Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.779665
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2011

I've been fortunate to work with several staff members of the California State Parks Foundation. In addition, I frequently visit my local state parks and beaches. Just yesterday, I went hiking with my... more

July 22, 2013

We are lucky enough to live near some of California's most beautiful state parks. Just yesterday we stopped by Pt Lobos State Reserve to walk the forested trails and watch sea otters tumble in the emerald-colored water at Whaler's cove. Two weeks ago we camped at DL Bliss State Park at Lake Tahoe--an annual family-centered trip. And last month, my daughter and nephew spent a week at the Monterey State Historic Park adobes. While dressed in period costumes, they made tortillas, braided rope, branded leather and learned songs, games and dances from the early California period. These experiences enrich us and provide a much-needed respite from our highly structured, screen-focused lives. Site improvements & restoration, educational programs, and simple access to our state parks would not be possible without the California State Parks Foundation. The work of this nonprofit is more important than ever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2011

I've been fortunate to work with several staff members of the California State Parks Foundation. In addition, I frequently visit my local state parks and beaches. Just yesterday, I went hiking with my kids in my favorite local state park--Point Lobos. Gave me a chance once again to appreciate the important work of the dedicated professionals who make up the California State Parks Foundation. We need our state parks more than ever and the California State Parks Foundation plays a vital role in keeping our parks open and accessible. Keep up the great work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I recently consulted with the Parks Foundation on a policy report and a resource guide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes.

September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

My, where do I begin? When I was growing up, my parents took us kids camping at many of California State Parks. I grew up on Sonoma, CA, and spent many of my childhood hours at the Sonoma Mission, General Vallejo's home and Jack London State Park, fascinated by the history. When I was married, we took our children on trips to many of California State Parks. What would we do without them? They are not only an enjoyable place to spend a vacation, but they are full of valuable resources... educational, historical, geological, social, .. and on and on. I am fortunate to live In Humboldt County for the past 45 years, 44 of those years a half of a mile from Patrick's Point State Park. I've hiked many of the trails at Patrick's Point as well as Prairie Creek State Park, and Jedediah State Park, and I have been a volunteer at Patrick's Point State Park for the past 15 years. They are a treasure and need to be supported and maintained for future generations.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

We take every opportunity to visit our California State Parks. We travel a lot in our 1931 Model A Ford and plan our routes to include as many historic and scenic sites as time will allow. We have seen first hand what happens when funding falls short to run and maintain these parks. There are many places that would not be open or in existence, if not for the California State Parks Foundation.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

I'm from Germany and the best reason to visit California is: the State Parks!
California State Parks Foundation is indispensable!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

As a member, volunteer (only once so far, but plan to do it again - it was fun!) and user of CA's amazing state park system, I can't think of a better way to say thank you than to write a review. This organization makes it possible to keep our stunning park system the largest one in the U.S. They organize all types of volunteer activities not just to make the parks a better and more accessible place, but to give concerned citizens -like you and me- a chance to take part in making the world a better place, one park at a time! CA State parks are truly a treasure, and representative of the many ecosystems found in CA. Visiting all of them is on my bucket list - how 'bout yours?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have been to many state parks and believe they are a beautiful gift and should be cherished. My boyfriend and I volunteered at MacKerricher State Park and the people helping were very organized and friendly. It was a wonderful experience.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I've been volunteering with CSPF for a couple of years now and the work they do is AMAZING! i love getting out into a number of different parks up in the San Francisco Bay Area and helping out. It's fun!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I enjoy the newsletters I get from CA State Parks Foundation. I'm hoping to join them to volunteer on one of their Park Champion weekends that include free overnight camping. I'm so glad they are working to keep our State Parks open!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

CSPF developed the fundraising program to restore the cottage at Jack London Park, an award winning effort that is now the crown jewel in our park. Further, the mentoring and ongoing financial support for programs and projects help make the park a great success. The Foundation was absolutely FUNDAMENTAL to our early success in operating Jack London State Historic Park as a non-profit. We salute the staff and board for their great work during this challenging time!
August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The California State Parks Foundation has been THE key organization in leading the fight to protect California State Parks. I've worked with them closely in the efforts to keep China Camp State Park open after it was threatened with permanent closure back in 2011. They were instrumental in spreading the word about the closure that affected 70 parks all across the state. They organize an annual Park Advocacy Day in Sacramento, in which park supporters get to play a direct role in our democracy, lobbying legislators on issues related to our state parks. They also have a great volunteer program called Park Champions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a big impact gardening, repairing trails, painting, fixing campsites and more in their local state park with a small group of volunteers through our Park Champions Program. New projects are added to the calendar every month. Volunteer