Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Urban Conservation Corps of the Inland Empire give California Releaf 10 stars! California ReLeaf is a great non-profit organization that operates statewide and truly helps grassroots and community based agencies protect the environment, as well as helps us build greater skills among inner city youth as it relates to caring for the land, trees and neighborhoods. For years, Cal Releaf has been instrumental helping some of the poorest areas in the Inland Empire breathe new life and excitement about urban forestry, air pollution and environmental stewardship.

In addition, California Releaf is also our right hand for advocacy and policy making as it relates to the environment and our neighborhoods. When this agency goes after change, they make it happen and it benefits the entire State of California. That makes them great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None...

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

CA Releaf has been instrumental in Woodland Tree Foundation's successful tree planting and Arbor Day events during the last several years. They have been a major source of funding for trees planted by our volunteers, allowing WTF to plant hundreds of shade trees at schools and along city streets. Their Arbor Day grants have provided funding for trees and publicity enabling this annual event to grow in popularity and volunteer support. Their staff regularly attend Arbor Day in Woodland to support our efforts. CA ReLeaf has also been a strong voice in Sacramento promoting the work of the ReLeaf network and the value of trees to combat global warming; they continue to advocate for additional state resources for tree planting. Through regular email communications and their newsletter CA ReLeaf keeps their membership informed of legislation at the state Capitol that is of importance to tree planting efforts; they also provide information about training workshops and profile the interesting and inspirational work of other tree organizations. We are proud to be a member of CA ReLeaf! Their organizational efforts give small tree planting nonprofits like Woodland Tree Foundation a stronger voice in all matters that pertain to trees and environmental enhancement of our communities. Their staff are very accessible and consistently provide high quality technical assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No major changes needed. They do a good job with the resources they have. I wish they had more resources to do their excellent work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

California ReLeaf rocks. Ever since it was founded under the leadership of Isabel Wade in the late 80's, California Releaf remains THE statewide advocate for both urban forestry and the nonprofits making it happen at the neighborhood level.

In addition to the valuable workshops and
materials it provides to nonprofits, CaliforniaReLeaf continues to be a major influence in bringing millions of dollars of federal and state funds to California communities through intense legislative tracking and advocacy.

Thank you Joe, Chuck and Ashley, et al, for all you do to support the efforts of California's urban forestry nonprofits - "the boots on the ground".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

California ReLeaf is a great non-profit that accomplishes a lot for the California urban forestry community. In the past, California ReLeaf has helped our organization (a very small urban forestry non-profit) receive grant funding on multiple projects that have really helped us work toward achieving our mission to plant and care for trees and educate our community.

Besides funding, California ReLeaf is always there to support us with outreach materials and press packets to make it really easy for us to communicate to our constituents and run really high quality programs without much front-end effort. This is key for us because we only have one half-time staff person to execute our programs.

California ReLeaf is also always on the front-line in Sacramento representing urban forestry interests on behalf of its members, many of them small non-profits like ours. We surely do not have the resources to ensure the interests of trees are represented in the capital city.

And it should noted that California ReLeaf achieves all this work with only a few staff people. They are a very efficient non-profit. Thank you for being awesome, California ReLeaf!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We have received a grant this term and working with the foundation has been great!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funds to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I had the opportunity to work with California ReLeaf on a planting project I helped organize at an elementary school. ReLeaf staff were always helpful and readily available to answer questions or offer support while I was preparing my application and planning my planting event. The organization has excellent resources for grantees putting together urban forestry projects. The entire grant process was easy to navigate and was an overall great experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

California ReLeaf has been a consistent player in the community based urban forestry world since I've been involved back in the early '90's...that's a long time!

Through their educational programs and annual conferences to their networking of other urban forestry groups in California,
Friends of the Urban Forest has been able to both share 'trade secrets' and gain them from other organizations.

In the past recent years ReLeaf has been a solid source of funding for several start-up innovative programs that simply would not have gotten off the ground with out such financial assist.

Another huge funding opportunity became available from ReLeaf when we proposed our tree planting, tree care and Youth Tree Care Programs as 'shovel ready' when Federal Stimulus money became available to urban forestry groups. ReLeaf worked very hard to bring those funds into the urban forestry world here in California.

With constant updates on potential Senate and Assembly bills which can influence funding to urban forestry, ReLeaf has successfully leveraged their member's connections to their local State leaders sharing language that groups like ours may use to persuade these leaders to use urban forestry as a solution in several successful bills on parks and clean water measures.

We appreciate the staff that work hard for our group as well as the smaller urban forestry groups in the State.

Thank you CA ReLeaf!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share and combine any and all administrative staff and money with other groups offering similar services in the State to be able to speak in a more powerful, more unified and more clear voice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Koreatown Youth and Community Center has been working with California ReLeaf for several years now, and they provide a much needed service to the urban forestry community of California. Through great educational programs and webinars, print materials, and grant funding they help make my organizations work possible in the community. They also play a key role in advocating for the urban forestry community at the state level to ensure funding for the many tree planting, care, and educational programs being provided to our communities.
Very thankful to California ReLeaf for their support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I work for Tree Musketeers, a youth-led environmental organization located in Southern California. My group has been a member of the California ReLeaf Network since 1991. The benefits we have received range from first class conferences to grants, advocacy at the state capital and valuable resources. ReLeaf is a pivot point for California's urban forestry movement and brings nearly 100 groups together for an amplified voice.

I also have served on ReLeaf's board of directors since its incorporation. I can attest that ReLeaf is a soundly structured organization with a clear vision and viable mission. It's board comprises diversely talented members who are engaged and dedicated. Likewise, the small staff brings the right mix of professional skills to implement big programs with the utmost of precision in aggressive pursuit of the mission. I cannot say enough about the high esteem I hold for California ReLeaf and its people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I hope for California ReLeaf is to enlarge the private funding piece of the revenue pie.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

North East Trees is a small urban forestry non-profit based out of north east Los Angeles. Over the past 25 years we have planted over 100,000 trees and trained hundreds of at risk youth in the disadvantaged communities that we serve. We do big work for such a small organization. None of this would be possible without the ongoing support of our partner organization, California ReLeaf. As an advocate in Sacramento, California ReLeaf has helped our organization access much needed funding and has done an incredible job educating our elected officials about the importance of urban forestry statewide. They have been extremely efficient, competent and passionate about the work that they do. Without them, our communities would be less green and our cities less livable. California ReLeaf is a great friend of our urban forests and those who work with them. Thank you California ReLeaf. Please keep doing what you are doing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay them more for the amazing work that they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers