Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since 2009, we've adopted two dogs from CASF. At each visit, we were impressed with the cleanliness of the environment and the health and well-being of the animals. The staff was thorough and attentive, and worked to ensure we brought home a dog that would match well as a companion for our existing dogs. When we brought home our latest adoptee (in 2011), introductions didn't go as well as expected, but Jaleh stayed on the phone (after hours) and talked us through the process. Much patience and persistence later and the dogs were running wild and playing together. CASF takes on some of the most challenging rescues. These are animals that the shelters don't have the resources to take care of. Not only do they provide exceptional care for these animals, they adopt out pets who are healthy and well-adjusted. The dogs we've adopted from CASF have integrated well into our household, without many of the behavior issues we've experienced with animals adopted from public shelters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 24, 2012

My first experience with California Animal Shelter Friends was in 2009. One of my two 12-year-old dogs died very suddenly, leaving his lifelong pal without a buddy. I wanted to get a new friend for him right away and adopted a three-month old puppy from CASF. Since then I have adopted two more puppies and volunteer regularly at the shelter. They have adopted out more than 5000 pets to permanent homes...and all of those were rescued from a situation where they would have been euthanized. The owners of the shelter drop everything else they are doing when an animal is in need of being rescued and often travel on short notice to do so. The rescues I have seen range from litters of kittens without moms that can't be cared for at public shelters, to parvo puppies, to a Mastiff that needed emergency surgery. The list is endless, and every animal that enters the shelter receives the tender loving care and medical attention needed to prepare it for adoption. The facility is beautiful and welcoming to both the animals and potential adopters. Adoption applications are carefully screened and the shelter will keep an animal for as long as needed to find the right match. Potential adopters are encouraged to find the animal that best fits their situation, and when a good match is found they are sent home with educational materials about caring for their new best friend. All animals are microchipped, spayed or neutered, and up-to-date on vaccines. I have never seen a more pleasant atmosphere at a shelter, for both rescues and adopters, than at CASF. When you go there to adopt your next pet, you will see the heart-felt compassion given to each animal there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 16, 2012

Cleanest, most caring shelter I've ever seen. Dedicated staff and volunteers. Every animal has a complete medical record and, after an adopter gets acquainted with their charge, there is wonderful education and written instructions provided. Toys are in abundance, music tapes, tv, air-conditioning and lots of loving care. I've adopted 3 cats and 2 dogs over the last 10 years. Check-out their website - the happy stories are many.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 15, 2012

The care and dedication offered at CASF makes me know there's still true goodness in the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My understanding is that CASF accepts animals with special needs (medical conditions or pregnancy) from public shelters where lack of resources might mandate euthanasia. The CASF staff provide veterinary and husbandry care in a spotlessly clean and pleasant environment. It is a no-kill shelter where each animal is valued and forever home placement is carefully managed. I have been privileged to adopt two dogs from this wonderful shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers