Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.938785
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am an active member of Whitman College's GlobeMed chapter, which is partnered with BHM (http://www.globemed.org/impact/whitman/) to involve Whitman students with the grassroots/non-profit work that is happening through BHM both in Burma and right across the border in Thailand. We are entering into our second year of partnership and it has been a pleasure to work with BHM to learn more about social justice and public health in Thailand, Burma and on a global-scale, and it has been wonderful to take action and help make a difference on the ground as well! BHM is an amazing organization with an inspiring story of origin and fabulous leadership (and volunteers) who strive to spread equality in a place that needs their help so very much. BHM's fundraising campaigns are only part of what they do as the awareness and education factor is so vastly important for this issue as well, since it is not something that is talked about enough in America. Keep up the good work BHM - keep spreading the word and bringing hope to the lives of countless voiceless people!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2013

Hard working, organized and caring, this group of people are dedicated and resourceful and so hopeful and energetic. They have worked tirelessly towards the cause of the Burma people for so long. I am... more

October 24, 2014

I have been friends with the starting members of this organization for a very long time. I was impressed with their selfless dedication then, and continue to be impressed by it. The fund raising activities as well as the risk they put themselves going under the radar with backpack medics into the country is the stuff that movies are typically made of, but they do it because it's the right thing to do. I myself am not in a position to go to Burma yet, but I help by donating, knowing that my money directly helps the targeted audience and isn't lining someone's pocket. I appreciate their efforts and I know the countless people they've helped in Burma appreciate them also.
August 10, 2013

Hard working, organized and caring, this group of people are dedicated and resourceful and so hopeful and energetic. They have worked tirelessly towards the cause of the Burma people for so long. I am happy to donate money when I can because of all the organizations and causes, what better one is to give to those in need?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the ver... more

October 24, 2014

I was part of the 'Burma Humanitarian Mission' marathon fund raising team in 2013. I'm very happy to have supported their cause. They are an incredible group of people helping out the people in Burma. Keep up the great work!
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the very best for the future!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military ... more

October 24, 2014

For the disenfranchised and often persecuted people living in villages in Burma, the BHM is one of the only lifelines, providing health care, clothing and educational materials to the people there, training "back pack" medics and literally saving lives. The organization spends donated dollars to do this and I am proud to support with my dollars whenever I can.
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military junta. They have done this work tirelessly and have now created an education fund in my son, Jeremy's name to provide educational opportunities for Burmese people who can get this wonderful scholarship. I have worked with other charity organizations and this particular organization operates with integrity and with a minimum of our donated dollars going to operations and a maximum going to the people in Burma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make certain more people support it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about the selfless work done by this organization! I have volunteered in the past with fund raisers and actions against the oil pipelines using slave labor in Burma. Every year, this group goes into Burma, facing constant danger from both the military and the jungles, to bring necessary medicines, educational materials and clothing to the Karen people living in jungle villages. Every year money is raised to directly help a population who has suffered constant abuse and genocide. I am proud to be able to support this excellent non-profit organization that channels every donation to the people of Burma who desperately need it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 24, 2013

We've done some great work this year! Thanks to the Transparent Fish Fund and Alternative Gifts International, we've been able to continually expand the reach of the medicines we supply and we contin... more

October 24, 2014

Every year I am proud to update this review by staying that we have done more to help the people of Burma than in previous years. Thank you for continuing to support our work. We are honored to carry it out on your behalf.
July 24, 2013

We've done some great work this year! Thanks to the Transparent Fish Fund and Alternative Gifts International, we've been able to continually expand the reach of the medicines we supply and we continue to provide the resources for training new medics. We also have expanded our education efforts by providing more scholarships to refugee youth along the Thai-Burma border as well as for refugees from Burma who have resettled in the US. And I'm so excited by what our partner organizations have accomplished with having the Minmahaw School recognized as a legal foundation in Thailand and the amazing efforts of Girl Determined to empower at risk girls.

There is a curse that says "May you live in interesting times"and times are indeed interesting in Burma. As much as we'd all love to believe that democracy is moving things in a positive direction, the truth for the populations we serve is that they are more imperiled than ever before. Despite ceasefire agreements, the actuality of military violence remains and this is coupled with the threats of land seizures for development and people returning to villages after years of living as refugees without adequate security or infrastructure to support them.

Our work remains as critical as it ever was - perhaps more so, and I just want to express a heart felt thanks to the volunteers and donors who make this possible. And thank you so very much to our wonderful board who works so hard with so few resources and nothing in the way of personal reward, except for the positive feelings they get for being of service to others. We're excited to have welcomed three new members to our team this year, as well as a new partnership with Globe Med, and I just can't wait to see what we'll do next!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In a magical world all of the board would live in the same town so we can meet more in person and not always have to have conference calls!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2012

I have been involved with a number of social justice and environmental causes since 1990 and I have never worked with or volunteered for an organization that does as much with so few resources as BHM. Its board is made up of individuals who are deeply committed and who contribute endless amounts of time and resources toward helping the people of Burma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

This is my first year participating in the Run For Burma campaign associated with the Marine Corps Marathon. Speaking with prospective donors about their donation providing medical care for children in Burma has been an eye opener for me. I plan on running for and speaking of this charity frequently in the future.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered with Burma Humanitarian Mission on a number of occasions. All of my experiences with them have been extremely positive and their board members are some of the most responsible and trustworthy people I know. BHM is genuinely invested in helping the communities they serve. One of the particularly impressive aspects of BHM is that they take into account the long-term impact of their actions as much as the short-term effects. This is why I believe BHM will make a lasting difference on the people of Burma.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have volunteered for BHM in a number of different capacities. My children have also volunteered. The organization does a wonderful job of mentoring young people as well as giving them a socially aware prospective of the people in a totally different region of the world. Allowing my children to value the opportunities they have and reach out to those with fewer opportunities. I truly appreciate how BHM not only provides medical and monitory support but also train the individuals of the region to give medical assistance their families and children.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

BHM has been a long term partner. They are a focused group of people dedicated to their work. We are proud to work with them.

Surinder Moore
Program Manager
Alternative Gifts International
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 24, 2013

Burma Humanitarian Mission has incredibly few resources -- but has tremendous impact. Thousands of children and their families in eastern Burma recieve medicine and have access to rudimentary health ... more

October 23, 2014

Burma Humanitarian Mission continues to provide exceptional support to the people and children of Burma. They and their medics provide the only medical and health care to isolated villages in eastern and northern Burma. The Burma army continues its assault on the Karen, Kachin, Mon, Shan and others -- attacks, seizing land, rape, and killing civilians. In face of these atrocities, the Backpack medics provide the only care. 60% of children's deaths can be prevented with basic medicine. Neo-natal mortality has been reduced by 80% in key areas.

Burma Humanitarian Mission does this support for extraordinarily few dollars. $1 provides 40 doses of basic meds. Incredible!
July 24, 2013

Burma Humanitarian Mission has incredibly few resources -- but has tremendous impact. Thousands of children and their families in eastern Burma recieve medicine and have access to rudimentary health care as a result of the support BHM generates and provides. BHM enables compassionate, kind-hearted individuals in communities world-wide to make a positive change for those who have endured decades of violence and oppression at the hands of the Burma government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers