Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Breast Cancer, Cancer, Emergency Assistance, Human Services

Mission: Busted Foundation aids women who are suffering financial hardships due to medical expenses from breast cancer treatment. Busted Foundation’s programs include a education website and financial grants to eligible women dealing with breast cancer. As part of our educational program, Busted Foundation offers a free website that hosts information describing not only what sources of financial assistance are available to the general public, but also how to seek assistance.

Direct beneficiaries per year: 100

Geographic areas served: United States

Programs: Educate and assist women who are afflicted with breast cancer through individual grants. Individuals complete an application shich is reviewed by the board.

Community Stories

22 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This is a VERY well managed, well organized, and fun way of raising money for a very worthy cause. I'm proud to have been a part of their efforts. David A. Wolin

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

5

Donor

Rating: 5

This charity not only helps people with breast cancer, but it helps provide hope for people who are just getting diagnosed and for the supporters of those diagnosed. Anyone who has ever been without health insurance knows how hard it is to get treatment for the most mundane things...with breast cancer, imagine that emplified by thousands of dollars PLUS the reality that if you don't get care (and pay the bill) you die. There are plenty of programs in CA that help you get the mamogram to get diagnosed--but after? You have no insurance and you can't GET insurance. This charity ensures that you can pay your bills beyond the free mamogram. That you can get treatment, and with help from Busted Foundation--an actual future beyond the bill. I'm one of the lucky ones. I have insurance...but there have been plenty of times I was without, inbetween jobs or just on my own. I fully support this organization.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

Busted foundation is one of the most humane charitable organiztions in existance today. Every year (in multiple cities) the foundation hosts the "Bowling for Boobies" charity event in which ALL of the proceeds that are donated go to help women with breast cancer. Every incoming dollar goes back to those in need (no overhead taken) while the event sustains itself by the charitable submissions of gifts for auction, locations in which to hold the event, and sponsors who donate food, drink and time directly to the cause. The funds are then distributed DIRECTLY to those in need (namely women who are diagnosed with breast cancer who have no medical coverage and need help due to insurance companies refusing to accept them due to pre-existing conditions). I'm proud every year to support the busted foundation and would encourage all to give generously.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

5

Donor

Rating: 5

A friend of mine lost one of her friends to suicide because she could not financially or emotionally continue her treatment for breast cancer. My friend was participating with Bowling for Boobies, and I wanted to help her reach her target.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

7

Donor

Rating: 5

As a breast cancer myself, I profoundly understand the need for a non-profit such as this, which trusts women enough to give them funds directly with which to pay bills which accumulate unmercifully during cancer treatment. The main breast cancer foundation which gave us the famous Pink Everything, does not trust women enough to give them funds directly for their expenses. So far, I have never found another breast cancer foundation which fills this great need for women. I admire them beyond what words could ever say.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

6

Donor

Rating: 5

There are plenty of foundations funding medical research. As a former medical researcher myself, I can attest to the power of these foundations. However, research is expensive and is best funded by governments. Grants of $250K per year are standard, and that is a lot of money going from a foundation to one person. My mother and both of my bosses (my direct report and her boss as well) are breast cancer survivors. With one in eight women affected by breast cancer sometime in their life, it's a safe bet that most of us have been touched in a more or less direct way by this disease. The Busted Foundation was started by friends of Edith Speed, who was stricken by breast cancer at a time when she had no financial resources to fight the disease. The physical fight against breast cancer consumes 100% of a person's energy. It's criminal what we do in our society that impedes a person's ability to heal emotionally and spiritually as well as physically. For example, my boss spent the time she wasn't undergoing chemo, fighting with her insurance company. With Edith's passing, the Busted Foundation has expanded its reach to include all cancer fighters or survivors who need additional financial support. By directing their efforts toward the fighter, they leverage what would be a small amount of money in the research realm into an impactful amount of money for the individual affected by cancer. Administrative costs are minimal. The Busted Foundation is focused on helping those fighting a diagnosis of cancer.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

4

Donor

Rating: 5

I've had two breast cancer scares where my GYN has thought she felt a lump. I was one of the most lucky ones and it was just scar tissue. One day, that could change. Knowing this, breast cancer fundraisers are my passion and I support as many as I can. I must say this one caught my attention because it helps the individual at the hardest time of their life by keeping the wolves at bay. Medical expenses can wipe a family out and this group of caring people do everything they can to help.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

1

Donor

Rating: 5

This organization was started by one petite big-hearted firecracker. I love that she takes the proceeds and hands it over directly to the women to help them with their medical bills. She works very hard every day of the year to make this organization explode on their annual bowling for boobies fundraiser. Please donate any way that you can - everyone has been touched by breast cancer in some way.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

6

Donor

Rating: 5

The Busted Foundation is a wonderful grass-roots organization that raises money to directly help women struggling with breast cancer. It eases a lot of pressure while going through such a difficult time. The money raised goes directly to these women to pay for whatever they need help with, their medical bills, rent, food, child care, etc. I personally like to support a charity that gives help directly to those in need in our community. The Busted Foundation is full of heart and passion and cares deeply about their cause.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!

5

Donor

Rating: 5

The website was easy to understand and I got confirmation via email and regular mail showing my contribution. Great website! The charity organization is great. It helps woman going through breast cancer pay expenses while going through treatment. Its amazing what people can do when they band together to help others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

bustedfoundation 11/27/2012

Thank you so much for your support!