Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Our only child is disabled and we worry about who will take our place. Bytheirside is composed of caring parents and professionals who can help take up the slack and help trustees and other family members oversee the care and safety of disabled family members when their parents are no longer able. They make wise use of their resources, too! They also help educate parents and family members on the rights and services available to the disabled in our state and how to navigate the system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Our son Douglas Volkman has been enrolled in this program since 1993. As a parent and a professional in the ID field, I have learned the "ins and outs" of the system, However, his brother does not have that advantage, and we enrolled so that he would have support to make informed decisions about the life of his brother when we are no longer around. Although Doug does not yet reciev any services, it is comforting to know that expert help is just a phone call away!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My brother is developmentally disabled. Years ago my father got in touch with this organization but as we were children then I did not know this. Now my brother is 61 and I am 67. My parents are gone. But almost right after they passed (13 years ago now) ani credible woman got in touch with me and my brother and got him settled in his own place witha roommate and helped me with all the DDA paperwork and got my brother something he always wanted - independence and self- confidence to take a job and to eventually have his own apartment and the help to keep his independence. When my brother was growing up there wasn't much out there for him or for my parents. A doctor told them he should be institutionalized but they kept him homeland gave him a beautiful life with tons of love and affection. This has remained with him. He is a wonderful man and had this happened today I am confident I saying that his life may have been greatly different. He is high functioning but I am convinced that the dedicated people at By Their Side saw that in him and helped bring out even more those qualities in my brother. I am forever indepted to By Their Side!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My sister is a developmentally disabled individual who lives far away from me, and my elderly parents are no longer able to advocate for her well being. What to do? By Their Side steps in and makes sure people with developmental disabilities are properly looked after when no one else is around to do it. They are a God send.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Our Son, now 44, has been a member since 1985. We have been so grateful for the peace of mind that By their Side provides in assuring that as we get older and possibly unable to advocate for our son, they will be there to step in and work on his behalf. His siblings live out of state and may not always be directly involved in his advocacy with the agencies, and services that he receives . By their Side will fill that direct support. We joined when he was young, but now realized as we get older how important it is to have this support program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I've known about this non profit since 1990 while employed by a MD funded advocacy agency for people with developmental disabilities. I always felt this was a perfect option for families who could feel that their loved one would always have an advocate during their lifetime and especially for when they pass on. No matter what other agencies were involved in their loved ones life, they knew there would always be this constant they could count on

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am attorney that works with families with loved ones with developmental disabilities. By Their Side is a great organization that works with families to see that their loved ones are well taken care of when they are not able to be there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers may contact us at 443-279-1234.-Assist us with office projects so that limited staff hours can be directed back into member services. -Serve on a board committee such as fundraising, outreach, member services, sharing with us your particular expertise-Join our speaker's bureau to help other families learn about our services.