Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.885
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The BVL is a unique organization that provides much needed services and activities for veterans, and those recuperating, through the community and sport of bowling. As a bowling proprietor, I decided to use our old bowling pins (bowling pins have a life span!) to raise donations for the BVL and promote awareness of this great resource in our area. Organizers and volunteers at the BVL are thorough, accommodating, and easy to work with. We will definitely conduct fundraising on behalf of the BVL again!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Having worked in the bowling industry since 1975 BVL is the organization we always support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

BVL Bowling for Veterans League has give so much to our veterans at the VA. They recently provided funds for our Serenity Garden turning our patio into a beautiful for veterans to bask in the sun and enjoy the outdoors. Two tiled cement tables, fountain, plants and vases, 2 outdoor patio sets and a large umbrella. It is the place to go for our veterans. Thanks to BVL we were able to complete this very special project for our special veterans.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a bowling center proprietor I was always impressed when Veteran's Day came around each year and the bowlers started to take up a collection on the lanes for the Bowlers Veterans Link...everybody contributed..not a lot.. maybe a dollar or two..once in awhile a ten dollar or twenty dollar bill...no one hesitated ..it was spontaneous and quietly inspiring. Ordinary folk ( no big donors or corporations ) with many small donations accumulating and mounting up to sums that could make a difference in Veterans lives. When my twenty year old grandson, a sergeant in the United States Marine Corps, was killed early in the war in Iraq I felt compelled in his honor to do something --What better way than to get involved and help BVL achieve its mission of providing recreational and therapeutic programs and services to brighten the days of his buddies, America's active duty and veteran service men and women. Since then I have witnessed first hand the difference BVL can make in their lives. It is impressive. This low overhead charity that has a part time executive director and which relies on volunteer fundraising has raised more than $40 million and brought sunshine into the lives of thousands of both active and retired military personnel. It is a great charity that does wonderful work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been a BVL volunteer for many years and have witnessed the great work this organization does for our veterans. I have visited Veterans' Hospital several times and have seen the veterans enjoying the musical group and activities sponsored by the BVL. It is amazing how much good BVL does and how much of the donated dollar actually goes to the veterans. Overhead costs for BVL are the lowest I have ever seen in a non-profit (and have worked for non-profits for the last 20 years)!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

The BVL has generously supported the Bowling Center at the Veterans Home, Yountville , CA, for the past 30 years! Our 1000 residents and their families enjoy this activity. The theraputic value of wheelchair bowling cannot be underestimated! Even spectators get great pleasure, reminiscing and vicariously enjoying the fun. We have been so generously blessed by physical and financial support of the BVL. Every donation dollar allows us to maintain and provide this great activity. Without the BVL, our lanes would be dark!With great appreciation- Karen Zanetell, Director, Residential Care Programs,veterans Home of California, Yountville, CA 94599

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I'm a member of the local bowling association for DC, MD, VA. This organization has raised monies for veterans all of my 24 yrs of bowling and is a worthy cause and deserves lots of support to help our veterans in need. Top Cat333

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

We are a small bowling association but every year, we have a tournament where the funds go to support the veterans. It is not a lot of money, but every little bit helps these wonderful people who have given a portion of their lives so we can be free to bowl.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

BVL was founded in 1942 to let the American Veteran know "they are not forgotten" by providing recreation, crafts and entertainment to hospitalized and disabled veterans. Our association sponsors special tournaments throughout the bowling season, with all proceeds going to BVL. We have been privileged to present the BVL check to the VA Hospital, knowing the money will bring comfort, fun and enjoyment to men & women who have served our country. To see a veteran laying on a gurney, smiling and clapping his hands as BVL sponsored performers bring joy and happy memories to lives spent in a hospital. BVL has been honored by special invitation to be part of the Veterans Day Celebration at Arlington Cemetery... the only non-military organization so honored.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Every year our bowling association takes a collection each year on the week of Veteran Day to support the BVL (Bowlers to Veterans Link) it is a wonderful organization. It supports our Veterans in hospitals & supports our troops who are serving our country. We our chartered under USBC which is the United States Bowling Congress we are very proud to support our Veterans every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers