Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.914295
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

While I have been a big supporter of BVL for many years, I recently became involved with the leadership of this wonderful organization. I wanted to volunteer my time because I believe in our mission and know how important our programs are for veterans and active duty troops. What we provide is unique and of great value....giving those who sacrificed for us the opportunity to enjoy the simple pleasures of life that sports and the arts can bring. We know what we are doing is making a difference in the lives of thousands of veterans; but we need to do more. We need to grow our efforts to meet the needs of our American Heroes. Join with us,
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

I have had the privilege of serving our country during the Vietnam War and I have the highest respect for my fellow veterans and active duty men and women - their sacrifices are unparalleled...

It has been my honor to serve as the spokesperson for BVL over the past decade. As a pro bowler
touring the country, I have seen BVL dollars at work in VA Hospitals and State Homes, brightening the days and boosting the spirit of my fellow veterans. I know the positive energy that sport can bring and I see that energy brought to veterans of all ages and abilities through the many different BVL programs and activities.

Knowing how important the sports, arts and other theraputic BVL programs are I would encourage anyone who wants to make a difference in the lives of our veterans to support BVL.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

BVL has been Brightening Veterans Lives since 1942 and the impact of BVL can't be summarized in the few sentences that I am leaving here.

BVL provides recreational and therapeutic support for our veterans when they need it the most. As a USBC Board member that serves on the BVL Board it
is extremely gratifying to see that 92% of the money raised by BVL goes directly to the programs and services that our veterans so desperately need.
September 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 18, 2013

Amazing charity with unbelievably low overhead. A few years ago, a friend made me aware of the high administrative cost of many popular charities which caused me to do a little investigation of my ow... more

September 22, 2014

Our Bowling Pro Shop has adopted BVL as our charity of choice. We have witnessed the great work they do and feel it is an honor to help this amazing organization. Our entire staff is supportive of this charity and we are constantly looking for new fundraising ideas.
September 18, 2013

Amazing charity with unbelievably low overhead. A few years ago, a friend made me aware of the high administrative cost of many popular charities which caused me to do a little investigation of my own. When I found out what the charities I had supported for years were spending on salaries and fundraising, I quickly increased by BVL donations and reduced or cancelled my support for other charities.

I have seen BVL's results in person and know for a fact they are making life better for our deserving veterans. Unfortunately our country can't currently afford to provide all the services that our veterans deserve so services from organizations like BVL are needed more now thatn at any time in recent memory.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on expanding the pool of fundraising volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

For several years BVL has been providing money to be used for the Wounded Warriors at Walter Reed National Medical Center. The support is used to provide them with the ability to bowl for free. Most of these individuals will be returning to small town America where the Bowling Center is a hub for social interaction and a place where many different groups of people go for entertainment. Giving the Warriors the confidence to participate in the sport makes them more likely to feel comfortable, now that they have recovered some of their athletic skills in a sport which can be enjoyed by amputees, brain damaged troops and those soldiers, sailors and airmen with PTSD.

Noel Dysart, Manager, Bethesda Naval Bowling Center

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding for their worthwhile projects

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I contacted Bowlers for Veterans to apply for a bowling lane kit for my brother, a soldier who is currently deployed overseas in a war zone. Immediately they wanted to know more about the soldier and unit in need and put together an amazing professional package of not only the bowling kit, but other goodies and love notes from his hometown. Being deployed and away from loved ones in service to the United States can be a stressful time and the generosity from BVL really helped. The bowling lane kit that was delivered increased troop morale and should be considered essential to MWR operations. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 19, 2013

I am a board member of the Monmouth County USBC. The national USBC (United States Bowling Congress) has always supported our veterans and we have always supported efforts to raise finds. We have been ... more

July 31, 2014

BVL (Bowlers to Veterans Link) is a very well run organization that supports our veterans and troops at home and abroad. There is a small group of very dedicated people to support the national organizaton. They provide money for medical or recreation equipment to state run veterans nursing homes. An entertainment group called "Re-Creation" tours the country to entertain the veterans in nursing homes. Bowling lane kits are sent to the troops overseas to provide a distraction and fun. The few people manning this organization work very hard to provide a lot of services, and we applaud them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2013

I am a board member of the Monmouth County USBC. The national USBC (United States Bowling Congress) has always supported our veterans and we have always supported efforts to raise finds. We have been fortunate to collect an average of $2,000 per year. When we send our money to the national BVL, we know we are supporting thousands of locations around the country, including a group known as Re-Creation. This group is comprised of wonderful young song and dance people, who brighten the lives of every veteran they meet. The national organization keeps only 10% of what we send and then allows us to select a local veterans home to give our 90%. For us, it is such an honor to be able to share our donations with those in the local veterans home. We thank the BVL for that opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. They work on a very small budget and do wonderful things for the veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

For 70 years n9w, BVL has a proud tradition of supporting our veterans, providing funds and materials for services that might otherwise never be funded. I am proud to be a volunteer supporting this o... more

May 11, 2014

BVL is a long-standing national charity for the bowling industry, one that bowlers nationwide, as well as internationally are proud to support. It is heart-warming to see the pride of local and state bowling association leaders as they raise funds to support all of the programs that BVL has to offer.
October 27, 2012

For 70 years n9w, BVL has a proud tradition of supporting our veterans, providing funds and materials for services that might otherwise never be funded. I am proud to be a volunteer supporting this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I am a board member but so much more ... I am an admirer of how efficiently BVL is run and that focus is never lost. Every decision is made with the mission of Brightening Veterans Lives regardless of race, gender, age. BVL reaches out to all veterans! Our only goal is to be able to help and serve all of the veterans who need us. They deserve our support so we work tirelessly to be efficient so that the greatest percentage possible of the money dobpnated goes to them. The best (bestest!) part is that BVL will always be there and will always be ready to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the board in hopes of gaining access to more knowledge and connections.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

I am first and foremost a VietNam veteran Marine who never got involved in any charity work until 3 years ago. I met Elizabeth at BVL's booth at the USBC convention. After talking with her I volunteered to chair our BVL committee for the Metro Phoenix bowling association. Meeting with our bowlers let me see how dedicated they are to helping our veterans. Over the last 3 years our association has raised almost $30,000. The BVL's Recreation entertainment group puts smiles on the faces of our bedridden veterans. This year I was fortunate enough to actually hand our donation checks to the 3 area Veterans facilities administrators, and to visit the veterans in their facilities. BVL has been actively working for our veterans since 1942, and we will continue to do our best to ensure our veterans, my brethren, will continue to be cared for.
Thank you to the BVL and USBC.
Dennis Brummitt
VP MPUSBC
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers