Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

BVL contributes to the well being of our veterans and active military personnel. As a contributor to BVL, I know that the three VA centers in IA receive funding for goods and services that are enjoyed by our veterans. BVL also supports a national TEE (Training Exposure & Experience) tournament which is held annual in Iowa for disabled veterans. The events include bowling, horseback riding, kayaking, and golf. I've had the pleasure of assisting the veterans in the bowling venue for the past four years. What a thrill it is to help and see them enjoy this event. Without BVL and the support given by them to our veterans, our veterans would have far fewer advantages than they now receive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more people to contribute to BVL so they can do even better than they already do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The BVL Fund Inc. has been a sponsor of the Department of Veterans Affairs' National Veterans Creative Arts Festival for years. BVL understands how the arts (music, dance, drama creative writing and visual arts) make a major difference in the lives of America's Veterans. Through the support from BVL, the NVCAF has been able to purchase awards for nearly 4,000 Veterans throughout the country that have participated in the annual competition, as well as support the Creative Arts Festival, an event that not only recognizes Veterans for their creative achievements, but promotes continued learning and involvement in the arts through community arts opportunities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Amazing charity with unbelievably low overhead. A few years ago, a friend made me aware of the high administrative cost of many popular charities which caused me to do a little investigation of my own. When I found out what the charities I had supported for years were spending on salaries and fundraising, I quickly increased by BVL donations and reduced or cancelled my support for other charities.

I have seen BVL's results in person and know for a fact they are making life better for our deserving veterans. Unfortunately our country can't currently afford to provide all the services that our veterans deserve so services from organizations like BVL are needed more now thatn at any time in recent memory.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on expanding the pool of fundraising volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The BVL is a unique organization that provides much needed services and activities for veterans, and those recuperating, through the community and sport of bowling. As a bowling proprietor, I decided to use our old bowling pins (bowling pins have a life span!) to raise donations for the BVL and promote awareness of this great resource in our area. Organizers and volunteers at the BVL are thorough, accommodating, and easy to work with. We will definitely conduct fundraising on behalf of the BVL again!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Having worked in the bowling industry since 1975 BVL is the organization we always support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

BVL Bowling for Veterans League has give so much to our veterans at the VA. They recently provided funds for our Serenity Garden turning our patio into a beautiful for veterans to bask in the sun and enjoy the outdoors. Two tiled cement tables, fountain, plants and vases, 2 outdoor patio sets and a large umbrella. It is the place to go for our veterans. Thanks to BVL we were able to complete this very special project for our special veterans.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a bowling center proprietor I was always impressed when Veteran's Day came around each year and the bowlers started to take up a collection on the lanes for the Bowlers Veterans Link...everybody contributed..not a lot.. maybe a dollar or two..once in awhile a ten dollar or twenty dollar bill...no one hesitated ..it was spontaneous and quietly inspiring. Ordinary folk ( no big donors or corporations ) with many small donations accumulating and mounting up to sums that could make a difference in Veterans lives. When my twenty year old grandson, a sergeant in the United States Marine Corps, was killed early in the war in Iraq I felt compelled in his honor to do something --What better way than to get involved and help BVL achieve its mission of providing recreational and therapeutic programs and services to brighten the days of his buddies, America's active duty and veteran service men and women. Since then I have witnessed first hand the difference BVL can make in their lives. It is impressive. This low overhead charity that has a part time executive director and which relies on volunteer fundraising has raised more than $40 million and brought sunshine into the lives of thousands of both active and retired military personnel. It is a great charity that does wonderful work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been a BVL volunteer for many years and have witnessed the great work this organization does for our veterans. I have visited Veterans' Hospital several times and have seen the veterans enjoying the musical group and activities sponsored by the BVL. It is amazing how much good BVL does and how much of the donated dollar actually goes to the veterans. Overhead costs for BVL are the lowest I have ever seen in a non-profit (and have worked for non-profits for the last 20 years)!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

The BVL has generously supported the Bowling Center at the Veterans Home, Yountville , CA, for the past 30 years! Our 1000 residents and their families enjoy this activity. The theraputic value of wheelchair bowling cannot be underestimated! Even spectators get great pleasure, reminiscing and vicariously enjoying the fun. We have been so generously blessed by physical and financial support of the BVL. Every donation dollar allows us to maintain and provide this great activity. Without the BVL, our lanes would be dark!With great appreciation- Karen Zanetell, Director, Residential Care Programs,veterans Home of California, Yountville, CA 94599

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I'm a member of the local bowling association for DC, MD, VA. This organization has raised monies for veterans all of my 24 yrs of bowling and is a worthy cause and deserves lots of support to help our veterans in need. Top Cat333

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers