Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.942315
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

Working with Bpeace has been the best volunteering experience of my career. As a traveling mentor I got to work hands on with the people that benefit from Bpeace's work. It was extremely productive and rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

I have been a member since 2005 and was inspired to help found their Young Professionals Committee. The enthusiasm among young professionals has been incredible. Bpeace is pioneering a model in which business professionals can volunteer their skills to help entrepreneurs in conflict-affected countries. The result is more jobs, and a reduced incentive locally to fight. Making a difference in an entrepreneur's business can be life-changing for the person volunteering, the entrepreneur, and even their employees. We make a strong impact, and I am now a proud Board Member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 2, 2010

After a strong volunteering background throughout highscool and college, I entered the "real world" hopeful to find an organization that I could volunteer in which I could actually make a difference. ... more

March 21, 2014

I have been a Bpeace member and volunteer since 2008 and it has been such a rewarding experience. My work has primarily been with the Young Professionals group which I helped run for a couple years, recruiting and engaging younger members.

What I love most about Bpeace is that I can use
my business expertise to help the organization and entrepreneurs around the world. As a young professional I was able to execute high level, impactful projects that I might not have experienced for years in my career. And through hosting entrepreneurs in the US, I was able to interact directly with the people we were helping in an intimate and meaningful way.

Bpeace's mission of job creation for peace is one that resonates around the world and I am proud to be a part of such a worthy cause.
March 2, 2010

After a strong volunteering background throughout highscool and college, I entered the "real world" hopeful to find an organization that I could volunteer in which I could actually make a difference. After the standard arts & crafts with under-priveleged children and city park clean-ups and attending numerous fundraising events, I was feeling less than inspired! When I discovered Bpeace I realized I could not only make an impact half way around the world but I was also being exposed to a network of amazing businessmen and women spanning industries and broadening my professional horizons. Working with Bpeace you can find that perfect niche for your specific strengths and commitment level and develop business skills that as a young professional I might not have otherwise had access to for years to come in my full-time career. Bpeace is doing great and effective work in countries affected by conflict and I truly believe in their mission, that creating and sustaining jobs leads to less violence.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand their reach globally. There are so many regions in the world that would benefit from Bpeace's support of entrepreneurs and sustainable business to create peace.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 21, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 21, 2011

Bpeace has a great philosophy to bringing sustainable peace to war torn countries: build local's business capacity and skills, help them be successful in their business of choice. This is accomplishe... more

March 21, 2014

I have been volunteering with Bpeace for four years now and have witnessed its impact on women entrepreneurs it works with. I have been an active volunteer, that is I have worked with entrepreneurs directly, mostly in Afghanistan. Very rewarding experience, it expands your knowledge of cultures, entrepreneurship, it is intellectually stimulating since resources and tools that are readily available here in US are not in countries we operate, so you need to be creative, and finally emotionally very fulfilling when you realize by just sharing your knowledge and know how you made a difference in lives of not just those you worked with directly but indirectly (as the company grows and jobs created) in the community the business operates. You can do all of this from your office (as a host or as a mentor via skype) or when the opportunity comes, be a traveling mentor. Try it and you will never want to do anything else!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2011

Bpeace has a great philosophy to bringing sustainable peace to war torn countries: build local's business capacity and skills, help them be successful in their business of choice. This is accomplished by providing onsite (local to the country) business classes, providing laptops and essential business tools like Intuit Quickbooks, short internships in US based companies that resemble theirs, and matching them with US advocates that help them connect with the right people in US.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how owners and their staff have grown professionally so much so they can identify areas of weakness and find solutions. I have seen companies grow their revenues and help their community by hiring people locally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing really. With so little they do so much. It would have been great if I could give them a money tree that would provide them access to unlimited amount of funds so they can expand faster in countries and communities with great need.

September 20, 2010

This is a terrific organization for anyone that wants to make a difference through hands-on work. There are plenty of opportunities aside from mentoring entrepreneurs so if that is not your thing, don't worry about it. I am surrounded by very talented, experienced and passionate people, all of us with one goal...create peace through helping those that are less fortunate create and grow their companies.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I receive daily messages from those that I am working with in Afghanistan. It is touching to see how grateful they are for our willingness to help them. I can see and feel I am making a difference.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Emotionally and intellectually fulfilled all the time.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very intelligent, giving, passionate, experienced in all walks of life, and supportive.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

potentially create economic prosperity in places that have not experienced peace for decades, we could see kids grow up knowing they don't have to pickup arms to keep their family safe, we could see a very happy planet earth! Wouldn't that be nice.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Hi Toni,

It is always go to hear that there are successes. The team moves ahead one client at a time with very directed money and assistance. I remember watching the movie, "Where's my goat?". The Canadian film maker was trying to track down the specific goat he purchased through Plan
International for a family in Gambia. After some considerable effort, he did track his money through their ledgers and visited the family who received his goat.

In the film he had a discussion with young professionals in Gambia regarding the goat program. The Gambians pooh poohed the program as too little and ineffective to the country as a whole. The filmmaker countered with the argument that each goat made a very significant difference to the receiving family. They had cash income from the milk, etc that helped fund their child's school fees. I convinced my kids to forego big Christmas presents and we bought a herd of 12 goats. I have been trying to find my goats
:-[
My point is that you are not splashing money around in a way that invites corruption and graft. The process Bpeace follows insures that viable candidates are assisted (and possibly funded) with extended hand holding. You do not just put a filter on the phonebook and fund everyone who come out of the filter.

I am quite pleased to be part of your resource pool.

Regards,

Eric Geis

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I'm so inspired by Bpeace. I've seen a lot of nonprofits in my day, and Bpeace is leagues ahead in terms of its vision, execution and impact. The leadership is bold and inventive, the volunteers are so organized and committed, and the results, well, they speak for themselves. I've had the great pleasure of working with Bpeace for three years now through an entrepreneurial venture in Rwanda. Bpeace helped us get it off the ground and continues to be a tremendous source of support. I'm deeply grateful for the work they do in Rwanda and across the globe to help ALL OF US live in a peaceful, prosperous world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

more

January 31, 2013

I'm ending my incredible 2.5 years as a Bpeace staff member, though I won't stray far from this organization. The Bpeace community is like a family.

Our Afghan entrepreneurs are smart, engaged and intelligent. I have learned so much from their deep passion and commitment to their
businesses. I stand in awe of them every day--they surmount incomprensible obstacles. They are all hungry for knowledge and support and handle themselves professionally as they learn from our members, staff, and each other.

Bpeace members/volunteers are unstoppable. Many lead their own businesses or work at some of the most prestigious companies in the U.S., yet they make time to work one on one with our entrepreneurs to teach them best practices and transfer the skills and knowledge they worked so hard to attain. Bpeace members are generous with their time and understand how to articulate their knowledge and share it in order to make a real impact.

I may be biased, but the staff at Bpeace is stellar. Toni and Marla both have long, varied careers that inform how they manage Bpeace. The organization is run like a business--efficient, effective, and proven. They are honest and communicative and it has been my pleasure to work with them.

I am looking forward to my changing role at Bpeace as I go from staff to a member/volunteer. I am eager to stay involved in this community as it continues to evolve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

This past August I had a great opportunity to volunteer for a Bpeace research project in Rwanda. It was an amazing experience and the Bpeace team couldn't have been more helpful during/after the project. The commitment Bpeace shows to its Fast Runners is undeniable. I hope to volunteer with Bpeace again to help in its efforts of creating jobs and making an impact

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I had a great experience as a volunteer with Bpeace. I went on a research mission to Rwanda and the team was extremely helpful and committed to arranging the trip. They were always quick to respond and lovely to work with. They have a great track record of creating jobs in countries recovering from conflict and their work really makes an impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

I was trolling VolunteerMatch.org one day a few years ago, something I do ever so often to get a sense of what kinds of volunteering opportunities organizations are promoting, which organizations seem to be using it best, etc. And a posting by Bpeace got my attention. Bpeace was looking for someone to help them find funeral home managers who might mentor a funeral home director in Rwanda. I was completely intrigued by the posting - it's just NOT a volunteer posting you see posted every day. I went to the Bpeace web site and read more, and I became even more intrigued - as a researcher regarding volunteerism, particularly online volunteering, Bpeace looked like a model organization that I should know more about.

Because of my experience in Afghanistan and passion for empowering women, I decided to support Bpeace in some way. At first I was just going to promote them on my blog - but then I decided to volunteer formally, and to become a coach for a "fast runner" (an entrepreneur) in Afghanistan. Bpeace asks volunteers to pay a membership fee (something the Girl Scouts and many other organizations do as well). So, I joined, and I mentored a gentleman who was trying to expand a cleaning business in Kabul, and wanting to better cater to foreigners living in the country. I wrote about that experience here:
http://www.coyotecommunications.com/development/bpeace.html

It's not for entirely philanthropic reasons that I volunteer with Bpeace; if I'm going to remain an expert and trainer in volunteer management, I have to be a practitioner as well. I really intended to stay with Bpeace just for one year - and here it is, four years later. This experience has served me VERY well professionally, and when I'm train, I'm able to use experiences with Bpeace to illustrate various models of volunteer engagement (corporate volunteering, online volunteering, skills-based volunteering, pro bono consulting, etc.).

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us find U.S. Host Companies for Salvadoran and Guatemalan executives visiting the U.S. Volunteer