Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.903235
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

For several years BVL has been providing money to be used for the Wounded Warriors at Walter Reed National Medical Center. The support is used to provide them with the ability to bowl for free. Most of these individuals will be returning to small town America where the Bowling Center is a hub for social interaction and a place where many different groups of people go for entertainment. Giving the Warriors the confidence to participate in the sport makes them more likely to feel comfortable, now that they have recovered some of their athletic skills in a sport which can be enjoyed by amputees, brain damaged troops and those soldiers, sailors and airmen with PTSD.

Noel Dysart, Manager, Bethesda Naval Bowling Center

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funding for their worthwhile projects

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I contacted Bowlers for Veterans to apply for a bowling lane kit for my brother, a soldier who is currently deployed overseas in a war zone. Immediately they wanted to know more about the soldier and unit in need and put together an amazing professional package of not only the bowling kit, but other goodies and love notes from his hometown. Being deployed and away from loved ones in service to the United States can be a stressful time and the generosity from BVL really helped. The bowling lane kit that was delivered increased troop morale and should be considered essential to MWR operations. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 19, 2013

I am a board member of the Monmouth County USBC. The national USBC (United States Bowling Congress) has always supported our veterans and we have always supported efforts to raise finds. We have been ... more

July 31, 2014

BVL (Bowlers to Veterans Link) is a very well run organization that supports our veterans and troops at home and abroad. There is a small group of very dedicated people to support the national organizaton. They provide money for medical or recreation equipment to state run veterans nursing homes. An entertainment group called "Re-Creation" tours the country to entertain the veterans in nursing homes. Bowling lane kits are sent to the troops overseas to provide a distraction and fun. The few people manning this organization work very hard to provide a lot of services, and we applaud them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2013

I am a board member of the Monmouth County USBC. The national USBC (United States Bowling Congress) has always supported our veterans and we have always supported efforts to raise finds. We have been fortunate to collect an average of $2,000 per year. When we send our money to the national BVL, we know we are supporting thousands of locations around the country, including a group known as Re-Creation. This group is comprised of wonderful young song and dance people, who brighten the lives of every veteran they meet. The national organization keeps only 10% of what we send and then allows us to select a local veterans home to give our 90%. For us, it is such an honor to be able to share our donations with those in the local veterans home. We thank the BVL for that opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. They work on a very small budget and do wonderful things for the veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

For 70 years n9w, BVL has a proud tradition of supporting our veterans, providing funds and materials for services that might otherwise never be funded. I am proud to be a volunteer supporting this o... more

May 11, 2014

BVL is a long-standing national charity for the bowling industry, one that bowlers nationwide, as well as internationally are proud to support. It is heart-warming to see the pride of local and state bowling association leaders as they raise funds to support all of the programs that BVL has to offer.
October 27, 2012

For 70 years n9w, BVL has a proud tradition of supporting our veterans, providing funds and materials for services that might otherwise never be funded. I am proud to be a volunteer supporting this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2014

more

May 8, 2014

I am a board member but so much more ... I am an admirer of how efficiently BVL is run and that focus is never lost. Every decision is made with the mission of Brightening Veterans Lives regardless of race, gender, age. BVL reaches out to all veterans! Our only goal is to be able to help and serve all of the veterans who need us. They deserve our support so we work tirelessly to be efficient so that the greatest percentage possible of the money dobpnated goes to them. The best (bestest!) part is that BVL will always be there and will always be ready to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the board in hopes of gaining access to more knowledge and connections.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

I am first and foremost a VietNam veteran Marine who never got involved in any charity work until 3 years ago. I met Elizabeth at BVL's booth at the USBC convention. After talking with her I volunteered to chair our BVL committee for the Metro Phoenix bowling association. Meeting with our bowlers let me see how dedicated they are to helping our veterans. Over the last 3 years our association has raised almost $30,000. The BVL's Recreation entertainment group puts smiles on the faces of our bedridden veterans. This year I was fortunate enough to actually hand our donation checks to the 3 area Veterans facilities administrators, and to visit the veterans in their facilities. BVL has been actively working for our veterans since 1942, and we will continue to do our best to ensure our veterans, my brethren, will continue to be cared for.
Thank you to the BVL and USBC.
Dennis Brummitt
VP MPUSBC
September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I will give to BVL in time and money every year. There is nothing more satisfying than giving an amount to a cause and knowing that 100% of it actually gets to those you intended it for. I have actually given the checks to our State Vet Hospitals, spent some time with the vets, and experienced the joy they feel being remembered, supported and honored. People I seek BVL donations from will give freely as they are assured 100% of the donation goes directly to the vets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

BVL is the best organization for helping our veterans with those little things that make major difference in their daily outlook. By providing things like tv,books, and arts and craft items minds are working and with exercise and mobility equipment their bodies are also worked. The group RECREATION provides entertainment as well as encouragement. All of this is part of what our donations provide.
Everyone time and monetary resources are limited now days and I wholeheartedly support BVL with all I have .
We can Never give enough for our veterans who have given so much for US but BVL is helping to BRIGHTEN VETERANS LIVES!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Soliciting federal monies because of how much BVL can accomplish with so little

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

BVL provides so much for the returning service men & women to assist with their therapy and how to adjust with life. Recreational therapy can really help with the change in mindset needed to adjust to the situations so many have when they return that are truly life changing. For some, it has provided the one thing that brings hope and a smile!

BVL has possibly one of the lowest administrative cost percentages than most organizations and yet is able to provide so much. The support from BVL is recognized by the Department of Veterans Affairs, and receives positive remarks from not only veterans and active duty personnel but from the staff at the facilities that work with them. They are truly helping to Brighten Veterans Lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do whatever possible to get support from corporations and expand beyond the bowling world for support. For an organization that does so much, it really is a best kept secret outside of the veterans hospitals and centers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

The Bowlers to Veterans Link or BVL is a wonderful organization that assists both active & veteran service men & women. I am amazed on a daily basis how much work goes into this organization with such a small administrative staff that do an awesome job. Also playing a HUGE roll are the many very dedicated volunteers across the United States. I have been one of these volunteers and have been able to see firsthand how these donations can better a veteran’s life. With the monies generated by the BVL veterans are given the opportunity to participate in many different activities and events such as the Winter Sports Clinic held in Snowmass CO that I have been honored to attend for the past 5 years and the Wheelchair Games. Some activities/events they may have never attempted some they have done in the past or some that they thought they would never be able to do again. In turn they are able to take the lessons and skills learned at the various activities/events or clinics they attend and apply them at home. They are shown that just because you may be suffering from an illness or injury there is no reason to give up or give in. In many instances it is considered one of the biggest motivators to get them out and lead an active lifestyle.
• BVL is the sport of bowling's oldest charity
• BVL is America's only national sports organization specifically devoted to veterans
• The BVL is a long time sponsor of the four national veteran’s recreational events - the Winter Sports Clinic, the Golden Age Games, the Wheelchair Games and the Creative Arts Festival
• BVL grants provide arts and crafts programs, music and sports activities, reading materials, board games and much more to help boost their spirits, speed recuperation, and improve morale

Please consider making a donation to this very worthy cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers