Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.914295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

BVL has been Brightening Veterans Lives since 1942 and the impact of BVL can't be summarized in the few sentences that I am leaving here.

BVL provides recreational and therapeutic support for our veterans when they need it the most. As a USBC Board member that serves on the BVL Board it
is extremely gratifying to see that 92% of the money raised by BVL goes directly to the programs and services that our veterans so desperately need.
May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I am a board member but so much more ... I am an admirer of how efficiently BVL is run and that focus is never lost. Every decision is made with the mission of Brightening Veterans Lives regardless of race, gender, age. BVL reaches out to all veterans! Our only goal is to be able to help and serve all of the veterans who need us. They deserve our support so we work tirelessly to be efficient so that the greatest percentage possible of the money dobpnated goes to them. The best (bestest!) part is that BVL will always be there and will always be ready to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the board in hopes of gaining access to more knowledge and connections.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

BVL provides so much for the returning service men & women to assist with their therapy and how to adjust with life. Recreational therapy can really help with the change in mindset needed to adjust to the situations so many have when they return that are truly life changing. For some, it has provided the one thing that brings hope and a smile!

BVL has possibly one of the lowest administrative cost percentages than most organizations and yet is able to provide so much. The support from BVL is recognized by the Department of Veterans Affairs, and receives positive remarks from not only veterans and active duty personnel but from the staff at the facilities that work with them. They are truly helping to Brighten Veterans Lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do whatever possible to get support from corporations and expand beyond the bowling world for support. For an organization that does so much, it really is a best kept secret outside of the veterans hospitals and centers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a bowling center proprietor I was always impressed when Veteran's Day came around each year and the bowlers started to take up a collection on the lanes for the Bowlers Veterans Link...everybody contributed..not a lot.. maybe a dollar or two..once in awhile a ten dollar or twenty dollar bill...no one hesitated ..it was spontaneous and quietly inspiring. Ordinary folk ( no big donors or corporations ) with many small donations accumulating and mounting up to sums that could make a difference in Veterans lives. When my twenty year old grandson, a sergeant in the United States Marine Corps, was killed early in the war in Iraq I felt compelled in his honor to do something --What better way than to get involved and help BVL achieve its mission of providing recreational and therapeutic programs and services to brighten the days of his buddies, America's active duty and veteran service men and women. Since then I have witnessed first hand the difference BVL can make in their lives. It is impressive. This low overhead charity that has a part time executive director and which relies on volunteer fundraising has raised more than $40 million and brought sunshine into the lives of thousands of both active and retired military personnel. It is a great charity that does wonderful work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Bowlers to Veteran's Link does an amazing job supporting the Veteran's Administration Hospitals across the United States, as well as providing support to our men and women in the Armed Forces who are still serving. Nearly all donations for this organizations come from the bowling industry and its supporters. Programs, services, and recreation is provided to those who gave so much. This organization runs on a shoestring but is so vital.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers