Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Busted Foundation is one of the few grass roots foundations with a campaign that not only promises big, important wins for women with Breast Cancer, but follows through 200%. Yes, they are small. Yes, they have help from volunteers, but the amount of work put in to launching the foundation and continuing to make it a success not only stands up to community expectations, but exceeds them, and sets the goal higher for other organizations fighting breast cancer. This foundation was started to help a community member, Edith, with her mounting breast cancer bills after a stage four diagnosis with no insurance or resource to turn to either pay for treatment, or the mounting bills post (free) mammogram. California is wonderful for getting you a free mammogram--but how do you get treatment and pay your bills without insurance, when the diagnosis itself makes you untouchable? The community, with the help of Busted Founder Stefanie LaHart, raised that money, and her bills were paid. Year after year, more women in the community were in the same boat, and Busted Foundation was born. They make fundraising fun with their annual events, Bowling For Boobies, with achievable goals for community members joining the fight. Because the foundation awards scholarships to applicants in need that pay *all* bills--not just medical ones--Lives were saved, and in some cases, homes were saved. Electricity and water was not shut off. Rent was paid. The doctor healing them was paid. The support for this foundation is overwhelming, and they get it right. I have met the women Busted has helped--and they could not have made it through the heavy weight of cancer treatment, nor the expense, without them. I look forward to seeing them continue to do some of the best work associated with women diagnosed with breast cancer--directly helping the women suffering from the disease. No smoke and mirrors--Busted Foundation is the real deal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

Having worked with multiple non profits over 15 years that range in variety of services provided and issues and causes advocated for, I can honestly say I'm impressed with the Busted Foundation on a regular basis. Very rarely do you see a non profit that can actually directly and positively impact an individual's life the way Busted does. The grant recipients who write in to request funds and/or send a thank you for funds received tell you immediately that you're making an important difference in their life. The people who work to make Busted succeed are extremely dedicated and are looking to grow and evolve this organization to serve and provide funds for more women than ever before - until there's a cure for breast cancer, diagnosis will continue and a unique and direct services organization like Busted will need to thrive in order to continue to support these women. As well, this is an all-volunteer organization that proves what a few dedicated individuals can accomplish when they care deeply about an issue and making a positive impact in someone's life. Busted needs and deserves even more support so they can achieve and exceed their mission. Kudos to Busted and the whole team for all they've done so far and good luck to them in the future!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 20, 2010

The people at the Busted Foundation were so grateful, encouraging and helpful when I promoted the event to my mailing list and my readers. Furthermore, my readers and clients who attended the event sa... more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work for several non-profit organizations on a daily basis and I have rarely seen so much love, passion and hard work put into events as the Busted Foundation. Understanding that this money is actually going to help pay for women's astronomical bills -- and hearing their stories about how Busted has saved them from serious financial debt, is inspiring to me every year. I couldn't be more proud to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

The people at the Busted Foundation were so grateful, encouraging and helpful when I promoted the event to my mailing list and my readers. Furthermore, my readers and clients who attended the event said it was one of the most enjoyable and enthusiastic evenings they had attended for charity in many years. I am always here to help Busted now any way, shape or form. They are the best at what they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the readers of my column and mailing list who attended the event, many of whom wrote in giving me incredible feedback and asking me to keep them posted on when it was happening again.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create community using social media, help plan our next fundraiser through a committee, Volunteer