Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

My family has belonged to By Their Side for six years, and I love the organization so much that I became a volunteer board member. We are counting on them to look after our son's interests after we a... more

November 1, 2014

Our family has belonged to By Their Side for about ten years. They are a wonderful organization. Our son, age 31, has Down syndrome. He is living in a group home and is employed with employment support from a state-funded agency, but we are 72, so we worry about who will look out for his overall interests when we are gone. We also have a daughter, but she lives out of state so cannot follow her brother's needs and situation in real time. We are counting on By Their Side to fill that role. Since becoming members, we have been very involved with the organization, and we are tremendously impressed with their competence and their caring. They have helped us when we had problems with our son's provider agencies. We have a special needs trust for our son, and we are counting on By Their Side to work with our daughter and the trustee to make sure that the money is used to enhance his life, and we are counting on them to keep our daughter informed about her brother's situation. Having By Their Side involved just gives us tremendous peace of mind.
November 11, 2012

My family has belonged to By Their Side for six years, and I love the organization so much that I became a volunteer board member. We are counting on them to look after our son's interests after we are gone, and make sure that his trust fund is used to enhance his life. By Their Side has also helped us to already to navigate the disabilities support system and to resolve disagreements with his service providers. It is a great organization with a caring and professional staff as well as very dedicated volunteer leadership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

By Their Side provides expert advice and guidance for families navigating services for family members with intellectual disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have 2 daughters with developmental disabilities. My husband and I have always worried about what will happen to the girls when we are no longer here. Neither side of the family is very involved with our girls. When our youngest was 6 months old, we heard about By Their Side (then MTRC) and decided to enroll. Over the years we have begun to realize just how much of a role By Their Side will play when the time comes for both our girls and the family member who has agreed to step up and watch out for them. To ensure this wonderful organization remains solvent and still exists at that time, I have become a Board member and have served for the past 10 years. I have seen and heard first hand about some of the great opportunities this organization has been involved in for our clients and our family recently hired By Their Side to assist us in getting through the application process for residential placement. Read the information on the website or call the office, they will be happy to talk to you and answer any questions you may have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We enrolled our son back when this organization was just getting off the ground and were so happy to find an organization dedicated to continue oversight of his care when we were no longer around! That is always one of the major worries of parents with lifelong dependent children. It's one peace of mind amidst the chaos. We have been so pleased at the rate and way it has grown in services that can be provided and the structure of the organization. Jeanne Walsh

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

By Their Side gives us peace of mind to know that there will order in our son's life and his assets and needs will be protected.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

We have belonged to By Their Side since its early days and have been amazed at how they have expanded their professionalism and programming. Our daughters will definitely be calling on By Their Side to help supervise their brother's care once we're gone. We also learned about the efficacy of having "family meetings" at a By Their Side meeting, and have put it into practice with great success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

By Their Side is extremely proactive in monitoring and evaluating my brother's care. He is in a terrific program that is absolutely perfect. His care is beyond expectations. Even in this circumstance, it is helpful to have By Their Side involved in evaluating his care. They take action and communicate with me long before I have questions. What a great partner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

We enrolled our older daughter in By Their Side in 2007, and are confident that it will assist her younger sister in overseeing her personal needs after we have departed this life. Having this resource will enable our younger daughter to pursue her career and dreams, without being solely responsible for such oversight. Not encumbering the younger sibling, so to speak, has been our lifelong goal. We are relieved that By Their Side will have the resources and volunteers to support its clients' needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This organization advocates for my retarded sister. They do a great job. Very professional, knowledgeable and efficient. I would highly recommend By Their Side as your advocate. Their name says it all-they are truly by their side.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My daughter has been enrolled in the By Their Side program since 1988. Initially, and to this day, it is greatly comforting to know that when she becomes an active client, caring individuals will diligently advocate for her best interests throughout her life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteers may contact us at 443-279-1234.-Assist us with office projects so that limited staff hours can be directed back into member services. -Serve on a board committee such as fundraising, outreach, member services, sharing with us your particular expertise-Join our speaker's bureau to help other families learn about our services.