Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.923085
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

Part of the Run for Burma marathon team. Great organization, easy to work with and focused on important issues. Appears to be well-run based on all my interactions with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I have been working with community-based organizations on the Thailand-Burma border since 2005 and can appreciate the work the BHM is doing because it's quality over quantity. Small amounts of money and handfuls of dedicated people can make a big difference in this setting. This year is the second time I've signed up to run the Marine Corps Marathon with Run for Burma, and I am happy to support BHM's work through this cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I think that the work that BHM is exceptional. They strech small resources to help and save lifes to very vulnerable population groups: children and women living in isolated places where help and healthcare is non existent

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Hardworking group of individuals dedicated to their cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2012

Burma Humanitarian Mission is one of those quiet but highly effective and efficient organizations that zeros in on human suffering and makes a profound impact. There are few others than can have as m... more

July 24, 2013

Conditions in eastern Burma remain horrid and appauling. The backpack medics role is expanding for as additional people are returning to their villages. The Burma government still does not provide any medical care into eastern Burma; rather they are using funds to reinforce their soldiers and military forces instead. The Burma army continues to assault the villagers, steal land, force individuals to work without pay and rape without impunity or accountability. The people remain living in fear.

Nonetheless, disease and illness stalks the people. Without any care, mortality rates remain horrendous.

Burma Humanitarian Mission is an outstanding organization who provides medicines that the backpack medics. They provide a viable conduit for me and others to make a difference -- a real difference. The dollars donated go directly to help people. It's neat. Warm-hearted organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2012

Burma Humanitarian Mission is one of those quiet but highly effective and efficient organizations that zeros in on human suffering and makes a profound impact. There are few others than can have as much impact for the effort as BHM does. The suffering they have focused on is very real. The medicines and medics they train make a profound difference. This is one organization where, if you are part of it, your time, commitment and cash will go directly to tangible differences you can see. They save lives...and why not be part of something so compelling in the face of abhorant cruelty?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2012

I have been involved with a number of social justice and environmental causes since 1990 and I have never worked with or volunteered for an organization that does as much with so few resources as BHM.... more

July 24, 2013

We've done some great work this year! Thanks to the Transparent Fish Fund and Alternative Gifts International, we've been able to continually expand the reach of the medicines we supply and we continue to provide the resources for training new medics. We also have expanded our education efforts by providing more scholarships to refugee youth along the Thai-Burma border as well as for refugees from Burma who have resettled in the US. And I'm so excited by what our partner organizations have accomplished with having the Minmahaw School recognized as a legal foundation in Thailand and the amazing efforts of Girl Determined to empower at risk girls.

There is a curse that says "May you live in interesting times"and times are indeed interesting in Burma. As much as we'd all love to believe that democracy is moving things in a positive direction, the truth for the populations we serve is that they are more imperiled than ever before. Despite ceasefire agreements, the actuality of military violence remains and this is coupled with the threats of land seizures for development and people returning to villages after years of living as refugees without adequate security or infrastructure to support them.

Our work remains as critical as it ever was - perhaps more so, and I just want to express a heart felt thanks to the volunteers and donors who make this possible. And thank you so very much to our wonderful board who works so hard with so few resources and nothing in the way of personal reward, except for the positive feelings they get for being of service to others. We're excited to have welcomed three new members to our team this year, as well as a new partnership with Globe Med, and I just can't wait to see what we'll do next!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In a magical world all of the board would live in the same town so we can meet more in person and not always have to have conference calls!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2012

I have been involved with a number of social justice and environmental causes since 1990 and I have never worked with or volunteered for an organization that does as much with so few resources as BHM. Its board is made up of individuals who are deeply committed and who contribute endless amounts of time and resources toward helping the people of Burma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Our organization, Alternative Gifts International, features BHM in our catalog and online fundraising. We chose to partner with BHM because their mission is vital to the health of the refugees, and they operate an organized and efficient program. I recently inquired about a visit to their sites in Burma and learned how challenging their work is, both physically and politically. If you wish to raise awareness and funds for this great project you can launch a personalized virtual campaign to share with family friends by visiting our website www.alternativegifts.org.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 28, 2011

For years now, Burma Humanitarian Mission has done great work to help the peoples of Burma oppressed by the junta and its Army. The isolation imposed on eastern Burma extracts a painful and brutal mo... more

July 24, 2013

What an awesome organization! It focuses on providing medicine to one of the most under-served parts fo the world. I was floored to read that 1 in 7 children never make it to their 5th birthday. All because there's no medicine to cure the most basic illnesses and disease. Burma Mission's phenomanl drive helps bring those meds to more than 50,000 people every year. I feel a direct and very real connection t the people they help. They provide a lens for the rest of us to see an area where the media and governments ignore. As tragic as the conditions are in Burma, this organization makes a positive difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2011

For years now, Burma Humanitarian Mission has done great work to help the peoples of Burma oppressed by the junta and its Army. The isolation imposed on eastern Burma extracts a painful and brutal mortality on the Karen and other minorities who only wish to be free. The children suffer the most. BHM's support to backpack medics makes a world of difference -- helping reduce infant and child mortality rates

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have contributed to this non-profit for the past 6 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them reach out to more people with their message.

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Burma Humanitarian Mission has incredibly few resources -- but has tremendous impact. Thousands of children and their families in eastern Burma recieve medicine and have access to rudimentary health care as a result of the support BHM generates and provides. BHM enables compassionate, kind-hearted individuals in communities world-wide to make a positive change for those who have endured decades of violence and oppression at the hands of the Burma government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I have been following Burma Humanitarian Mission for a number of years now. All of the people involved are 100% dedicated to the mission and truly believe in what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers