Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 22, 2015

more

March 22, 2015

The Attorney General should close this scam down. They prey on people that they are a police entity doing good to the underprivileged children. All the money they raise goes to their extravagant salaries. None goes to help the kids. Telemarketing gets 85 cents out of every dollar Raised. Look at their 990's. Scam!!!!!!!!!!! They should be ashamed. Where is the attorney general?? I always checkout where my money goes. I could not believe this one. I have law enforcement in my family and this makes them look really bad. I was forced to give them a 1 star to submit this. They shouldn't get any stars!!!!!
March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Scam. Telemarketers using computerized "folksy" recorded voices prompted by a human who is not allowed to speak. Ask a question and the computer says repeatedly -- "the police are sure doing a great job out there!." Eventually got a live person by repeating "supervisor", "supervisor".... She finally admitted that her company keeps 85% of the money they raise w/ only 15% going to Cal PAL.. and I'm sure only a tiny fraction of that goes to help kids. Do NOT give. Complain to California Attorney General's office. Indict 'em. Don't support 'em.
August 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I just received a phone call from this organization - to buy tickets to their rodeo, which in turn would "help underprivileged kids go to camp, swim, hike, fish (painting a warm and fuzzy picture, right?). When I asked the all-important question about how much the program actually got, the man said 80/20. I was thinking the program got the 80 and the 20 went to expenses. Nope, it's the other way around. The guy launched into this big song and dance about how expensive it was to rent out the Cow Palace, pay for tickets, programs, yada, yada, yada. Besides hating rodeos anyway, I wouldn't give these people a dime. And either should you.

I wish I could give it no stars, as they're wasting people's time and money that could be going directly to a good cause, not to line the telemarketer's pockets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Drop the expensive rodeo event, revamp the structure so it wasn't just a money-sucking entity taking funds away from the kids (revamp the management) and rebuild it from the ground up. More one-on-one in the community and less telemarketing sham.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

these people look like con artists claiming to be affiliated with the police to make it look legit. not only are your donations wasted here, they refuse to unsubscribe people to phone calls or mailings. perhaps i should file charges with the police against their own activities league ?!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

HAS ANYONE EVER DONE THE MATH ON WHERE THEIR DONATIONS GO??? Telemarketers have been solicting my elderly mother (who is on a limited income). My husband & I have law enforcemnt backgrounds so she believes she is doing the right thing by donating to CA PAL I have written this organization requesting they stop soliciting her as she cannot affrod to give to others at this point in her life. After investigating this organization, I will demand it they stop their calls at once! Based on CA PAL's 2009 IRS 990 filing, the two tele-marketing companies they use (Xentel INC & TBS Productions), keep 80 - 81% of the monies they raise! Of the portion (roughly 19-20%) that CA PAL actually received in 2009, 27% goes to salaries. So the question one really has to ask themself before they donate is: "WHO DO YOU WANT YOUR MONEY TO GO TO THE KIDS OR THE TELEMARKETERS? And oh by the way, don't let anyone tell you this is the nornal course of business. In my career I have been a Board member, including Secretary, President and Treasurer for 11 501 c3 non-profit organizations. One of which I was the CFO (Chief Financial Officer) for a Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation. I am appalled and you should be to!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers