Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

As a survivor of female genital mutilation which happened when I was 6 years old, I can say with absolute confidence that the work done by CAGeM in New York City is critical to the city's success in preventing and prosecuting female genital mutilation in the five boroughs. My experience with CAGeM began during their last fundraiser, Restoring the Rose Walk-a-thon. I was looking for a way to get volunteer hours for community service. What I got in return was so much more than what I bargained for...I had the pleasure of working in the events department and helping plan the Fundraiser. After listening to other survivors like me, I became inspired to be more active in the organization. The passion, dedication, knowledge, and sensitivity of CAGeM staff really makes this organization stand out. Their impact cannot be overstated because they are giving survivors a unique opportunity of genital reconstructive surgery at no cost to the patient. I know that there is hope for the future with this kind of treatment and the success of their campaign to stop FGM.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

My sister died at child birth due to complications from female genital mutilation in 2003. Since then I have tried to find a way to combat this horrible practice, so that no other family would have to go through what I have been through. I joined CAGeM and this year they are openning a hospital specifically to give free treatment and reconstructive surgery to victims of FGM. They are organizating a walk to raise awareness and money for shipping supplies to the hospital. Right here in Mali, I am also fundraising and am working with patients on the waiting list. Everyone is absolutely wonderful to work with, and they are so glad to be contributing to something that would help them and so many other women. The best part is that EVERY PENNY RAISED GOES STRAIGHT TO THE HOSPITAL. They are fully supported by volunteers and have no administrative costs. You can't get any better than that. Such a worthy cause and such a wonderful organization! Five stars!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I helped out at one CAGeM event. The dedication of the other volunteers is both outstanding and inspiring. What drew me to the organization is its dedication to the idea that small things can make a big difference, and that non-profits can run best by minimizing administrative costs and maximizing program effectiveness. That instead of that cup of coffee, you can help a woman get to a treatment center hundreds of miles away without her having to walk several hours under the heat with a baby on her back before the break of dawn! Makes a world of difference. Keep doing what you're doing CAGeM!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

I have done a lot of volunteer work throughout the years, but working with CAGeM has truly proven to be the most rewarding/wonderful experience I have ever had. This organization opened my eyes to such a horrendous practice that I was ill-informed about prior to joining forces with them. They have given me the tools to be a true advocate against FGM, and I am most grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

Volunteering for CAGeM has been a wonderful opportunity. I know my efforts help a just cause to eradicate FGM. I try to commit more time everyday because I know the slightest effort goes a long way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in picking up and shipping donations to the free hospital. Volunteer