Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

California ReLeaf has established a track record of success in its role as Volunteer Coordinator for CalFire's Urban and Community Forestry program. Since its inception, California ReLeaf has been a leader in urban forestry in California. Its Board is committed to continuing, and strengthening, that role.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

My journey into the world of urban forestry nonprofits has always had California ReLeaf with me. When I first began managing a small environmental nonprofit (1995), ReLeaf was my guide; offering advise, mentoring, reassuring. As that program grew, ReLeaf was more of a partner; providing grant opportunities, sharing tools of the trade, encouraging us. Later, when ReLeaf came to me and asked me for assistance, I was more than willing. I helped mentor other new network groups, shared our story, and served on various boards.

Currently I serve on the board of directors and have been a past president and treasurer. I enjoy sharing with other outside of the urban forest arena about the great work of California ReLeaf. Together the diverse network membership, the dedicated and energetic staff, and the knowledgeable board are advancing urban and community forestry in our state. I am proud to work with an organization that can make such a positive difference!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Urban Conservation Corps of the Inland Empire give California Releaf 10 stars! California ReLeaf is a great non-profit organization that operates statewide and truly helps grassroots and community based agencies protect the environment, as well as helps us build greater skills among inner city youth as it relates to caring for the land, trees and neighborhoods. For years, Cal Releaf has been instrumental helping some of the poorest areas in the Inland Empire breathe new life and excitement about urban forestry, air pollution and environmental stewardship.

In addition, California Releaf is also our right hand for advocacy and policy making as it relates to the environment and our neighborhoods. When this agency goes after change, they make it happen and it benefits the entire State of California. That makes them great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None...

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

CA Releaf has been instrumental in Woodland Tree Foundation's successful tree planting and Arbor Day events during the last several years. They have been a major source of funding for trees planted by our volunteers, allowing WTF to plant hundreds of shade trees at schools and along city streets. Their Arbor Day grants have provided funding for trees and publicity enabling this annual event to grow in popularity and volunteer support. Their staff regularly attend Arbor Day in Woodland to support our efforts. CA ReLeaf has also been a strong voice in Sacramento promoting the work of the ReLeaf network and the value of trees to combat global warming; they continue to advocate for additional state resources for tree planting. Through regular email communications and their newsletter CA ReLeaf keeps their membership informed of legislation at the state Capitol that is of importance to tree planting efforts; they also provide information about training workshops and profile the interesting and inspirational work of other tree organizations. We are proud to be a member of CA ReLeaf! Their organizational efforts give small tree planting nonprofits like Woodland Tree Foundation a stronger voice in all matters that pertain to trees and environmental enhancement of our communities. Their staff are very accessible and consistently provide high quality technical assistance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No major changes needed. They do a good job with the resources they have. I wish they had more resources to do their excellent work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

California ReLeaf rocks. Ever since it was founded under the leadership of Isabel Wade in the late 80's, California Releaf remains THE statewide advocate for both urban forestry and the nonprofits making it happen at the neighborhood level.

In addition to the valuable workshops and
materials it provides to nonprofits, CaliforniaReLeaf continues to be a major influence in bringing millions of dollars of federal and state funds to California communities through intense legislative tracking and advocacy.

Thank you Joe, Chuck and Ashley, et al, for all you do to support the efforts of California's urban forestry nonprofits - "the boots on the ground".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

California ReLeaf is a great non-profit that accomplishes a lot for the California urban forestry community. In the past, California ReLeaf has helped our organization (a very small urban forestry non-profit) receive grant funding on multiple projects that have really helped us work toward achieving our mission to plant and care for trees and educate our community.

Besides funding, California ReLeaf is always there to support us with outreach materials and press packets to make it really easy for us to communicate to our constituents and run really high quality programs without much front-end effort. This is key for us because we only have one half-time staff person to execute our programs.

California ReLeaf is also always on the front-line in Sacramento representing urban forestry interests on behalf of its members, many of them small non-profits like ours. We surely do not have the resources to ensure the interests of trees are represented in the capital city.

And it should noted that California ReLeaf achieves all this work with only a few staff people. They are a very efficient non-profit. Thank you for being awesome, California ReLeaf!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The mission of CalReleaf is an important one and the dedicated, savvy staff are doing exemplary work in serving that mission. From providing assistance, funding and direction to small local non-profit community action groups to advocating on the State or National level for government support, CalReleaf is truly a Great Nonprofit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

exponentially increase its funding to further enable it to serve its mission

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Urban Corps is proud to be partnered with California ReLeaf. We have worked together to plant hundreds of trees in San Diego County. In the process, we have raised awareness of the benefits of the urban forest and helped provide paid job training and a second chance to the at-risk youth we serve. By advocating for and planting trees, California ReLeaf is not only helping green our urban landscape, they are helping us achieve our mission of offering green job training and high school education to youth. This is a win-win for our community. Thank you CalReleaf!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We have received a grant this term and working with the foundation has been great!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funds to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

California ReLeaf has been a wonderful partner to work with over the past several years. Their commitment to urban forestry is inspiring. They are true leaders in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers