Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I first had contact with Burma Humanitarian while planning for World Refugee Day in 2013. Burma Humanitarian has done an excellent job in bringing awareness of conditions and supplying relief to those that need the help. You could not find a better group of people who show compassion and determination in their work. BHM has organized runs for a few years and being able to help participate as a member of an allied agency was very gratifying.
October 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2012

I’ve witnessed the work of Burma Humanitarian Mission since its early beginnings with events that were held in supporters' back yards with silent auction items made by the volunteers and food prepar... more

October 26, 2014

I have known and volunteered for BHM since its beginning and been proud to help with the back packer medicine program, enjoying hearing the reports of their worthwhile contribution from those who travel into Burma. For the past three years, BHM has sponsored the Salt Lake City Run for Refugees event which has given me the opportunity to see and hear first hand the impact this organization has had on Burmeese refugees.
August 14, 2012

I’ve witnessed the work of Burma Humanitarian Mission since its early beginnings with events that were held in supporters' back yards with silent auction items made by the volunteers and food prepared by members of the Burma community. I've been honored to be associated with the dedicated caring people who are BHM. Through their hard work and persistence the fund raising efforts have become more sophisticated, which has resulted in more assistance for the people of Burma.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am also an active member of Whitman College's GlobeMed chapter and have had the pleasure of working directly with BHM's Executive Director and Chair of the Board last year. They were so supportive in identifying and creating meaningful and high impact projects for us to fund at the Minmahaw Post-10 School. These individuals really care about their work and listening to the needs of the people from Burma they are assisting. A wonderful non-profit through and through.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am an active member of Whitman College's GlobeMed chapter, which is partnered with BHM (http://www.globemed.org/impact/whitman/) to involve Whitman students with the grassroots/non-profit work that is happening through BHM both in Burma and right across the border in Thailand. We are entering into our second year of partnership and it has been a pleasure to work with BHM to learn more about social justice and public health in Thailand, Burma and on a global-scale, and it has been wonderful to take action and help make a difference on the ground as well! BHM is an amazing organization with an inspiring story of origin and fabulous leadership (and volunteers) who strive to spread equality in a place that needs their help so very much. BHM's fundraising campaigns are only part of what they do as the awareness and education factor is so vastly important for this issue as well, since it is not something that is talked about enough in America. Keep up the good work BHM - keep spreading the word and bringing hope to the lives of countless voiceless people!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the ver... more

October 24, 2014

I was part of the 'Burma Humanitarian Mission' marathon fund raising team in 2013. I'm very happy to have supported their cause. They are an incredible group of people helping out the people in Burma. Keep up the great work!
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the very best for the future!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

This is my first year participating in the Run For Burma campaign associated with the Marine Corps Marathon. Speaking with prospective donors about their donation providing medical care for children in Burma has been an eye opener for me. I plan on running for and speaking of this charity frequently in the future.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered with Burma Humanitarian Mission on a number of occasions. All of my experiences with them have been extremely positive and their board members are some of the most responsible and trustworthy people I know. BHM is genuinely invested in helping the communities they serve. One of the particularly impressive aspects of BHM is that they take into account the long-term impact of their actions as much as the short-term effects. This is why I believe BHM will make a lasting difference on the people of Burma.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered for BHM in a number of different capacities. My children have also volunteered. The organization does a wonderful job of mentoring young people as well as giving them a socially aware prospective of the people in a totally different region of the world. Allowing my children to value the opportunities they have and reach out to those with fewer opportunities. I truly appreciate how BHM not only provides medical and monitory support but also train the individuals of the region to give medical assistance their families and children.
August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Fantastic organization comprised of highly motivated, intelligent and friendly people. I was able to easily communicate with the Run for Burma organizers and felt supported from the beginning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military ... more

October 24, 2014

For the disenfranchised and often persecuted people living in villages in Burma, the BHM is one of the only lifelines, providing health care, clothing and educational materials to the people there, training "back pack" medics and literally saving lives. The organization spends donated dollars to do this and I am proud to support with my dollars whenever I can.
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military junta. They have done this work tirelessly and have now created an education fund in my son, Jeremy's name to provide educational opportunities for Burmese people who can get this wonderful scholarship. I have worked with other charity organizations and this particular organization operates with integrity and with a minimum of our donated dollars going to operations and a maximum going to the people in Burma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make certain more people support it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about the selfless work done by this organization! I have volunteered in the past with fund raisers and actions against the oil pipelines using slave labor in Burma. Every year, this group goes into Burma, facing constant danger from both the military and the jungles, to bring necessary medicines, educational materials and clothing to the Karen people living in jungle villages. Every year money is raised to directly help a population who has suffered constant abuse and genocide. I am proud to be able to support this excellent non-profit organization that channels every donation to the people of Burma who desperately need it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers