Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.790325
Write A Review
July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2011

I've been fortunate to work with several staff members of the California State Parks Foundation. In addition, I frequently visit my local state parks and beaches. Just yesterday, I went hiking with my... more

July 22, 2013

We are lucky enough to live near some of California's most beautiful state parks. Just yesterday we stopped by Pt Lobos State Reserve to walk the forested trails and watch sea otters tumble in the emerald-colored water at Whaler's cove. Two weeks ago we camped at DL Bliss State Park at Lake Tahoe--an annual family-centered trip. And last month, my daughter and nephew spent a week at the Monterey State Historic Park adobes. While dressed in period costumes, they made tortillas, braided rope, branded leather and learned songs, games and dances from the early California period. These experiences enrich us and provide a much-needed respite from our highly structured, screen-focused lives. Site improvements & restoration, educational programs, and simple access to our state parks would not be possible without the California State Parks Foundation. The work of this nonprofit is more important than ever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2011

I've been fortunate to work with several staff members of the California State Parks Foundation. In addition, I frequently visit my local state parks and beaches. Just yesterday, I went hiking with my kids in my favorite local state park--Point Lobos. Gave me a chance once again to appreciate the important work of the dedicated professionals who make up the California State Parks Foundation. We need our state parks more than ever and the California State Parks Foundation plays a vital role in keeping our parks open and accessible. Keep up the great work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I recently consulted with the Parks Foundation on a policy report and a resource guide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes.

October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

The Salton Sea Discovery Kids Camp where kids learn science in a fun and exciting way, would not be possible without the caring and generosity of the California State Parks Foundation. They have been the life blood not only for the Kids Camp, but for the Kids very own Discovery Kids Group Camp Site as well. The Friends of the Salton Sea State Recreation Area, the non-profit Association for the Salton Sea State Recreation Area, cannot thank the California State Parks Foundation enough!
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

CALIFORNIA STATE PARK FOUNDATION (CSPF) has been invaluable in supporting not only our own nonprofit, MENDOCINO AREA PARKS ASSOCIATION (MAPA), but nonprofits and state parks in the entire state of California. CSPF has made possible the carrying out of our mission in our local state parks, which is providing education programs, park improvement projects (that would not happen without nonprofits and CSPF), and even the operation of the previously closed Standish-Hickey State Recreation that is now open for public camping and recreation. CSPF has been crucial for all of this.

CSPF has fought for years to keep all of our state parks open, and with amazing success. I can't imagine where our parks and our state would be without their efforts; because all is connected, their influence has reached beyond parks to millions of visitors and thousands of business that are dependent on those park visitors, which then benefits our state and everyone who lives and visits here. Our praise and gratitude can never fully express the true value of their contribution. CSPF is the GREATEST! THANK YOU, CSPF!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

The California State Parks Foundation has provided invaluable support to the State Park cooperating associations in moving forward to help the parks stay alive and thrive. This support has come in the form of grants as well as technical assistance directly related to our work. It is important to note that CSPF has provided a funding lifeline to those of us who stepped up to operate parks on the closure list two years ago. Underscored by staff members of the highest caliber, the special quality and level of partnership that CSPF brings to the table is outstanding, with tangible evidence of its positive impacts on State Parks manifest throughout the system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

My, where do I begin? When I was growing up, my parents took us kids camping at many of California State Parks. I grew up on Sonoma, CA, and spent many of my childhood hours at the Sonoma Mission, General Vallejo's home and Jack London State Park, fascinated by the history. When I was married, we took our children on trips to many of California State Parks. What would we do without them? They are not only an enjoyable place to spend a vacation, but they are full of valuable resources... educational, historical, geological, social, .. and on and on. I am fortunate to live In Humboldt County for the past 45 years, 44 of those years a half of a mile from Patrick's Point State Park. I've hiked many of the trails at Patrick's Point as well as Prairie Creek State Park, and Jedediah State Park, and I have been a volunteer at Patrick's Point State Park for the past 15 years. They are a treasure and need to be supported and maintained for future generations.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

We take every opportunity to visit our California State Parks. We travel a lot in our 1931 Model A Ford and plan our routes to include as many historic and scenic sites as time will allow. We have seen first hand what happens when funding falls short to run and maintain these parks. There are many places that would not be open or in existence, if not for the California State Parks Foundation.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

I'm from Germany and the best reason to visit California is: the State Parks!
California State Parks Foundation is indispensable!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

As a member, volunteer (only once so far, but plan to do it again - it was fun!) and user of CA's amazing state park system, I can't think of a better way to say thank you than to write a review. This organization makes it possible to keep our stunning park system the largest one in the U.S. They organize all types of volunteer activities not just to make the parks a better and more accessible place, but to give concerned citizens -like you and me- a chance to take part in making the world a better place, one park at a time! CA State parks are truly a treasure, and representative of the many ecosystems found in CA. Visiting all of them is on my bucket list - how 'bout yours?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have been to many state parks and believe they are a beautiful gift and should be cherished. My boyfriend and I volunteered at MacKerricher State Park and the people helping were very organized and friendly. It was a wonderful experience.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I've been volunteering with CSPF for a couple of years now and the work they do is AMAZING! i love getting out into a number of different parks up in the San Francisco Bay Area and helping out. It's fun!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a big impact gardening, repairing trails, painting, fixing campsites and more in their local state park with a small group of volunteers through our Park Champions Program. New projects are added to the calendar every month. Volunteer