard work is not measurable. Our Executive Director, hundreds of volunteers, agencies and their employees and volunteers are so important to our community. They are true representatives of the heart of Mid-Missouri.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I am now retired, but have worked for Callaway Social service agencies for about 20 years...now a volunteer. I am so proud of Callaway United Way and all the board and directors do to support local causes. The generosity of the citizens and the enormous effort the volunteers put into the programs brings a tremendous benefit to all who are served. We are a large rural county, with a small population as compared to many....but do a fantastic job serving those in need. Thanks to CCUW!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am honored to be a (newer) member of the Callaway County United Way (CCUW) Board. The CCUW helps fund 14 local agencies -- from the American Red Cross (Callaway County Branch) to SERVE, a local food pantry, transportation system, senior volunteer placement agency, and thrift store. Each agency we partner with provides much-needed services within our community. Services include providing basic needs like food, shelter, and clothing, providing counseling, crisis intervention, disaster services, healthcare, housing, senior services, support groups, volunteer opportunities and much more. Vital to our community, the Callaway County United Way is there to help throughout the year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2011

The Callaway County United Way's involvement and support continues to grow in our small community. It is an organization that strives to see to it that their campaign dollars go directly to member age... more

November 7, 2012

I am so privileged to work with such a dedicated, creative, fun group of people on the CCUW Board! They account for and spend every dollar as though it were their own, working continuously to find innovative ways to raise funds to continue to support the 14 Callaway County United Way Agencies; twelve months a year. We have an awesome Executive Director and because of her we keep our Administrative costs to minimum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

The Callaway County United Way's involvement and support continues to grow in our small community. It is an organization that strives to see to it that their campaign dollars go directly to member agencies that support children, senior citizens, the homeless and hungry in our local community. Each year we look for more ways to grown to help us reach out and touch even more individuals in need within our community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through volunteering at the Wiley House, local homeless shelter and been a witness to work that goes on there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone our Director, she is an awesome force behind the Callaway County United Way - she forever is scouting for additional opportunities to optimize our fundraising as well as minimize our admistrative costs.

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The Callaway County United Way funds 14 essential local agencies in Callaway County. Without funding from the CCUW many of our agencies would not exist. The programs and services provided by our partner agencies are utilized by nearly 20,000 people each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 5, 2011

I am a Red Cross Volunteer, and while not currently not actively involved in Disaster Services, I have work with members and agencies supported by the Callaway County United Way. Until you have done this type of work you may not have the comprehension of just how important the United Way is and how it helps the local community. Additionally, I am not sure the general public realizes the need that exists locally since larger more global issues generate most of the news. This is a very important and critical agency that provides extremely needed assistance to a vast number of people every year. I hope it can continue to thrive and be supported in the future!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through the work of the Red Cross in the 13 county chapter in Central missouri

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

Previous | 1 2 3...41 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers