Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

It is a tremendous privilege to serve on the Burma Humanitarian Mission Board of Directors. I have known of BHM since 2010. Impressed with their focus on supporting the people of Burma since 1999 and maintaining an ethical, transparent and dedicated organization, I asked if our fundraising efforts for Minmahaw School on the Thai-Burma border could work under the BHM umbrella. They welcomed us and support our vision for the school while helping us expand how and what we do. I was deeply honored to be asked to join the board and feel fortunate to work with a group of people who make every dollar count. They respond with compassion and real action to various health, education and human rights needs of the people of Burma, while taking the time to educate others who are interested in their (our) mission. A truly vigorous organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I first had contact with Burma Humanitarian while planning for World Refugee Day in 2013. Burma Humanitarian has done an excellent job in bringing awareness of conditions and supplying relief to those that need the help. You could not find a better group of people who show compassion and determination in their work. BHM has organized runs for a few years and being able to help participate as a member of an allied agency was very gratifying.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Burma Humanitarian Mission did outstanding work using the Run for Burma team as a fundraising vehicle. Not only did BHM raise awareness of the need for supporting Burma's transition, but BHM made fundraising easy and provided amazing, personalized support throughout. A great organization worthy of your consideration.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I ran with the 2014 "Run for Burma" team for the Marine Corps Marathon and I had a great experience with this organization. They were very involved and were in contact with the runners on a weekly basis. I was extremely impressed by this organization and honored to run on their behalf.
October 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2012

I’ve witnessed the work of Burma Humanitarian Mission since its early beginnings with events that were held in supporters' back yards with silent auction items made by the volunteers and food prepar... more

October 26, 2014

I have known and volunteered for BHM since its beginning and been proud to help with the back packer medicine program, enjoying hearing the reports of their worthwhile contribution from those who travel into Burma. For the past three years, BHM has sponsored the Salt Lake City Run for Refugees event which has given me the opportunity to see and hear first hand the impact this organization has had on Burmeese refugees.
August 14, 2012

I’ve witnessed the work of Burma Humanitarian Mission since its early beginnings with events that were held in supporters' back yards with silent auction items made by the volunteers and food prepared by members of the Burma community. I've been honored to be associated with the dedicated caring people who are BHM. Through their hard work and persistence the fund raising efforts have become more sophisticated, which has resulted in more assistance for the people of Burma.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am also an active member of Whitman College's GlobeMed chapter and have had the pleasure of working directly with BHM's Executive Director and Chair of the Board last year. They were so supportive in identifying and creating meaningful and high impact projects for us to fund at the Minmahaw Post-10 School. These individuals really care about their work and listening to the needs of the people from Burma they are assisting. A wonderful non-profit through and through.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am an active member of Whitman College's GlobeMed chapter, which is partnered with BHM (http://www.globemed.org/impact/whitman/) to involve Whitman students with the grassroots/non-profit work that is happening through BHM both in Burma and right across the border in Thailand. We are entering into our second year of partnership and it has been a pleasure to work with BHM to learn more about social justice and public health in Thailand, Burma and on a global-scale, and it has been wonderful to take action and help make a difference on the ground as well! BHM is an amazing organization with an inspiring story of origin and fabulous leadership (and volunteers) who strive to spread equality in a place that needs their help so very much. BHM's fundraising campaigns are only part of what they do as the awareness and education factor is so vastly important for this issue as well, since it is not something that is talked about enough in America. Keep up the good work BHM - keep spreading the word and bringing hope to the lives of countless voiceless people!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 10, 2013

Hard working, organized and caring, this group of people are dedicated and resourceful and so hopeful and energetic. They have worked tirelessly towards the cause of the Burma people for so long. I am... more

October 24, 2014

I have been friends with the starting members of this organization for a very long time. I was impressed with their selfless dedication then, and continue to be impressed by it. The fund raising activities as well as the risk they put themselves going under the radar with backpack medics into the country is the stuff that movies are typically made of, but they do it because it's the right thing to do. I myself am not in a position to go to Burma yet, but I help by donating, knowing that my money directly helps the targeted audience and isn't lining someone's pocket. I appreciate their efforts and I know the countless people they've helped in Burma appreciate them also.
August 10, 2013

Hard working, organized and caring, this group of people are dedicated and resourceful and so hopeful and energetic. They have worked tirelessly towards the cause of the Burma people for so long. I am happy to donate money when I can because of all the organizations and causes, what better one is to give to those in need?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the ver... more

October 24, 2014

I was part of the 'Burma Humanitarian Mission' marathon fund raising team in 2013. I'm very happy to have supported their cause. They are an incredible group of people helping out the people in Burma. Keep up the great work!
July 25, 2013

Awesome team who do an awesome job! I am so proud to have been part of this 'Run for Burma' team. I have read and heard about the work these volunteers do to help out the needy and I wish them the very best for the future!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military ... more

October 24, 2014

For the disenfranchised and often persecuted people living in villages in Burma, the BHM is one of the only lifelines, providing health care, clothing and educational materials to the people there, training "back pack" medics and literally saving lives. The organization spends donated dollars to do this and I am proud to support with my dollars whenever I can.
July 29, 2013

This organization has used funding to travel into Burma and bring medication, train medics, provide educational material and clothing to the Karen people who have been disenfranchised by the military junta. They have done this work tirelessly and have now created an education fund in my son, Jeremy's name to provide educational opportunities for Burmese people who can get this wonderful scholarship. I have worked with other charity organizations and this particular organization operates with integrity and with a minimum of our donated dollars going to operations and a maximum going to the people in Burma.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make certain more people support it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about the selfless work done by this organization! I have volunteered in the past with fund raisers and actions against the oil pipelines using slave labor in Burma. Every year, this group goes into Burma, facing constant danger from both the military and the jungles, to bring necessary medicines, educational materials and clothing to the Karen people living in jungle villages. Every year money is raised to directly help a population who has suffered constant abuse and genocide. I am proud to be able to support this excellent non-profit organization that channels every donation to the people of Burma who desperately need it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers