Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was one of the lucky ones what came to help out at camp, the kids are awesome, the other volunteers were the creme de la creme. When you hear teenagers telling of how Michael Mathis and his group helps them in their daily lives, not just once a year, it brings tears to your eyes. As a counsellor, I did not stop talking to the people once camp ended, we talk on the telephone, Facebook, and emails daily, and probably will for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first encounter w/BCRF was in the early 90's when Michael Mathis was still getting the initial idea of a camp going. I was introduced to Michael as someone who could help in the camp. I was a young Elementary Ed/ Pre-Nursing major just looking to get involved, & maybe help in the changing/ bettering of a few lives. Who could have know that i would be the one that had a life forever changed...for the better. I was in a house fire @19 days old & had been told my whole life by parents, teachers, & even some "friends" that i would never be anyone or amount to anything, i was told my dreams- especially of nursing were ridiculous & that i should hide my ugliness away from the world. I had been in a few abusive relationships because i'd been conditioned to think that a girl that looks like me should take what she gets & be thankful for it. My 3 yrs @BCRF camp as well as involvement in the foundation itself gave me a new perspective on life & on being me. As i listened to my campers stories & offered them advice & support i realized that the only way i could truly be a role-model was to heed my own words. I began to change my outlook as i encouraged others to do the same. As a counselor i was rewarded w/the same amount of love, respect, & inspiring confidence boosts that i had intended to give- receiving was a prize i never expected. I will never forget the year a Shriner's Hospital nurse, that i'd had care from, told me to complete my nursing & let me help out in the Nurse area when needed. My time w/BCRF outside of camp has been more of the same; cheered on to finish school, follow my heart, & put myself in positive alliances. On a personal note, seeing Michael in his role as father also silently evolved my thinking, i had been told not to have children because "some-one like me" would bring a child only emotional turmoil & that child would be ashamed having to always "explain me" to friends. Today, i am a nurse (graduated w/honors & recipient of various awards in my field), i am a confident mother of a wonderful, bright, & healthy boy, & i am in a position of enough self-confidence that i choose to surround myself w/only positive associations. The only thing missing is for me to return to camp as a nurse, now that i've relocated back to WA State i see this as another reality via BCRF. Would i be this accomplished without Michael Mathis & Burned Children Recovery Foundation? I honestly think not.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

This foundation is a beacon of hope for so many people. Mike Mathis has been a huge help to so many people in need from providing emotional help to financial. We all love and cherish him as one of our own family members as he does us thanks to everyone involved with this foundation God bless you all

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a parent of a survivor who was burned at 1 years old. We have been a part of the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for a little over a year. I found the BCRF through an internet search. I actually thought it was a hoax! Upon initial contact I asked, "what services do you provide and are they limited to residences of Washington?" Michael Mathis replied, "what do you need?". We contacted other resources, but my daughter was denied due to her age and we had to call back when she is between 6-8 years old. Mr. Mathis begged to differ. Services are needed now and throughout, so he took us under his wing! The services provided are astronomical, from financial medical support, emotional support, a 24-hour support line, personal needs support, a week of camp, and the Phoenix House just to name a few. Most important is building self esteem and courage which allows the survivors to know their wealth and beauty in spite of their scars. BCRF goes above and beyond duty expected from mankind. From the phone call check ins, to texting, to chatting, sharing stories, memories, laughs, and tears...these things allow us to grow and accept life. Being a part of this family allows us to be accepted, loved, appreciated, grateful, and blessed. Although we have only been with BCRF for 1 year, the empathy, compassion, and commitment BCRF gives us allows that year to feel like a lifetime. BCRF allows survivors and their families the opportunity to see the rainbow after the storm, and and we are beyond grateful to indulge in its ray of colors!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

This foundation has improved my two daughters lives greatly. They have shown them that no matter what life throws at you, you can handle it. I soooo love this foundation, that i try to do my as much as possible to help it's cause. Thank you mr. Mathis, for all you and your friends and family have done for Makayla and Destiny Henson. We all truly feel like family... If anyone has scares internally or externally, you definitely need to give this foundation a chance, your whole life will change. THANK YOU...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for 3 years and counting. Michael Mathis and his foundation are a true gift all people, not just the kids that have the benefit of going to camp. They do such amazing work to help the children recognize their true self and not be defined by their scars. As a person who has not experienced the daily judgement and odd looks from strangers, being involved with the BCRF has really helped me to be more compassionate and sensitive to people unlike myself. Going to camp and witnessing these children play and laugh and be free in a safe and loving environment is truly enriching and heart warming. I hope this foundation can continue to grow and succeed in being a positive light in the lives of burn survivors for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My wife and I have volunteered at the annual camp for burn survivors for the past 10 years. The camp is a great place for the kids to come together and share stories and learn how to deal with their scars when people make fun of them or stare at them. The adult counselors are available for one on one and group talks during the week long camp. In addition Michael Mathis hosts kids at the Phoenix House where they get additional counseling, love, and primary clothing and personal item needs met. Our lives have been forever changed by working with these kids which range in age from 6 to 18 years of age. It is so gratifying to see them come back year after year and gain self confidence. The older kids also help the younger kids learn to deal with their scars by sharing their own stories.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Burned Children Recovery Foundation has helped several children to overcome the so called beauty of this world and to begin to find true beauty within. I was in a house fire when I was ten months old. I was sleeping in my crib, when a five year old lights a stuff animal. She left the room thinking she put the fire out with a blanket; however, the blanket held sparks. 43 percent of my body is burned, but the nonprofit organization helped me when I was a kid. This was the first year that I got a chance to come back as a counselor at the camp and it was amazing to see how the camp stills help the kids rise above. The camp and the phoenix house helps the kids realize how they are not alone and they have people around them that have faced the same things they have faced. The kids learn how to face the public in a respectable manner and not be insulted when the public face our scars in an unhealthy manner. I recommend this organization to everyone and anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer wraping Christmas presents for the children, volunteer at Camp Phoenix, spend time with our children at our recovery center, "Phoenix House. help out at fundraisers. Volunteer