Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.906985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

I am one of those kids that wants to make a change in this world. Before I became a part of CASC, I had no idea how to go about making this change. After going to one of their programs and being a part of the State Council, I finally discovered what I want to do and how to go about making a difference. They opened my eyes to tons of opportunities and showed me that the best time to start something is now. I can't thank them enough for the tools they've given me that will help me become the leader I want to be and for how much they inspired me. I hope they can keep working on helping kids like me for many years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it less expensive so that more people can attend the conferences.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

CASC has opened so many doors for me as an individual. It has granted me the opportunity to become a real part of my community. It is an incredible organization that has changed my life for the better in a short amount of time. It gives youth the chance to take their ambition and run with it in a way that will impact lives forever. CASC's mission is to better the future, and if I know anything for sure it is that it has bettered mine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

CASC is an organization that has changed my life. I have been fortunate enough to attend the Santa Barbara Summer Leadership Conference, SABE, SABLE, and YASC. Through experiencing the full extent of CASC, I now am a better leader, because I am now equipped with the life skills I need (i.e. running a meeting, public speaking, conflict-resolution) to pursue a leadership position in any field I feel passionate about. Not only am I more capable– I am more confident thanks to CASC as well. SABE and SABLE gave me the opportunity to analyze and understand– and even make changes to–my own education. YASC equipped me with the inspiration and skills necessary to start or work with other non-profits. Now that I am a board member, I can say that CASC on all levels, whether you be a delegate, a counsellor, a cabinet member, a state council member, or a board member, changes lives and continues to develop skilled and ethical leaders from all walks of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that CASC is better-funded on all levels. Due to governmental budget cuts and lack of financial support from other sources, CASC cannot touch every life it was designed to. CASC has limited scholarships for students to attend these conferences, and it is difficult for leaders of diverse socio-economic to attend without financial support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014

I had my first CASC experience last year when I joined the Los Angeles county region cabinet, and since then CASC has transformed my life. This organization really empowers students to try to step up to make a difference in their community. At my first major conference, SABLE, the Student Advisory Board on Legislation in Education, I presented a bill proposal before the California Assembly Education Committee. This was a marvelous experience for me. To date, I'm still trying to make the bill proposal a reality, using the experiences CASC gave me. Currently, I am the Region 9 President and a student member on the Board of Directors. Honestly, I just want to get as involved as possible with this wonderful organization and help grow it to its greatest potential. I've seen lives drastically changed by this organization and I want to make sure every student in California has an opportunity to have their lives changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

While CASC came into my life later than I would have liked, I completely embody what CASC has to teach and give. While the California Association of Student Councils does a wonderful job reaching out to students across the world, it especially affected my community. Because of CASC, our region board has been able to accomplish so many things and has been able to give back to our community.

Without being involved CASC, I'm not quite sure where my passion would lie. CASC has not only changed my life, but over the way I think and the way I treat affect others. And I am totally okay with it. It has helped me become not only a better, open minded person, but a more effective leader and student.

The second I began to work with CASC, I fell in love with it. The atmosphere, the kind, welcoming people, and the shared passion to truly do something great was so alluring I could not help but keep coming back.

I am confident that CASC will continue to improve me as a person and cannot wait to impact others the way CASC has impacted me. CASC is truly a wonderful organization that I hope will continue to help kids in the future have a voice and truly Change The Future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

The California Association of Student Councils is a life-changing experience that all elementary school, middle school, and high school students should take part in. CASC is not just any leadership organization. What sets CASC apart are the results and success of its programs. Without attending my first CASC conference, I would not be the leader that I am today. CASC has given me the confidence, passion, and set of skills that make me believe that as one individual in the entire world I can make a huge impact. With the set of skills that CASC has given me, I feel ready to take on any challenge, and I can only hope to give back to this amazing organization as much as it has given to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CASC embodies the essence of leadership. Why? Because as an organization that is centered around student leadership and student advocacy, CASC successfully strives to develop all types of students from diversified backgrounds and cultures in order to produce excellence in students. Each year, CASC provides a bigger platform for students to express their concerns in both leadership and education on the regional and state level. The organization never fails to inspire the youth to produce phenomenal change.

To me personally, CASC has facilitated my development as a high school student throughout the past three years. By attending multiple in-year conferences, I have thoroughly gained the skills necessary to become an inspirational leader in both my school and community. CASC gave me the confidence to open up to other members in my community and work to inspire change.

CASC's motto is "Change the Future." But it does more than that. It changes people's lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2010

California Association of Student Councils is a unique student led non profit organization that provides leadership experience and skills to our future leaders. I had the opportunity to be involved w... more

June 22, 2013

this organization teaches students lifelong skills that can be used in the profession and personal life - from running an effective meeting, building teams to conflict resolution and communication. They have programs for elementary to college level - from participating to train the trainer. I have volunteered on many levels from conferences, summer camp counselor, speaker and board member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2010

California Association of Student Councils is a unique student led non profit organization that provides leadership experience and skills to our future leaders. I had the opportunity to be involved with them from high school - through college and into my working career. www.casc.net

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I credit my success in managing corporate meeting, facilitating, and communication to the CASC experience and trainings. I am currently a successful executive working for the past 18 years.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

friends i made... the skills i learned... the lifelong experience and memories...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

young people leading with their hearts, minds and spirts

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

grow with more programs available for more schools offer more scholarships

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have written a review down below, but I can not stress how great and life changing this organization has been for me. CASC gave me a second home and to a high schooler, it is very special. CASC has been changing students' lives and more than that, it gives students a voice and a purpose. CASC has restored hope for many, and it continues to give more and more. CASC will always be my special place, and an organization that has given me hope for success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is by far the best non profit. I may be biased because of my involvement, but CASC is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I am still a part of CASC and I just came back home from YASC. I first went to the UCSB summer camp in 2011. It was the summer before my sophomore year, and I wish I knew about it sooner. CASC means so much to me. It gave me the capacity to love different people and to think about both sides of the story. The idea of being a leader is not only to serve people, but to empathize for another, and take my values and someone else's value to find a common ground. To lead people does not mean to boss them around, but to go hand in hand with someone else to serve a bigger purpose. This is what I learned through CASC. The people in CASC just amazes me and makes me want to go back right after I leave an event. I feel like I am at home when I am around the lovely CASC students and staff. I admire Doc so much and the students on state council am region cabinets. I definitely recommend the non profit to every student in California. CASC is amazing and everyone should be able to experience what I have experienced through CASC because it is life changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers