Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I am proud to be a volunteer for the Busted Foundation! What an amazing organization to help the many, many women throughout the years. I am honored to have volunteered in the past and can't wait to volunteer in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 27, 2012

I have been involved with Bowling for Boobies for over 7 years and with Busted Foundation since it began. This is the ONLY organization for women fighting breast cancer that I know of where the money... more

May 9, 2013

I am proud to say that I am still a volunteer with Busted! I have met many women we have helped throughout the years as well as become involved with the application review. It's truly inspiring and humbling these brave individuals fighting for their lives and their families! I am thankful Busted Foundation is around to help and proud to be a volunteer with them. Please help us to continue to help breast cancer fighters across the country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

I have been involved with Bowling for Boobies for over 7 years and with Busted Foundation since it began. This is the ONLY organization for women fighting breast cancer that I know of where the money goes directly to the women to help them pay the bills they need to pay. We don't tell them what they can and can't use the money for, a check is sent directly to them to help while they fight for their lives. Even with this economy, Busted fights tirelessly to help! The requests from women going through treatment will make you cry from sadness and the testimonials from the recipients will make you cry with joy. To be even the tiniest part of this organization makes me proud every day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2010

This is an amazing charity. Every year we have a bowling charity event to raise money for women going through the challenges of overcoming breast cancer. The money raised goes directly to women who are going through treatment, to help with health care, rent, groceries,etc... whatever they need help with while being treated and fighting the disease. It started being a local So Cal charity, two years ago we went national and last year we had our first East Vs. West (east coast vs. west coast) event, playfully challenging each other to raise more money. And, for the first time I got to meet one of the recipients and hear her story at the event. It was so inspiring!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've had the honour of being able to read the thank you letters that have been received from the recipients of the grants and last year was able to meet one of them and hear how much the organization helped her.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Everything, the planning and the event. We have fun all the way through.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Awesome!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help so many people!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I have been volunteering with Busted for over three years now, and I can say that my experience has been great. The foundation is amazing - it raises money for people who have breast cancer to help them pay ther bills. Every penny raised goes straight to our beneficiaries, which make me feel good about volunteering. Also, the events are fun!! Hooray for Busted!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Ditto: For the past 11 years I've had the honor of working with the Busted Foundation through their annual “Bowling for Boobies” event which has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars in multiple cities across the US for women and men afflicted with breast cancer. Why do I do this? Because of all of the charities and organizations out there, every ounce of manpower is donated so that 100% of the funds can go directly to people stricken with this terrible disease. How does it work? Many times, when someone is diagnosed with cancer, insurance doesn't completely cover the costs incurred for treatment (meds, co-pays, lost work days), and if the person doesn't have insurance, the amounts necessary to battle the disease can be staggering. (The Busted Motto: “You get the bump, you get the bill, you’re BUSTED.”) The Busted Foundation responds by sending a cash donation to these fantastic and brave individuals to help them cover their costs and living expenses (food, meds, doctor’s bills). How do they do this? Through a humane and often heart wrenching screening process where we listen to the patients, their background, their stories, and respond with funds individually designed to ease the burden of an already traumatic event. There are plenty of charitable organizations out there whose main goal is to raise research funds to find a cure. This foundation’s goal is simply to give individually to those in need, enabling dignity and humanity during a difficult time. I cannot recommend The Busted Foundation highly enough. Please join me in supporting them so their mission can continue for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

I’ve had the honor of working with the Busted Foundation for the last 10 years through their annual “Bowling for Boobies” event which has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars in multiple citi... more

May 9, 2013

For the past 11 years I've had the honor of working with the Busted Foundation through their annual “Bowling for Boobies” event which has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars in multiple cities across the US for women and men afflicted with breast cancer. Why do I do this? Because of all of the charities and organizations out there, every ounce of manpower is donated so that 100% of the funds can go directly to people stricken with this terrible disease. How does it work? Many times, when someone is diagnosed with cancer, insurance doesn't completely cover the costs incurred for treatment (meds, co-pays, lost work days), and if the person doesn't have insurance, the amounts necessary to battle the disease can be staggering. (The Busted Motto: “You get the bump, you get the bill, you’re BUSTED.”) The Busted Foundation responds by sending a cash donation to these fantastic and brave individuals to help them cover their costs and living expenses (food, meds, doctor’s bills). How do they do this? Through a humane and often heart wrenching screening process where we listen to the patients, their background, their stories, and respond with funds individually designed to ease the burden of an already traumatic event. There are plenty of charitable organizations out there whose main goal is to raise research funds to find a cure. This foundation’s goal is simply to give individually to those in need, enabling dignity and humanity during a difficult time. I cannot recommend The Busted Foundation highly enough. Please join me in supporting them so their mission can continue for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

I’ve had the honor of working with the Busted Foundation for the last 10 years through their annual “Bowling for Boobies” event which has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars in multiple cities across the US for women and men afflicted with breast cancer. Why do I do this? Because of all of the charities and organizations out there, this one personally affects all who participate. Every ounce of manpower is donated so that 100% of the funds can go directly to people stricken with this terrible disease. How does it work? Many times, when someone is diagnosed with cancer, insurance doesn’t cover all of the costs needed for treatment (meds, co-pays, lost work days), and if the person doesn’t have insurance, the amounts necessary to battle the disease can be staggering. (The Busted Motto: “You get the bump, you get the bill, you’re BUSTED.”) The Busted Foundation responds by sending personal checks to these fantastic and brave individuals to help them cover their costs and living expenses (food, meds, doctor’s bills). How do they do this? Through a fantastic and heart wrenching screening process where we listen to the patients, their background, their stories, and respond with funds designed to ease the burden of an already traumatic event. There are plenty of charitable organizations out there whose main goal is to raise research funds to find a cure. This foundation’s goal is simply to give individually to those in need, enabling dignity and humanity during a difficult time. I cannot recommend The Busted Foundation highly enough. Please join me in supporting them so their mission can continue for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I was first introduced to this charity by Sean Decker and brought on as a team member for the group's #1 Charity Event, Bowling for Boobies. Having met Stefanie LaHart, the founder/CEO, I was overcome by her enthusiam and passion for this charity. It is clear she is the driving force behind the group's desire to reach out and help local women who are hurting. Cancer is a crippling disease that touches us all in some way. Over the last few years, I’ve known close friends who’ve fought the cancer battle, and although survived – they live in constant fear that it’ll return. Cancer is an immense struggle; physically, emotionally, and financially. Those diagnosed, and fighting are some of the strongest people I know and they simply touch my heart. For me, seeing the outreach that BUSTED provides to the local LA community - nothing in life is more important than giving back, and if I can be part of something like the BUSTED FOUNDATION that helps bring joy or a moment of repreieve to just one woman’s battle with this disease, then I feel I’ve accomplished at least a little of my purpose in life. BUSTED is a wonderful, loving, caring, and organized Charity. I am so happy to be a part of something like this, and with th driving force of Stefanie LaHart at the helm.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Busted Foundation is amazing because I have witnessed them change lives. It is just incredible to hear the stories from people who have been directly affected by cancer, and how Busted helped them. It also matters greatly to me that this is a smaller and local charity since it allows them to be more agile and efficient. Bottom line: Busted Foundation is an organization that is making a difference, one person at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I found out about this wonderful charity through Stefanie LaHart, Busted Foundation's founder and CEO. She was my downstairs neighbor when I lived in LA! I had never been privy to the inner workings of a nonprofit before - how much work goes into it, how many people are involved, how many lives you can touch in even the smallest way. I started to see some of the "Thank You" notes that were coming in around 2010 and was truly moved. I had never really stopped to think about just how much cancer can affect your life, your family's life. Obviously we are all aware how expensive treatment can be and how much red tape is unfortunately involved with insurance companies, but when I started to read letters thanking the Busted Foundation for affording them the opportunity to buy school supplies for their children, or groceries, or to pay rent - I was hooked. I was ready to work with the Foundation and Stefanie any way I could. Stefanie is an absolute angel. She is always looking for new creative ways to get people involved and to raise awareness and money for others in need. She is, hands down, the most selfless person I know. She really cares, is incredibly supportive, and is a real-life superwoman! I haven't lived in LA for almost two years now, but still keep in close touch with her and the Foundation and am sure to make it back every year for the annual Bowling for Boobies event! Best non-profit ever!! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

This was my first year working with the Busted Foundation and it was amazing! I have worked with many non-profits before, but Busted brought the volunteer experience to a whole new level. Not only is the organization amazingly organized and creative in the way that they raise their money, but the money goes directly to women affected by Breast Cancer. It was this personal feel that made working with Busted such an honor and a pleasure. I actually felt like I was really affecting the lives of women across the country. I will absolutely work with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

When I first heard about the Busted Foundation & the Bowling for Boobies event a few years ago, I knew that I would want to be involved in helping this worthy cause. This year I was lucky enough to be able to contribute my time, and I was moved to see how many people are eager to dedicate their time, money & efforts to this noble cause. It is clear this organization changes people's lives, and the satisfaction of being a part of that is hard to match.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create community using social media, help plan our next fundraiser through a committee, Volunteer