Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Our organization has supported the BCRF and Camp Pheonix for 18 years now and not only does it have a direct positive affect on the children, it helps those of us attending grow as individuals. My oldest son has been on camp staff a few years and his younger brother now awaits eagarly to attain an age where he can work at camp. My entire family has grown through our participation with the BCRF and Michael Mathis. His vision and positive message for the children and others is life changing and I'm proud to continue to support in whatever small way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I don't where my daughter would be today if it wasn't for Michael Mathis and his wonderful Burned Children Recovery Foundation. He has helped her so much during her recovery. She was having so many emotional hardships and Michael can relate so well being he has been in her shoes. I love what he does to help all these kids!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a terrific organization under the operational management of Michael Mathis and his very capable team of volunteers. As a member of the Board of Directors, I have witnessed - first hand - the compassion, wisdom, and (frequently) tough love demonstrated by the Michael and others. The BCRF serves a vital purpose in the lives of many burned children. They would like to do more and with additional resources, both material and personnel, they will. Unfortunately there is a dire need. The BCRF has demonsted an ability to use scarce resouces in a highly effecient and effective manner. The summer camp, Camp Phoenix, is well managed and tailored to meet the needs of campers. Phoenix House, the Foundation's year around office and operations facility is furnished to meet the needs of the yoiung burned victums who need and use the facilities. Education is our foundation upon which the BCRF is built. The BCRF makes every effort to educate the public in helping to solve this serious and growing problem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

It has been my pleasure to work with the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for over 15 years and as a burn survivor myself, have found it very helpful. I was burned at 16 years and came across BCRF at 55 years of age. Volunteered as a counselor for many years and now am Camp director of the BCRF sponsored Camp Phoenix where we host 30-40 kids to a week of fun and discovery. Discovering why we relate to society the way we do. How to avoid anger filled confrontations. How to trust. And just being "normal" for a week, together. Michael Mathis has poured heart and soul into this Foundation and even at my age, I am learning more every summer about how we can affect change and understanding by processing together our hurts, disasters, joys and victories. Michael has helped us find the tools needed to unlock our lives from fear and shame, to find we are powerful in our brokenness. This Foundation works!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Michael Mathis has put together a top notch foundation for Washington State. BCRF has given the burn survivors a place to heal, learn, grow, and most of all be equal with their peers. I have had the opportunity to be a camp conselor for the past five years. I am truly amazed at the environment that is created by Michael and his staff to help the burn survivors from all over the United States. When the world turns their backs on these children because of their scars, the BCRF loves them and gives them hope once again. Michael Mathis walked a life alone as a burn suvivor, his vision is to never let this happen to a child that has been burned.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered and been involved with the Burned Children Recovery Foundation for about five years. Throughout this experience, I have had the honor to meet the most inspirational and loyal children. Founded by Michael Mathis, this foundation opens its hearts to those who need it most. Although I am not a burn survivor, I have been welcomed into this community and family and will continue to volunteer for as long as possible. I have truly gained so much from both my campers as well as the people who dedicate their time to making this possible. This organization does amazing work, and I am so blessed to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Burned Children Recovery Foundation works tirelessly to help burned children and their families overcome this tragedy. I have seen first hand how Michael and the Foundation have transformed the lives of these children through mentoring and guidance. Camp Phoenix provides these children with a wonderful experience of having a week with other young burn survivors where they are not judged and they can share their pains and experiences with others that understand. This foundation saves and transforms the lives of these young survivors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This is has been my third year volunteering with BCRF, and I expect to be involved for many years to come! I'm simply amazed by what the organization offers to children and families that have been injured and otherwise affected by fires. In addition to the annual Camp Phoenix experience, Michael Mathis and his foundation offer emotional, psychological, and financial support throughout the year, including money for back-to-school supplies, Christmas break at Phoenix House, a shoulder to lean on and an understanding ear of someone who has been through the experience. As a counselor at Camp Phoenix and volunteer at Phoenix House, I've had the pleasure of getting to know many kids, and watching them grow from year to year. Many of them have told me what a huge impact BCRF has made in their ability to cope with their personal and social lives, school, family, and more. They describe the BCRF community as family, and Phoenix House as a home-away-from-home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The Burned Children Recovery Foundation is an organization I have been involved with for many years. This organization is above and beyond any other Burn Foundation out there, helping the kids deal with their everyday battles and giving counseling and mentorship outside of camp. The changes in each kid is amazing from the time they get to camp to the time they leave. I have seen so many kids go from from troubled to grown individuals, through the help of the Burned Children Recovery Foundation. Michael Mathis has a heart of gold and his focus on helping kids deal with their scars and bringing them out into society helps more then just the kids. I have learned so many lessons to better myself, from learning how to truly love, gaining strength in myself and helping others do the same, respect, and about looking deep into someones eyes to find out who they truly are instead of looking at their outside. These lessons came from the kids at camp, Michael Mathis, Michael Brewer, and many of the counselors who have passed through to help the Burned Children Recovery Foundation. I will forever help this foundation in every way I can and believe it is the best place for all Burned Children to grow and become who they want to be. Hunter Chumbley II

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My daughter was burned when she was 16 months old and she became very shy and wouldn't socialize with people and kids because ev eryone pointed and looked. She met Michael and this camp through the shriners Hospital and it was the best experience of her life. She has gone to camp every year and is now 18 and wants to return as a councelor. This camp and the direction of its staff and board has made my daughter embrace her burns and help other people and kids as a result. She, Danelle, even wrote her collage term paper about this camp, Michael Mathis and the effect that they both have had on her life. I am very grateful for Michael and this camp and their continued help of children is a MUST! This staff is awesome, caring, supportive group of people who really make a difference in peoples lives for the better!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer wraping Christmas presents for the children, volunteer at Camp Phoenix, spend time with our children at our recovery center, "Phoenix House. help out at fundraisers. Volunteer