Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.885
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I will give to BVL in time and money every year. There is nothing more satisfying than giving an amount to a cause and knowing that 100% of it actually gets to those you intended it for. I have actually given the checks to our State Vet Hospitals, spent some time with the vets, and experienced the joy they feel being remembered, supported and honored. People I seek BVL donations from will give freely as they are assured 100% of the donation goes directly to the vets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

BVL is the best organization for helping our veterans with those little things that make major difference in their daily outlook. By providing things like tv,books, and arts and craft items minds are working and with exercise and mobility equipment their bodies are also worked. The group RECREATION provides entertainment as well as encouragement. All of this is part of what our donations provide.
Everyone time and monetary resources are limited now days and I wholeheartedly support BVL with all I have .
We can Never give enough for our veterans who have given so much for US but BVL is helping to BRIGHTEN VETERANS LIVES!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Soliciting federal monies because of how much BVL can accomplish with so little

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

BVL provides so much for the returning service men & women to assist with their therapy and how to adjust with life. Recreational therapy can really help with the change in mindset needed to adjust to the situations so many have when they return that are truly life changing. For some, it has provided the one thing that brings hope and a smile!

BVL has possibly one of the lowest administrative cost percentages than most organizations and yet is able to provide so much. The support from BVL is recognized by the Department of Veterans Affairs, and receives positive remarks from not only veterans and active duty personnel but from the staff at the facilities that work with them. They are truly helping to Brighten Veterans Lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do whatever possible to get support from corporations and expand beyond the bowling world for support. For an organization that does so much, it really is a best kept secret outside of the veterans hospitals and centers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

The Bowlers to Veterans Link or BVL is a wonderful organization that assists both active & veteran service men & women. I am amazed on a daily basis how much work goes into this organization with such a small administrative staff that do an awesome job. Also playing a HUGE roll are the many very dedicated volunteers across the United States. I have been one of these volunteers and have been able to see firsthand how these donations can better a veteran’s life. With the monies generated by the BVL veterans are given the opportunity to participate in many different activities and events such as the Winter Sports Clinic held in Snowmass CO that I have been honored to attend for the past 5 years and the Wheelchair Games. Some activities/events they may have never attempted some they have done in the past or some that they thought they would never be able to do again. In turn they are able to take the lessons and skills learned at the various activities/events or clinics they attend and apply them at home. They are shown that just because you may be suffering from an illness or injury there is no reason to give up or give in. In many instances it is considered one of the biggest motivators to get them out and lead an active lifestyle.
• BVL is the sport of bowling's oldest charity
• BVL is America's only national sports organization specifically devoted to veterans
• The BVL is a long time sponsor of the four national veteran’s recreational events - the Winter Sports Clinic, the Golden Age Games, the Wheelchair Games and the Creative Arts Festival
• BVL grants provide arts and crafts programs, music and sports activities, reading materials, board games and much more to help boost their spirits, speed recuperation, and improve morale

Please consider making a donation to this very worthy cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

As a bowler, donor and volunteer, I have seen BVL at work at the National TEE Tournament at Riverside Iowa. Board members from our state women's bowling association volunteer to help at the bowling venue. This year over 50 visually impaired veterans enjoyed bowling in Coralville Iowa. Every year we have made new friends but also meet up with friends we have made the past years. Because of BVL, these veterans are enjoying the sport we all love. What an honor it was for all of us helping these veterans. BVL has also helped our three VA facilities in Iowa. We have personally delivered the donations from BVL to these sites. What a feeling to see what and how these men and women will be helped with the proceeds from BVL.

Make this one of your charities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

A very good Non for profit that has you and your mission in mind! They are a wonderful sponosr for our Veterans keeping their needs in mind always!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I am a board member of the Monmouth County USBC. The national USBC (United States Bowling Congress) has always supported our veterans and we have always supported efforts to raise finds. We have been fortunate to collect an average of $2,000 per year. When we send our money to the national BVL, we know we are supporting thousands of locations around the country, including a group known as Re-Creation. This group is comprised of wonderful young song and dance people, who brighten the lives of every veteran they meet. The national organization keeps only 10% of what we send and then allows us to select a local veterans home to give our 90%. For us, it is such an honor to be able to share our donations with those in the local veterans home. We thank the BVL for that opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. They work on a very small budget and do wonderful things for the veterans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

BVL contributes to the well being of our veterans and active military personnel. As a contributor to BVL, I know that the three VA centers in IA receive funding for goods and services that are enjoyed by our veterans. BVL also supports a national TEE (Training Exposure & Experience) tournament which is held annual in Iowa for disabled veterans. The events include bowling, horseback riding, kayaking, and golf. I've had the pleasure of assisting the veterans in the bowling venue for the past four years. What a thrill it is to help and see them enjoy this event. Without BVL and the support given by them to our veterans, our veterans would have far fewer advantages than they now receive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more people to contribute to BVL so they can do even better than they already do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The BVL Fund Inc. has been a sponsor of the Department of Veterans Affairs' National Veterans Creative Arts Festival for years. BVL understands how the arts (music, dance, drama creative writing and visual arts) make a major difference in the lives of America's Veterans. Through the support from BVL, the NVCAF has been able to purchase awards for nearly 4,000 Veterans throughout the country that have participated in the annual competition, as well as support the Creative Arts Festival, an event that not only recognizes Veterans for their creative achievements, but promotes continued learning and involvement in the arts through community arts opportunities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Amazing charity with unbelievably low overhead. A few years ago, a friend made me aware of the high administrative cost of many popular charities which caused me to do a little investigation of my own. When I found out what the charities I had supported for years were spending on salaries and fundraising, I quickly increased by BVL donations and reduced or cancelled my support for other charities.

I have seen BVL's results in person and know for a fact they are making life better for our deserving veterans. Unfortunately our country can't currently afford to provide all the services that our veterans deserve so services from organizations like BVL are needed more now thatn at any time in recent memory.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

focus on expanding the pool of fundraising volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers