Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.938785
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 21, 2011

Bpeace has a great philosophy to bringing sustainable peace to war torn countries: build local's business capacity and skills, help them be successful in their business of choice. This is accomplishe... more

March 21, 2014

I have been volunteering with Bpeace for four years now and have witnessed its impact on women entrepreneurs it works with. I have been an active volunteer, that is I have worked with entrepreneurs directly, mostly in Afghanistan. Very rewarding experience, it expands your knowledge of cultures, entrepreneurship, it is intellectually stimulating since resources and tools that are readily available here in US are not in countries we operate, so you need to be creative, and finally emotionally very fulfilling when you realize by just sharing your knowledge and know how you made a difference in lives of not just those you worked with directly but indirectly (as the company grows and jobs created) in the community the business operates. You can do all of this from your office (as a host or as a mentor via skype) or when the opportunity comes, be a traveling mentor. Try it and you will never want to do anything else!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2011

Bpeace has a great philosophy to bringing sustainable peace to war torn countries: build local's business capacity and skills, help them be successful in their business of choice. This is accomplished by providing onsite (local to the country) business classes, providing laptops and essential business tools like Intuit Quickbooks, short internships in US based companies that resemble theirs, and matching them with US advocates that help them connect with the right people in US.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how owners and their staff have grown professionally so much so they can identify areas of weakness and find solutions. I have seen companies grow their revenues and help their community by hiring people locally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing really. With so little they do so much. It would have been great if I could give them a money tree that would provide them access to unlimited amount of funds so they can expand faster in countries and communities with great need.

September 20, 2010

This is a terrific organization for anyone that wants to make a difference through hands-on work. There are plenty of opportunities aside from mentoring entrepreneurs so if that is not your thing, don't worry about it. I am surrounded by very talented, experienced and passionate people, all of us with one goal...create peace through helping those that are less fortunate create and grow their companies.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I receive daily messages from those that I am working with in Afghanistan. It is touching to see how grateful they are for our willingness to help them. I can see and feel I am making a difference.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Emotionally and intellectually fulfilled all the time.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very intelligent, giving, passionate, experienced in all walks of life, and supportive.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

potentially create economic prosperity in places that have not experienced peace for decades, we could see kids grow up knowing they don't have to pickup arms to keep their family safe, we could see a very happy planet earth! Wouldn't that be nice.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Hi Toni,

It is always go to hear that there are successes. The team moves ahead one client at a time with very directed money and assistance. I remember watching the movie, "Where's my goat?". The Canadian film maker was trying to track down the specific goat he purchased through Plan
International for a family in Gambia. After some considerable effort, he did track his money through their ledgers and visited the family who received his goat.

In the film he had a discussion with young professionals in Gambia regarding the goat program. The Gambians pooh poohed the program as too little and ineffective to the country as a whole. The filmmaker countered with the argument that each goat made a very significant difference to the receiving family. They had cash income from the milk, etc that helped fund their child's school fees. I convinced my kids to forego big Christmas presents and we bought a herd of 12 goats. I have been trying to find my goats
:-[
My point is that you are not splashing money around in a way that invites corruption and graft. The process Bpeace follows insures that viable candidates are assisted (and possibly funded) with extended hand holding. You do not just put a filter on the phonebook and fund everyone who come out of the filter.

I am quite pleased to be part of your resource pool.

Regards,

Eric Geis

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I'm so inspired by Bpeace. I've seen a lot of nonprofits in my day, and Bpeace is leagues ahead in terms of its vision, execution and impact. The leadership is bold and inventive, the volunteers are so organized and committed, and the results, well, they speak for themselves. I've had the great pleasure of working with Bpeace for three years now through an entrepreneurial venture in Rwanda. Bpeace helped us get it off the ground and continues to be a tremendous source of support. I'm deeply grateful for the work they do in Rwanda and across the globe to help ALL OF US live in a peaceful, prosperous world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

more

January 31, 2013

I'm ending my incredible 2.5 years as a Bpeace staff member, though I won't stray far from this organization. The Bpeace community is like a family.

Our Afghan entrepreneurs are smart, engaged and intelligent. I have learned so much from their deep passion and commitment to their
businesses. I stand in awe of them every day--they surmount incomprensible obstacles. They are all hungry for knowledge and support and handle themselves professionally as they learn from our members, staff, and each other.

Bpeace members/volunteers are unstoppable. Many lead their own businesses or work at some of the most prestigious companies in the U.S., yet they make time to work one on one with our entrepreneurs to teach them best practices and transfer the skills and knowledge they worked so hard to attain. Bpeace members are generous with their time and understand how to articulate their knowledge and share it in order to make a real impact.

I may be biased, but the staff at Bpeace is stellar. Toni and Marla both have long, varied careers that inform how they manage Bpeace. The organization is run like a business--efficient, effective, and proven. They are honest and communicative and it has been my pleasure to work with them.

I am looking forward to my changing role at Bpeace as I go from staff to a member/volunteer. I am eager to stay involved in this community as it continues to evolve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

This past August I had a great opportunity to volunteer for a Bpeace research project in Rwanda. It was an amazing experience and the Bpeace team couldn't have been more helpful during/after the project. The commitment Bpeace shows to its Fast Runners is undeniable. I hope to volunteer with Bpeace again to help in its efforts of creating jobs and making an impact

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I had a great experience as a volunteer with Bpeace. I went on a research mission to Rwanda and the team was extremely helpful and committed to arranging the trip. They were always quick to respond and lovely to work with. They have a great track record of creating jobs in countries recovering from conflict and their work really makes an impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

I was trolling VolunteerMatch.org one day a few years ago, something I do ever so often to get a sense of what kinds of volunteering opportunities organizations are promoting, which organizations seem to be using it best, etc. And a posting by Bpeace got my attention. Bpeace was looking for someone to help them find funeral home managers who might mentor a funeral home director in Rwanda. I was completely intrigued by the posting - it's just NOT a volunteer posting you see posted every day. I went to the Bpeace web site and read more, and I became even more intrigued - as a researcher regarding volunteerism, particularly online volunteering, Bpeace looked like a model organization that I should know more about.

Because of my experience in Afghanistan and passion for empowering women, I decided to support Bpeace in some way. At first I was just going to promote them on my blog - but then I decided to volunteer formally, and to become a coach for a "fast runner" (an entrepreneur) in Afghanistan. Bpeace asks volunteers to pay a membership fee (something the Girl Scouts and many other organizations do as well). So, I joined, and I mentored a gentleman who was trying to expand a cleaning business in Kabul, and wanting to better cater to foreigners living in the country. I wrote about that experience here:
http://www.coyotecommunications.com/development/bpeace.html

It's not for entirely philanthropic reasons that I volunteer with Bpeace; if I'm going to remain an expert and trainer in volunteer management, I have to be a practitioner as well. I really intended to stay with Bpeace just for one year - and here it is, four years later. This experience has served me VERY well professionally, and when I'm train, I'm able to use experiences with Bpeace to illustrate various models of volunteer engagement (corporate volunteering, online volunteering, skills-based volunteering, pro bono consulting, etc.).

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2011

more

June 16, 2011

I come from the other end of the equation- representing Inzozi Nziza (sweet dreams)/ Blue Marble Dreams, a Rwanda based ice creamery and coffee shop run by a cooperative of women drummers. We received much needed assistance from BPeace. I can't speak highly enough of this group! We are establishing a long-term business, which is new to us, and need guidance and capacity building in small business development. Over the last two years, we have received much needed training over telephone, email and in person from creative, dynamic and dedicated people. In the most recent BPeace visit, a very talented accountant was able to help us to understand concepts in a few hours what we struggled with for months! We can't speak highly enough of BPeace and are so thankful for our continued relationship.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways! Directly in expanding my "toolbox", better HR and accounting skills. Among the group, we've received so much confidence and skills building.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them expand to do more work in Rwanda. So many of our local counterparts could benefit from such assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

exceptional in every way

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

in the lives of my local partners- they help the women's group develop the business management tools they need to survive over the long term.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 25, 2010

more

March 25, 2010

This is a terrific organization really making a difference in the lives of poor women in war-torn countries. The organization is run by business women and professionals in a very businesslike and professional, and efficient, way, and the help provided to individual women is leveraged many times in that the women start and then expand their businesses, thereby expanding employment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Laurie Chock made a wonderful film that captures the essence of this organization.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Extraordinarily professional and also very passionately committed.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Make a real difference in Afghanistan and Rwanda, and maybe even in other countries as well.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 2, 2010

more

March 2, 2010

What could be better than joining an organization filled with impassioned women and men that are joined together by a common thread - their love of helping individuals grow their businesses and create jobs? Bpeace, a nonprofit that I joined five years ago, specifically focuses on helping women entrepreneurs (and a growing number of men) significantly grow their businesses in Afghanistan, Rwanda and a soon-to-be named third country. We roll up our sleeves, and get our hands dirty. We learn about the world and have a direct and positive impact in our associates'(the individuals we train/support) lives and their communities. Additionally, we get to know each other and form lasting bonds of friendship and networking. I could go on and on, but Bpeace is an extremely unique and remarkable organization that is appropriate for young individuals all the way up to senior citizens. Bpeace also provides a valuable service. Entrepreneurs in regions of post-conflict lack support in which to run their businesses. We step in to help at a critical juncture and the funds we raise go directly to help such programs. A donor never had to wonder if their funds are getting caught up in bureaucratic red-tape.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the tremendous network of valuble contacts I have built as well as the immense amount of global information I have learned.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all top notch and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

create 10 million jobs

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us find U.S. Host Companies for Salvadoran and Guatemalan executives visiting the U.S. Volunteer