Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.769235
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The California Wolf Center is a wonderful, educational place. I love that they are informing the public about an issue that most people don't know about; the plight of the wolf. The work they are doing is actually helping to save a species, and that is just so valuable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love it if they had ambassador wolves that people could interact with. I know it's counter-intuitive to what wild wolves actually are, but it would be so magical to have socialized wolves to mingle with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Love to visit the California wolf center. the information i received was enough to make me want to become a volunteer and help with the recovery efforts of the gray wolf God bless. CWC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep it like it is

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The California Wolf Center is a place that renews my faith in nonprofits that work for animal conservation. Their goal really is to help with recovery of wild wolf populations and they do so not by "fighting enemies" of that goal but they do it by educating people and getting them to realize we don't have to fight nature to meet our own needs but we can live in harmony with nature. They have an awesome facility that helps breed Mexican Grey Wolves for the Species Survival Plan, and they educate their volunteers on every aspect of how the whole facility works. Anyone that wants a to help can find a way to do so if they choose, whether it is as a keeper, doing office work, educating the public, or just giving a donation, everyone is welcome to help! I am a very new volunteer (still going through volunteer training which is organized and really good), but I already feel like this is going be the best place I have volunteered in conservation for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything offhand, but with how the staff talk and act I know they would be receptive to any suggestions I would have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The hard work to save wolves and to educate society in invaluable. Unfortunately there is a lot of ignorance and a culture to hunt ant torture these animals and without the work of this wonderful charity these beautiful animals fate would be far worse than what it is today. Well done guys for your hard work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was boring. It's not worth the money. Some wolves in a cage. Yawn. Imagine the zoo with only one species of animal.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I volunteered as an intern in the Fall of 2010. In the short time I was there, it was apparent how knowledgable and passionate the staff at the CWC are. The amount of daily chores and responsibilities in caring for the wolves is enormous; from figuring out how to keep crows away from their food hoppers to preparing their food to cleaning their water troughs and more. It was a wonderfully rewarding learning experience. The respect for the wolves and responsibility for their proper care was always the main priority with the CWC. They do a difficult, honorable, and valuble service to the wolves, contribute considerably to the scientific community, and foster a spirit of education and concern about a unique and beautiful creature to the general public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

just heard of this organization,I support all wildlife and animal protectors.we need to step in and help out this is very important.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Having grown up in San Diego as an animal and conservation enthusiast, I have always enjoyed the wildlife organizations that the city has to offer. The California Wolf Center is a hidden gem in the beautiful mountain town of Julian, CA, in eastern San Diego county. During the summer of 2011, I spent three months interning at the California Wolf Center, and fell absolutely in love with the facility, the wolves, the staff members, and the globally impacting goals that this non-profit pursues. I definitely recommend that everyone comes and visits this center because it is an experience that you will forever enjoy taking part in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having found out about a non-profit that focuses on conservation and wolves in San Diego County where I grew up, I made it a bucket list item that I will work for this non-profit before I die. Dramatic, I know. But hey, I love wolves. I was lucky enough to be chosen as one of their summer interns & I loved the job so much, I ended up staying on as a volunteer for another 5 months after my 3 month internship, having only left because I've since moved to Africa & it would be immensely unfeasible to commute! The California Wolf Center is a small NPO with some big plans in mind, run by an insanely dedicated group of volunteers and only 3 underpaid staff members who always do much more than their jobs entail. Every weekend, public tours are available for people to come and learn about the importance of the wolf as a top predator in its habitat and how that affects the entire ecosystem and to also see wolves up close and personal, if the wolves so which desire. The philosophy of the CWC is admirable and the wolves' well-being is a very high, if not top, priority and it is well reflected by the senior residents, especially Chaco, the oldest ever-recorded Mexican Gray wolf, at the golden age of 17. In addition to the weekend tours, there are many other avenues to get your CWC fix: private weekday tours, photography tours during winter, off-site presentations, virtual presentations, the possibilities are endless! Maybe not literally, but still. I cannot emphasize how awesome this organization is and how underappreciated they are! This is a definite must-see if you're in the San Diego area and you want to see something a bit different from the typical tourist attractions that San Diego is famous for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with animal husbandry, have a hands-on educational role, and assist with facility/enclosure maintenance and repair. Volunteer