Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.913045
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

The California Association of Student Councils (CASC) easily changed my life. When I was in high school I was a little lost and unsure about myself and future, and then was directed towards a CASC Conference, which helped me find my voice and my direction. I am now 30 years old and work in mental health, helping empower others, and I truly believe that this is a result of my involvement with CASC.
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

The California Association of Student Councils is easily the best decision of my high school career. Never have I ever felt so empowered and confident in myself and the personal development I have experienced over the last four years from CASC is truly amazing.

I started CASC as a shy
freshman when I attended UC Berkeley 2011 Summer Camp. CASC was such a welcoming, friendly environment and despite only four days, I became such great friends with people in a short period of time. Not an avid speaker, CASC presented me many opportunities to step outside of my comfort zone and grow externally and internally. After summer camp, I took it upon myself to take on as many CASC opportunities as I could, and throughout the past 4 years, CASC really pushed me to become a better person and leader.

CASC gave me a voice and the knowledge and skill set of a life time. I cannot thank CASC enough for the support and lessons it has taught me as well as the amazing people who I have become close friends with. CASC is definitely one of the most life-changing experiences ever. Without this organization, I really don't know where I would be because CASC has truly made me who I am.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 2, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 2, 2014

CASC made me the person I am today. UCSB Summer Camp started my CASC journey -- I was inspired by high-school-age counselors and staff, directly changing lives. I couldn't imagine myself being so confident and impactful. But I went to SDP and trained and learned for three long days, and then I found myself counseling my own group of 8 high school students. I found myself and I found confidence in myself and my leadership abilities. I am a leader. And I made my mark on hundreds of lives. I didn't have to be loud or outgoing or grownup to "be the change I wanted to see in the world." I can't thank CASC enough for making me a leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

I am one of those kids that wants to make a change in this world. Before I became a part of CASC, I had no idea how to go about making this change. After going to one of their programs and being a part of the State Council, I finally discovered what I want to do and how to go about making a difference. They opened my eyes to tons of opportunities and showed me that the best time to start something is now. I can't thank them enough for the tools they've given me that will help me become the leader I want to be and for how much they inspired me. I hope they can keep working on helping kids like me for many years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it less expensive so that more people can attend the conferences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

CASC has opened so many doors for me as an individual. It has granted me the opportunity to become a real part of my community. It is an incredible organization that has changed my life for the better in a short amount of time. It gives youth the chance to take their ambition and run with it in a way that will impact lives forever. CASC's mission is to better the future, and if I know anything for sure it is that it has bettered mine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

CASC is an organization that has changed my life. I have been fortunate enough to attend the Santa Barbara Summer Leadership Conference, SABE, SABLE, and YASC. Through experiencing the full extent of CASC, I now am a better leader, because I am now equipped with the life skills I need (i.e. running a meeting, public speaking, conflict-resolution) to pursue a leadership position in any field I feel passionate about. Not only am I more capable– I am more confident thanks to CASC as well. SABE and SABLE gave me the opportunity to analyze and understand– and even make changes to–my own education. YASC equipped me with the inspiration and skills necessary to start or work with other non-profits. Now that I am a board member, I can say that CASC on all levels, whether you be a delegate, a counsellor, a cabinet member, a state council member, or a board member, changes lives and continues to develop skilled and ethical leaders from all walks of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that CASC is better-funded on all levels. Due to governmental budget cuts and lack of financial support from other sources, CASC cannot touch every life it was designed to. CASC has limited scholarships for students to attend these conferences, and it is difficult for leaders of diverse socio-economic to attend without financial support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

I had my first CASC experience last year when I joined the Los Angeles county region cabinet, and since then CASC has transformed my life. This organization really empowers students to try to step up to make a difference in their community. At my first major conference, SABLE, the Student Advisory Board on Legislation in Education, I presented a bill proposal before the California Assembly Education Committee. This was a marvelous experience for me. To date, I'm still trying to make the bill proposal a reality, using the experiences CASC gave me. Currently, I am the Region 9 President and a student member on the Board of Directors. Honestly, I just want to get as involved as possible with this wonderful organization and help grow it to its greatest potential. I've seen lives drastically changed by this organization and I want to make sure every student in California has an opportunity to have their lives changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

While CASC came into my life later than I would have liked, I completely embody what CASC has to teach and give. While the California Association of Student Councils does a wonderful job reaching out to students across the world, it especially affected my community. Because of CASC, our region board has been able to accomplish so many things and has been able to give back to our community.

Without being involved CASC, I'm not quite sure where my passion would lie. CASC has not only changed my life, but over the way I think and the way I treat affect others. And I am totally okay with it. It has helped me become not only a better, open minded person, but a more effective leader and student.

The second I began to work with CASC, I fell in love with it. The atmosphere, the kind, welcoming people, and the shared passion to truly do something great was so alluring I could not help but keep coming back.

I am confident that CASC will continue to improve me as a person and cannot wait to impact others the way CASC has impacted me. CASC is truly a wonderful organization that I hope will continue to help kids in the future have a voice and truly Change The Future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

The California Association of Student Councils is a life-changing experience that all elementary school, middle school, and high school students should take part in. CASC is not just any leadership organization. What sets CASC apart are the results and success of its programs. Without attending my first CASC conference, I would not be the leader that I am today. CASC has given me the confidence, passion, and set of skills that make me believe that as one individual in the entire world I can make a huge impact. With the set of skills that CASC has given me, I feel ready to take on any challenge, and I can only hope to give back to this amazing organization as much as it has given to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CASC embodies the essence of leadership. Why? Because as an organization that is centered around student leadership and student advocacy, CASC successfully strives to develop all types of students from diversified backgrounds and cultures in order to produce excellence in students. Each year, CASC provides a bigger platform for students to express their concerns in both leadership and education on the regional and state level. The organization never fails to inspire the youth to produce phenomenal change.

To me personally, CASC has facilitated my development as a high school student throughout the past three years. By attending multiple in-year conferences, I have thoroughly gained the skills necessary to become an inspirational leader in both my school and community. CASC gave me the confidence to open up to other members in my community and work to inspire change.

CASC's motto is "Change the Future." But it does more than that. It changes people's lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers