Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Our organization has supported the BCRF and Camp Pheonix for 18 years now and not only does it have a direct positive affect on the children, it helps those of us attending grow as individuals. My oldest son has been on camp staff a few years and his younger brother now awaits eagarly to attain an age where he can work at camp. My entire family has grown through our participation with the BCRF and Michael Mathis. His vision and positive message for the children and others is life changing and I'm proud to continue to support in whatever small way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

It has been my pleasure to work with the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for over 15 years and as a burn survivor myself, have found it very helpful. I was burned at 16 years and came across BCRF at 55 years of age. Volunteered as a counselor for many years and now am Camp director of the BCRF sponsored Camp Phoenix where we host 30-40 kids to a week of fun and discovery. Discovering why we relate to society the way we do. How to avoid anger filled confrontations. How to trust. And just being "normal" for a week, together. Michael Mathis has poured heart and soul into this Foundation and even at my age, I am learning more every summer about how we can affect change and understanding by processing together our hurts, disasters, joys and victories. Michael has helped us find the tools needed to unlock our lives from fear and shame, to find we are powerful in our brokenness. This Foundation works!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Michael Mathis has put together a top notch foundation for Washington State. BCRF has given the burn survivors a place to heal, learn, grow, and most of all be equal with their peers. I have had the opportunity to be a camp conselor for the past five years. I am truly amazed at the environment that is created by Michael and his staff to help the burn survivors from all over the United States. When the world turns their backs on these children because of their scars, the BCRF loves them and gives them hope once again. Michael Mathis walked a life alone as a burn suvivor, his vision is to never let this happen to a child that has been burned.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered and been involved with the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for about five years. Throughout this experience, I have had the honor to meet the most inspirational and loyal children. Founded by Michael Mathis, this foundation opens its hearts to those who need it most. Although I am not a burn survivor, I have been welcomed into this community and family and will continue to volunteer for as long as possible. I have truly gained so much from both my campers as well as the people who dedicate their time to making this possible. This organization does amazing work, and I am so blessed to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Burned Children Recovery Foundation works tirelessly to help burned children and their families overcome this tragedy. I have seen first hand how Michael and the Foundation have transformed the lives of these children through mentoring and guidance. Camp Phoenix provides these children with a wonderful experience of having a week with other young burn survivors where they are not judged and they can share their pains and experiences with others that understand. This foundation saves and transforms the lives of these young survivors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This is has been my third year volunteering with BCRF, and I expect to be involved for many years to come! I'm simply amazed by what the organization offers to children and families that have been injured and otherwise affected by fires. In addition to the annual Camp Phoenix experience, Michael Mathis and his foundation offer emotional, psychological, and financial support throughout the year, including money for back-to-school supplies, Christmas break at Phoenix House, a shoulder to lean on and an understanding ear of someone who has been through the experience. As a counselor at Camp Phoenix and volunteer at Phoenix House, I've had the pleasure of getting to know many kids, and watching them grow from year to year. Many of them have told me what a huge impact BCRF has made in their ability to cope with their personal and social lives, school, family, and more. They describe the BCRF community as family, and Phoenix House as a home-away-from-home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Burned Children Recovery Foundation is an organization I have been involved with for many years. This organization is above and beyond any other Burn Foundation out there, helping the kids deal with their everyday battles and giving counseling and mentorship outside of camp. The changes in each kid is amazing from the time they get to camp to the time they leave. I have seen so many kids go from from troubled to grown individuals, through the help of the Burned Children Recovery Foundation. Michael Mathis has a heart of gold and his focus on helping kids deal with their scars and bringing them out into society helps more then just the kids. I have learned so many lessons to better myself, from learning how to truly love, gaining strength in myself and helping others do the same, respect, and about looking deep into someones eyes to find out who they truly are instead of looking at their outside. These lessons came from the kids at camp, Michael Mathis, Michael Brewer, and many of the counselors who have passed through to help the Burned Children Recovery Foundation. I will forever help this foundation in every way I can and believe it is the best place for all Burned Children to grow and become who they want to be. Hunter Chumbley II

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was one of the lucky ones what came to help out at camp, the kids are awesome, the other volunteers were the creme de la creme. When you hear teenagers telling of how Michael Mathis and his group helps them in their daily lives, not just once a year, it brings tears to your eyes. As a counsellor, I did not stop talking to the people once camp ended, we talk on the telephone, Facebook, and emails daily, and probably will for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first encounter w/BCRF was in the early 90's when Michael Mathis was still getting the initial idea of a camp going. I was introduced to Michael as someone who could help in the camp. I was a young Elementary Ed/ Pre-Nursing major just looking to get involved, & maybe help in the changing/ bettering of a few lives. Who could have know that i would be the one that had a life forever changed...for the better. I was in a house fire @19 days old & had been told my whole life by parents, teachers, & even some "friends" that i would never be anyone or amount to anything, i was told my dreams- especially of nursing were ridiculous & that i should hide my ugliness away from the world. I had been in a few abusive relationships because i'd been conditioned to think that a girl that looks like me should take what she gets & be thankful for it. My 3 yrs @BCRF camp as well as involvement in the foundation itself gave me a new perspective on life & on being me. As i listened to my campers stories & offered them advice & support i realized that the only way i could truly be a role-model was to heed my own words. I began to change my outlook as i encouraged others to do the same. As a counselor i was rewarded w/the same amount of love, respect, & inspiring confidence boosts that i had intended to give- receiving was a prize i never expected. I will never forget the year a Shriner's Hospital nurse, that i'd had care from, told me to complete my nursing & let me help out in the Nurse area when needed. My time w/BCRF outside of camp has been more of the same; cheered on to finish school, follow my heart, & put myself in positive alliances. On a personal note, seeing Michael in his role as father also silently evolved my thinking, i had been told not to have children because "some-one like me" would bring a child only emotional turmoil & that child would be ashamed having to always "explain me" to friends. Today, i am a nurse (graduated w/honors & recipient of various awards in my field), i am a confident mother of a wonderful, bright, & healthy boy, & i am in a position of enough self-confidence that i choose to surround myself w/only positive associations. The only thing missing is for me to return to camp as a nurse, now that i've relocated back to WA State i see this as another reality via BCRF. Would i be this accomplished without Michael Mathis & Burned Children Recovery Foundation? I honestly think not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

This foundation is a beacon of hope for so many people. Mike Mathis has been a huge help to so many people in need from providing emotional help to financial. We all love and cherish him as one of our own family members as he does us thanks to everyone involved with this foundation God bless you all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer wraping Christmas presents for the children, volunteer at Camp Phoenix, spend time with our children at our recovery center, "Phoenix House. help out at fundraisers. Volunteer