Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

It is a tremendous privilege to serve on the Burma Humanitarian Mission Board of Directors. I have known of BHM since 2010. Impressed with their focus on supporting the people of Burma since 1999 and maintaining an ethical, transparent and dedicated organization, I asked if our fundraising efforts for Minmahaw School on the Thai-Burma border could work under the BHM umbrella. They welcomed us and support our vision for the school while helping us expand how and what we do. I was deeply honored to be asked to join the board and feel fortunate to work with a group of people who make every dollar count. They respond with compassion and real action to various health, education and human rights needs of the people of Burma, while taking the time to educate others who are interested in their (our) mission. A truly vigorous organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 24, 2013

We've done some great work this year! Thanks to the Transparent Fish Fund and Alternative Gifts International, we've been able to continually expand the reach of the medicines we supply and we contin... more

October 24, 2014

Every year I am proud to update this review by staying that we have done more to help the people of Burma than in previous years. Thank you for continuing to support our work. We are honored to carry it out on your behalf.
July 24, 2013

We've done some great work this year! Thanks to the Transparent Fish Fund and Alternative Gifts International, we've been able to continually expand the reach of the medicines we supply and we continue to provide the resources for training new medics. We also have expanded our education efforts by providing more scholarships to refugee youth along the Thai-Burma border as well as for refugees from Burma who have resettled in the US. And I'm so excited by what our partner organizations have accomplished with having the Minmahaw School recognized as a legal foundation in Thailand and the amazing efforts of Girl Determined to empower at risk girls.

There is a curse that says "May you live in interesting times"and times are indeed interesting in Burma. As much as we'd all love to believe that democracy is moving things in a positive direction, the truth for the populations we serve is that they are more imperiled than ever before. Despite ceasefire agreements, the actuality of military violence remains and this is coupled with the threats of land seizures for development and people returning to villages after years of living as refugees without adequate security or infrastructure to support them.

Our work remains as critical as it ever was - perhaps more so, and I just want to express a heart felt thanks to the volunteers and donors who make this possible. And thank you so very much to our wonderful board who works so hard with so few resources and nothing in the way of personal reward, except for the positive feelings they get for being of service to others. We're excited to have welcomed three new members to our team this year, as well as a new partnership with Globe Med, and I just can't wait to see what we'll do next!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In a magical world all of the board would live in the same town so we can meet more in person and not always have to have conference calls!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2012

I have been involved with a number of social justice and environmental causes since 1990 and I have never worked with or volunteered for an organization that does as much with so few resources as BHM. Its board is made up of individuals who are deeply committed and who contribute endless amounts of time and resources toward helping the people of Burma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 24, 2013

Burma Humanitarian Mission has incredibly few resources -- but has tremendous impact. Thousands of children and their families in eastern Burma recieve medicine and have access to rudimentary health ... more

October 23, 2014

Burma Humanitarian Mission continues to provide exceptional support to the people and children of Burma. They and their medics provide the only medical and health care to isolated villages in eastern and northern Burma. The Burma army continues its assault on the Karen, Kachin, Mon, Shan and others -- attacks, seizing land, rape, and killing civilians. In face of these atrocities, the Backpack medics provide the only care. 60% of children's deaths can be prevented with basic medicine. Neo-natal mortality has been reduced by 80% in key areas.

Burma Humanitarian Mission does this support for extraordinarily few dollars. $1 provides 40 doses of basic meds. Incredible!
July 24, 2013

Burma Humanitarian Mission has incredibly few resources -- but has tremendous impact. Thousands of children and their families in eastern Burma recieve medicine and have access to rudimentary health care as a result of the support BHM generates and provides. BHM enables compassionate, kind-hearted individuals in communities world-wide to make a positive change for those who have endured decades of violence and oppression at the hands of the Burma government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I have been involved with this group since its founding and have participated in the field as a volunteer, on the Board of Directors, and as a funder. I have seen it grew and helped in modest ways to ensure that the people BHM serves continues to receive support from groups like BHM. It has been an incredibly enlightening experience, one tht has brought me great joy and, at the same time, sadness and concern for the people there, I recommend this group based on many factors, including the absolute impact it has on a very modest budget.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

After having traveled to Burma in 1999, I was forever touched by the people struggling with their oppressive government, and since then I've been looking for a way to help. Burma Humanitarian Mission is grassroots, tiny, and therefore incredibly effective in helping Burma's beleaguered ethnic minorities with basic health needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers