Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.942315
Write A Review
March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2010

I have had a great experience volunteering with Business Council for Peace. My peer volunteers all have diverse professional and cultural background, so I have learned a lot from my volunteering exper... more

March 24, 2014

It has been a pleasure to work with the team at Bpeace as well as other volunteers and those that are learning and improving their entrepreneurial skills in developing countries. I am impressed by the dedication of the team at Bpeace toward trying to help empower the entrepreneurs and help them improve and grow their businesses so that they eventually become self-sustainable. As a volunteer at Bpeace, I have learned a tremendous amount and continue to do so.
February 25, 2010

I have had a great experience volunteering with Business Council for Peace. My peer volunteers all have diverse professional and cultural background, so I have learned a lot from my volunteering experience. Overall, as an Afghan American, I have not seen many Afghans take the initiative of helping women entrepreneurs like the volunteers and management of BPeace. I would highly recommend working with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very smart and as mentioned had diverse professional and cultural background, so that I'm continuously learning.

Ways to make it better...

I was present in New York. Most of my interaction is via conference calls. However, I do meet them every once in a while.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

Bpeace connects people across the globe with dignity and positivity. It has been an honor to be part of their community for over 5 years and to meet the inspiring Fast Runners from around the globe and impressive volunteers from across the US.
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

I can't say enough about how impressed I am by BPeace. It is incredibly effective in achieving its mission of supporting entrepreneurs and creating job growth in conflict affected countries. I believe that focusing on job creation is key to creating a lasting impact in these communities, so the mission is one that I'm 100% sold on. The dedication and commitment of the management team (Toni, Marla, Lauren, etc.) inspires a great deal of confidence in the organization and its direction. From a personal perspective, I feel that my efforts as a volunteer are impactful since I see the results firsthand in the entrepreneurs I work with. I highly recommend BPeace to anyone looking to make a real difference to the people who most need it.
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

For nearly a decade I have been involved with Bpeace. I am constantly amazed by the accomplishments of this volunteer based organization. By combining the talents and resources of its members, Bpeace has created an incredibly successful mentor program that reaches out to entrepreneurs in regions of conflict or post conflict and stimulates their growth - not through micro finance or loans, but by rolling up sleeves and offering guidance, support and mentoring geared to foster employment and growth. The results are staggering -
March 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2011

BPeace has spent nearly 10 years working to create jobs in some of the worlds toughest places--with a particular focus on employing women and training them to be leaders. A non-profit creating busine... more

March 23, 2014

I have become a board member this year but have been a volunteer for 10 years. Bpeace continues to punch above its weight in terms of making an impact and doing so with a very limited budget. The women (and men) we work with in Rwanda, Afghanistan, El Salvador and now Guatemala not only get excellent business consulting from the volunteers they also get a chance to spend time in companies in the US learning best practices and making business relationships. I'm proud to be part of this organization and truly believe more jobs means less violence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is extremely well run so no changes there -- just wish there were an efficient/low cost way to tell more people about what we too and thus recruit more members/volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2011

BPeace has spent nearly 10 years working to create jobs in some of the worlds toughest places--with a particular focus on employing women and training them to be leaders. A non-profit creating businesses is an amazing idea that doesn't happen often enough. That it's run by business people and has high demands for its own efficiency and measurable results is another notable thing about this organization. Fundraising is important but so are contributions of talent. Check out bpeace.org and consider becoming a volunteer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working directly with promising business leaders from Afghanistan and Rwanda on projects as diverse as running an ice-cream franchise to manufacturing soccer balls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes just more people involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great - hope to do more.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

I have been with Bpeace as a volunteer for almost 4 years, and three of my family members have participated in their efforts as well. Enabling entrepreneurs in countries of conflict to create more jobs, especially for women, increases community capacity and stability -- and eliminates poverty and desperation that so often seeds violence. I have been so impressed with the way in which Bpeace operates efficiently with a laser focus on its mission. All of the entrepreneurs I have met and supported have impressive drive that has enabled them to succeed and truly benefit from the extra support, mentoring, and training Bpeace provides. I look forward to continued involvement in the years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend its national reach even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 22, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

Bpeace does extraordinary work mentoring entrepreneurs in post conflict countries to help create jobs for others. In Afghanistan, Rwanda and El Salvador, Bpeace is helping women grow their businesses... more

March 22, 2014

I have been volunteering with Bpeace for 7 years and during that time I have been blown away by the accomplishments achieved by the Bpeace members along with the men and women entrepreneurs in Boeace programs. This organization continually inspires as they help make more jobs in post conflict countries.
October 16, 2012

Bpeace does extraordinary work mentoring entrepreneurs in post conflict countries to help create jobs for others. In Afghanistan, Rwanda and El Salvador, Bpeace is helping women grow their businesses and create new jobs. As an all volunteer organization, Bpeace members are passionate and personally involved in the work. There is no other organization like this one!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2010

I have met with some of the associates that Bpeace has mentored in Afghanistan and seen firsthand how Bpeace has helped them learn new business skills to grow their companies. These women have expanded their businesses, created many jobs for other women and are "paying it forward" by training new employees. Bpeace is providing skills and informational support that helps grow economies and keep the peace in post conflict countries.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Afghanistan and Rwanda

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Hands on, person to person contact and seeing exactly how my efforts can impact specific women.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Realistic, experienced, passionate about what they are doing and very knowledgeable in their fields.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help promote the peace in many countries.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

Following my 40 year career in senior Human Resources positions at Target, Macy's and Ascena Retail Group I continue to be challenged by volunteering with Bpeace's dynamic organization. Its small but dedicated and knowledgeable staff, along with over 400 professional volunteers, has achieved amazing results in training entrepreneurs to create jobs and thus reduce violence in conflicted countries around the world. I began working with Bpeace in 2005 while I was employed and plan to continue working with them during my retirement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to encourage the U.S. State Department to expand Bpeace's funding in order to assist more countries in developing jobs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

I have volunteered with Bpeace for the past 7 years and year after year I get back more than I give. I get to work with some of the brightest, most talented people I've ever worked with, who are here for one reason- to contribute to the greater good. I have traveled with Bpeace to Afghanistan, served as a mentor, coached their staff and worked on several Bpeace initiatives. I have had the privilege to witness the direct impact our work has on the lives of entrepreneurs and their businesses and the profound ripple effect it has on the broader society. I am proud to be a member of Bpeace and hope to continue to contribute.

Thank you Bpeace and a special thank you to Toni!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

Bpeace is an extremely well organized and impactful organization. I have been continually impressed with the quality of the staff, selection of participates and results of their combined efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us find U.S. Host Companies for Salvadoran and Guatemalan executives visiting the U.S. Volunteer